We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a motorcycle trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Super 8 Monterey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Monterey
Ranked #31 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Pacific City, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place for a motorcycle trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

I pick this motel because of another review that said it was a great spot for motorcycles. It was! I love old strip motels because of the parking in front of your door. This place was not an old strip motel. Everything was up to date, clean and neat. I was able to park right in front, this was the first time I had to park my new motorcycle outside, and I felt good about it. Being on a busy street, it was quiet, after the last flight, and I felt secure.
The only challenge was the wi-fi did not work in the room. I asked about it and they knew they were having problems.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CraftsmanMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    270
    132
    25
    15
See reviews for
171
287
46
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milpitas, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

The hotel was very clean, provided wifi and microwave, and was reasonably quiet (except for the planes taking off from the airport). The free breakfast isn't gourmet, but each item was well stocked and replenished quickly - the only downside is that the lobby is small so there isn't much room if more than 4 people want to eat at the same time. The inn-keepers are very friendly, and went out of their way to make me feel welcome. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

Clean, wifi, refrigerator, microwave for reasonable price. Located on North Fremont not to be confused with the other Super 8 which is more $$. 10 minutes from Carmel where hotel prices jump 30%+ for "location". Although located on a busy street, quiet at nite. Conveniently located near grocery store, drug store, restaurants and closed to Aquarium and Cannery Row. Continental breakfast. Owners are responsive to customer requests.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderlustReddingCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

The location is great especially if you use Monterey as base to explore the region around by car. The room exceeded our expectations - very clean and big enough. The bed was comfortable and the sheets/towels - sparkling white.

It was not the most quiet place (big traffic), but we still managed to get some good sleep (though I had to use my ear plugs the first night). Although it is not the most important thing for us, I have to mention that the breakfast was rather small and the room, where it was served, pretty crowded.

I definitely recommend Super 8 - it is really well located, has free parking, the staff is very friendly and the quality of the rooms is excellent.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleste_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
161 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

This has got to be one of the better Super 8's that I have stayed at in terms of the room, which is very nice and clean. The shower is a bit weird as its not evenly spread so it can be a bit hard to wash. I'm not too pleased with the staff here though. The lady at the lobby was quite rude when I queried the details on my reservation. I only queried why the credit card details and address was not mine. She could have simply told me that it was hotel.com but instead she had to give me attitude about it. Also, the last night I was here, there was loud music playing nearby which isn't the motels fault, but if you're a light sleeper be aware of this.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazam10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

Hotels in the area are pricey so this wasn't bad value, very clean, friendly staff, just 3 miles from Cannery Row, free parking

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LFCROCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

I booked two twin rooms for a single night stop off whilst we were en route from LA to San Fran. Fremont Street isn't exactly picture postcard stuff, but the Super 8 was easy to find even in the dark. Our rooms were set back from the street a bit (19 and 20 I think) and there was very little noise. The queen beds were very comfy. Bathroom was clean. Free wifi. We only paid about £100 total for the two rooms for the night. I would thoroughly recommend trying a meal at the Monterey Cookhouse just across the road. This is a no frills kind of hotel, but perfectly adequate for a nights stop.

Room Tip: I would recommend staying as far from the road as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evapor8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#26 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
2.3 mi away
Super 8 Monterey / Carmel
Super 8 Monterey / Carmel
#28 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Monterey

Property: Super 8 Monterey
Address: 2120 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
#18 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing