We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Value for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Monterey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Monterey
Ranked #29 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    255
    117
    21
    15
See reviews for
153
269
42
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dixon, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Worked in Monterey CA, on 7.19.13. My boss put me up at the Super 8. While I have no problem staying at most any motel, the Super 8, on Munras was a nice, clean, comfortable motel. The room was very nice, large, comfortable, flatsceeen tv with cable, free wireless internet. The bed. THE BED! I got into bed about 10:15pm. and OMG! I texted my boss and advised that I was going to have a hard time getting out of bed in the morning. The BED was so comfortable, I slept like a baby in a car!
The staff was very friendly and helpful. Check in was no problem, amenities where sufficient. The location was close to the Wharf, to resturants, to places to go.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and two teenage boys stayed here for 4 days (3 nights). The hotel and our room were very clean. Room was a bit small but the extra sink area outside of the bathroom was convenient for a family of 4. Also, liked the mini fridge & microwave. The grounds were neat and I liked all the flowers everywhere. Parking and internet were included. Also, included was the continental breakfast which was basic but good. (Toast, waffles, pastries, cereal, oatmeal, coffee, tea, juice). There's also an outdoor pool. It's located across the street from the Del Monte Shopping Centre which was very convenient. The shopping centre has a Whole Foods where you can pick up hot & cold foods from the deli for a quick lunch or dinner. Approx. a 10 min drive to the Monterey Aquarium and Fisherman's Wharf. For travellers on a budget, this hotel is great value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella_Canada_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The room was wunderful and very clean. The people were so friendly and kind. They helped us to search a new place to stay, when we left. The gabe us some informations about monterey. They offered an nice breakfasf with juice and coffee and even toast. The room was just awesome. Thanks again for everything

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrirah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the service. Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to see you real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

What can I say? It is a Super 8 motel. For a room at a motel where amenities are considered minimal, this Super 8 motel packs quite a bang for the buck! We stayed over for one night on July 1st before trekking up to Sonoma and were surprised at how clean our room is. The staff is friendly and social, giving us some tips about Lake Tahoe once they found out that Reno was the last stop over in our itinerary.

The hotel is located near the epicenter of Monterey, so everything, from Cannery Row, to Fisherman's Wharf, to Lighthouse Lane is all within a few minute's driving distance. The bed is comfortable, the room was quite roomy and the bathroom is cavernous. It's probably the largest bathroom I've ever seen in any given lodging. The AC works extremely well and efficient, which is a plus.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and will definitely return when we return to Monterey.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. Thank you for the kinds words and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Clean rooms, great sized rooms and ample toiletries provided. Nice staff and willing to assist with directions. With so many hotels in the same area, it was hard to pick one. This one had everything we needed! Would stay here again. Great location, parking was great and close to town

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shellyanne61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
We are glad you had a great experience at our property. With many choices in the area, guests can get overwhelmed with the choices. We are glad our property met your expectations and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Limited Monterey
Ramada Limited Monterey
#20 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 630 reviews
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
#26 of 55 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 stars 882 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
0.0 mi away
El Castell Motel
El Castell Motel
#27 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 657 reviews
2.3 mi away
Super 8 Monterey/Carmel
Super 8 Monterey/Carmel
#17 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Monterey

Property: Super 8 Monterey
Address: 2120 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
#18 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Super 8 Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing