We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value!”
Review of Super 8 Monterey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Monterey
Ranked #36 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Monterey can be a pricey town, but the Super 8 does well in providing good value. It is quiet, has reasonable beds (for a Super 8!) and the owners are fairly nice.

I got a good night's sleep. The bathroom was roomy and comfortable. Good TV, good A/C and good mini fridge. Good experience.

Room Tip: In a single-level motel like this, I request a room "away from the road, etc."
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmilleratp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad you appreciated the value and our guest room amenities. We hope to see you soon and please remember for the lowest rates at our Super 8 Monterey, please use the "hotel website" link on Trip Advisor..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (721)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

343 - 349 of 721 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a beautifully updated little hotel. I was pleased and grateful. A superiour value for a budget minded traveler. The staff was kind and helpful. I forgot an item in the room when I left. They promptly found it for me and arranged for it to be delivered to my home. I will stay there again..

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank SHERRY A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

We are glad you had a nice time at our property and felt it was beautiful. We are a smaller property, but this allows our staff to offer personalized attention. We hope to see you soon and please remember for the lowest rates at our Super 8 Monterey, please use the "hotel website" link on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed one night in super 8 motel in monterey . Although a small room hotel meets the minimum requirements. Free internet connection speed is relatively normal and the most basic breakfast. Cheapest price paid for it provides, do not expect too much. Hotel a bit far of the main attractions of Monterey but if you have a car this is not a problem.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Elik972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience with others. Our rooms are smaller than the average size guest room across the United States; however, comparable to similar properties in Monterey. We hope to see you soon and please remember for the lowest rates at our Super 8 Monterey, please use the "hotel website" link on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and found it perfectly acceptable. Comfortable beds, clean, safe and quiet. Basic breakfast as you would expect but there's plenty of places nearby to eat if you need something more substantial. Also there's a handy gas station just on the corner. All in all an easy, pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amisku29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

We are glad you had a great time at our property, enjoyed our comfortable beds, and convenient location. We hope to see you soon and please remember for the lowest rates at our Super 8 Monterey, please use the "hotel website" link on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Weltenbummler555
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This motel not only met our basic criteria (cleanliness, comfort & convenience) but exceeded our expectations. The room was modern and equipped with a king size bed, closet, small fridge, coffee maker and hair dryer. We have spent more for less on other visits to the Monterey area. Breakfast is limited but doesn't influence our rating. There are many excellent cafes to choose from on Alvarado Street in downtown just a short drive away. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Motel is single-story. No pets or smokers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SonomaCoasters12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

We are glad you found our property clean and comfortable. Since our property is single story, you do not have to worry about carrying your luggage up stairs or noise coming from the room above. We look forward to seeing you soon and please remember for the lowest rates at our Super 8 Monterey, please use the "hotel website" link on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

A week ago my GF and I stayed in this motel. Enough is to say that I would come here again.

Plus: staff is helpful, rooms are big enough and very clean, there is a parking place for every room, Monterey is maybe 5 or 10 minutes by car...
Minus: breakfast is served in lobby and often there is not enough chairs/place for all guests to sit.

Price/performance ratio: very good!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and would return in the future. Please remember for the lowest rates at our Super 8 Monterey, please use the "hotel website" link on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
2 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#40 of 56 in Monterey
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#24 of 56 in Monterey
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
2.1 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#53 of 56 in Monterey
74 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Monterey

Address: 2120 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
#18 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $56 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing