We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
BavarianTravelers
Starnberg, Germany

Very good deal

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jun 12, 2009
My wife and I spent just one night at the Adobe Inn during our vacation trip from L.A. to S.F. along Hwy One. We had a large room (#24) with even two double beds and sort of sea view. Although situated along a major road it was quite quiet at night. The breakfast included some toast (nut just these sweet muffin like things). Staff was very nice and helpful with the informations we required. Should we ever come back to this beautiful place named Monterey Bay, we'd book this Motel again. Btw we had wireless internet for free although we did not look for this feature in a brochure just found out that it worked.
Date of stay: June 2009
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
$439
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $439
  • Skyscanner.com
    $290
  • Hotels.com
    $439
0.6 miles from Inn By The Bay Monterey
Pool
Restaurant
Exterior
$175
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $172
  • Agoda.com
    $139
  • Hotels.com
    $173
0.5 miles from Inn By The Bay Monterey
Free Wifi
$289
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $247
  • Skyscanner.com
    $218
  • Hotels.com
    $248
0.7 miles from Inn By The Bay Monterey
Free Wifi
Free parking
$427
Fully refundable
  • InterContinental
    $427
  • Vio.com
    $359
  • Hotels.com
    $427
1.7 miles from Inn By The Bay Monterey
Pool
Restaurant
$194
  • Expedia.com
    $183
  • Agoda.com
    $180
  • Hotels.com
    $183
0.8 miles from Inn By The Bay Monterey
Free Wifi
Free parking
$324
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $327
  • Skyscanner.com
    $207
  • Official Site
    $324
2.3 miles from Inn By The Bay Monterey
Pool
Beachfront
View more hotels in Monterey
Reviews (361)
Filter reviews
361 results
Traveler rating
83
165
75
19
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
83
165
75
19
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night walk downtown free parking room was large location is great fridge shampoo
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
245 - 250 of 361 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2009

We stayed here as part of our two week holiday in California, and used it as a base for touring the local coast, which is spectacular. Located a good walk from the Harbour (around 15 mins downhill, not steep!) it is well place near the centre on Monterey. Room was large enough for the three of us (two queen beds) with a view of the sea in the distance. Unfortunately only had two chairs, so my son had to sit on the bed or the floor to eat breakfast/lunch etc. Complimentary continental breakfast was very good. Bread for toast, danish pastries, nice orange juice and coffee/tea provided in the reception area. No real space there to eat, so generally went back to the room, which was fine.
Plenty of leaflets in the reception area of local attractions, and a very helpful owner with good advice on what to do. Plenty of parking good access in and out.

Date of stay: May 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salsa42Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 3, 2009

daughter lived near by so wanted to be near, rooms were always clean. Had to get up one morning @ 1:00 A.M. and remind noisey guest what time it was,asked front desk if guests were returning and they said they had cheked out, told them what had happend and they were so sorry and said I should have called the front desk, but I figured I could handle it. Managment was nice and hospital, telling me about what was happening locally. Nothing fancy--but will stay again

Date of stay: March 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brokegrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 3, 2009

We stayed at the El Adobe Inn in January 2009 with our daughter. The room was exceptionally clean, very nicely set up, and convenient with a refrigerator, blow dryer, and other shower amenities. The best part was the free continental breakfast which people don't find in some of the larger hotels. Breshly brewed coffee, danishes, toast, hot chocolate, orange juice, and hot tea. All you can eat. We were able to eat breakfast in our room and head out for the day. The office staff is very friendly, it was nice quite and relaxing in the evening. We also had a nice walk downtown area. The location is in walking distance for several things. I would definitely recommend this motel for travelers who are looking for reasonable room rates with quality service.

Date of stay: January 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smile69
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 21, 2009

This is a nice, clean motel with a friendly staff. Nothing fancy but the rooms are a good size and very comfortable. It is truly good value. We have stayed here a few times when coming to Monterey for a weekend of Scuba diving. Pets are allowed and it is across the street from a nice park for walking your dog.

Our only complaint is that last weekend, we were woken by noisy neighbors (different groups on consecutive nights) coming home from a night out at 2am. On our last visit, a group of young guests partied at the motel into the wee hours.

Since we are up early for diving, the noise has become an issue for us. But for night owls, this might be a great find!

Date of stay: January 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fleasky
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hema p, General Manager at Inn By The Bay Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

I sincerely apologize for the noise you experienced during your stay. This is not a normal occurrence. We highly recommend that guests inform us of any noise issues so that we can resolve the problem immediately.

Thank you for your stay.

Nisha Patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2008

We spent 4 weeks travelling around California from England All of this time was spent in hotels and motels,the El Adobe was not only clean, comfortable and reasonably priced all of the staff from the management to the maids were extremely freindly and helpful. We would certainly stay there again.

Date of stay: October 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andykenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews