We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place for one night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn By The Bay Monterey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn By The Bay Monterey
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   936 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-4512 (Formerly El Adobe Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good place for one night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The location is good, there are several restaurants and markets also gas stations around. The room is clean and fine for the family. The staff is helpful. I like the plants and the beautiful flowers outside. However, it is a little overpriced during July.

Room Tip: no elevator, if you have heavy luggage, you need to choose the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malanly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    126
    57
    13
    11
See reviews for
60
106
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here- it was clean and the beds were comfortable- we were on the ground floor and felt very safe in and around the parking lot even after dark- great location and had a great Wholefoods nearby for us to do a grocery shop for the next leg of our road trip- awesome deli in that Wholefoods too!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sassygalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Pleasantly surprised by this quaint hotel. Our room was very clean and comfy. Surprisingly we could see the ocean from our room. Location is close enough to walk downtown, to the wharf and even cannery row. Parking in Monterey can be challenging so walking is a nice option. The staff was friendly and helpful. Very reasonable rates which included wi-fi and parking. I would definitely stay again. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is quieter and western facing will have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 63Lisamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

It is located within a walking distance from the centre and to the mall. The room was quite large and attractive with a modern bathroom. It was clean and cosy.
The staff went out of the way to help. It is great is you have a car.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Very clean and walking distance to amenities. A bit far from main Monterey area... About 30 minutes walk to aquarium and sights.

The room was clean and staff friendly. Not many amenities nor anything special. But it's tastefully decorated and feels perfectly fine. Low maintenance rental with comfortable place to sleep and rest on the coastal drive from San Fran to LA.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial Heights, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Great location within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf, Farmer's Market, and Cannery Row. Cannery Row was a bit of a hike, but we needed the walk after all the meals out! Excellent value for the area. We were happy that we chose to stay there over the Carmel area. We had a queen bed with a twin for our college aged daughter. It was a perfect set up. The motel isn't located in the "touristy" area, but served our needs over a much more expensive place right in the middle of things which could have proven noisy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crhbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We loved the spacious room which was clean and the wifi fast and free. The Inn was close to the beach and fisherman's wharf and we loved the 17 mile drive in Pebble Beach. There were wonderful otters and seals galore!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
#25 of 55 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 stars 861 reviews
0.1 mi away
Munras Inn
Munras Inn
#32 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Park Crest Inn
0.3 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#41 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn By The Bay Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn By The Bay Monterey

Property: Inn By The Bay Monterey
Address: 936 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-4512 (Formerly El Adobe Inn)
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn By The Bay Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn By The Bay is in walking distance to downtown Monterey bay where there are restaurants, shops, bars, and the Warf. All rooms have a mini kitchenette which includes a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer and iron. All guests have access to complimentary Wifi.Rooms with a view of the bay are available up early request. Pet friendly rooms are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Inn By The Bay Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Adobe Hotel Monterey
El Adobe Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing