We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty French Toast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crab Louie's Bistro

Crab Louie's Bistro
Ranked #120 of 297 Restaurants in Monterey
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: European, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: crab louie bistro is located on the wharf in beautiful Monterey harbor ofering spectacular views of the sealions and from all window tables. We are open every day - for breakfast,lunch and dinner Our guests may enjoy the view of sea otters,sealions and pelicans. Enjoy breakfast or lunch ,or have a romantic candlelight dinner while the sun is setting over Monterey bay.
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tasty French Toast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Ate breakfast here several days in a row, because of the excellent French toast, friendly service, pleasant view of the harbor and sea otters at play each morning. Diners could choose their own available table. The mild cross breeze through the open windows was refreshing. Speaking of the windows, they were spotless, as well as, the entire dining area. Noticed families with young children appeared to enjoy their breakfasts with offerings kids liked.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WiFi_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    51
    30
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
159 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good spot for watching the sea lions at play- average food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We just arrived for a 5 day holiday to Monterey and of course had to have a seafood lunch. Running the gauntlet of the Fishermans Wharf clam chowder hawkers led us to Crab Louie's . The free chowder sample was the best of the bunch in our opinion so we decided to dine there. Our table overlooked the water and we had a great view of the sea lions playing and sunningnthemselves on a float in the marina. We had oysters on the half shell (average, but half the price of what we pay for them in Canada), crab cakes (a bit overlooked- almost burnt) and panko crusted sand dabs(a type of fish like a sole) which was perfectly cooked. Crab Louis overall is a good place for lunch but certainly nothing special, if that's what you are looking for.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank scubamom33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I ate lunch here, they told us it was "Happy Hour". We had a crabcake, clam chowder, fish tacos the only thing that was tasty was the clam chowder. The crab cake was dry but the chipotle suace helped the fish tacos were dry too as the fish was over cooked. The "Happy Hour" mimosas were over priced at over $7 a pop for a small portion.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rederica24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Starving and freezing after whale watching the cheery exterior of Crab Louie's drew us inside. The decor is rather plain & its a lunch spot for sure. It does however overlook the harbor and the sea lions at play were very amusing. The clam chowder is the best on the wharf by far. We had a bowl each with some oyster crackers and calamari.Delicious.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aMcConn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good meal!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

My wife and had a very good meal while visiting the Fisherman's Wharf area of Monterey. The price was consistent with the area restaurants. The restaurant was crowded and we were disappointed that we couldn't get harbor side seating.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Delcojim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crab Louie's Bistro also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Crab Louie's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing