We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service, good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crab Louie's Bistro

Crab Louie's Bistro
Ranked #129 of 297 Restaurants in Monterey
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: European, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: crab louie bistro is located on the wharf in beautiful Monterey harbor ofering spectacular views of the sealions and from all window tables. We are open every day - for breakfast,lunch and dinner Our guests may enjoy the view of sea otters,sealions and pelicans. Enjoy breakfast or lunch ,or have a romantic candlelight dinner while the sun is setting over Monterey bay.
Glen Ellyn IL USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good service, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

My extended family of 8 visited this restaurant last week. We had wandered up and down the boardwalk, looking for a place that would have something for everyone in our group. We had one gluten free person and one person who didn't like italian or seafood. So, this was the place we selected. It worked out wonderfully for us. Their clam chowder and calamari were nice appetizers. My son in law had a huge crab, which he thoroughly enjoyed! I had the salmon, several people had the sea bass, the meat eater had a steak and the rest of the group had various seafood. Everyone said their food was delicious. Sea lions could be seen outside the windows and nicely entertained us while we ate.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LKreiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    51
    30
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

This restraint has great prices great atmosphere. I order a breakfast burrito from them every day they have great food and all of the staff are friendly and kind. Great job Crab Louise's thank you for the service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Takoda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Sea Bass and lovely clam chowder”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Love the sea bass and clam chowder.
Breaded shrimp appetizer is tasty and free as they say. Little too bready for me though.
The place is not big, good for lunch and dinner, not of a romantic type.
Good Monterey Marina view.
Service is fast, really friendly, and very reasonably priced.
Dishes are not big, but very satisfactory sized and nicely served.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank goSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice place, good prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Nice small place on the warf, decent prices. Calamari appetizer was delicious as were the main courses. Definitely a good place for a quick meal, not a romantic place. Staff was all pleasant and friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“KEEP WALKING!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

KEEP WALKING! This place is awful. My wife, son and I went here for dinner while in Monterey on 4th of July, and regretted it the rest of the night. There is a woman outside basically calling folks over to come and join them for dinner. Granted, we got suckered because we had just arrived in town, and we’re very hungry. We sat at their one table outside the restaurant, so we had to listen to her cat-call possible customers all through our dinner. By the end, it felt more like a used-car lot – she was making deals with passer-bys by offering 10% off their check, or promising a water view table, even if one wasn’t available, and then scrambling with the owner so she could keep her promise. She advertised the clam chowder, saying it wasn’t like anything else ‘you’ve tried, I guarantee it’ – but of course, offered no explanation as to what made it different. Personally, it tasted like canned soup to me; having a bowl of “real” clam chowder at Rosine’s later in our visit, and then another bowl at Cioppino's in San Francisco later in our trip showed me there was nothing else like theirs, because no one else’s was terrible. My wife’s salmon had bones throughout, and my son’s cheeseburger was cold, and the bun was too hard for him to bite. I had the prawns and chips, and there was zero seasoning. Do yourself a favor and keep walking, don’t get sucked in to the ‘come one, come all’ atmosphere where they try to grab any and every customer possible, and serve VERY unimpressive food. Oh yeah, they also advertised a ‘free’ calamari appetizer, but have NO INTENTION of providing it to you unless you remind them … our waiter told us that priceless tidbit. STAY AWAY!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SoxNation71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crab Louie's Bistro also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Crab Louie's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing