We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Value for money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn By The Bay Monterey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn By The Bay Monterey
Ranked #35 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Helpful staff, basic but adequate breakfast. Room was okay, clean & comfortable. Location was good, easy to get on and off the freeway but only a 20 minute walk down to Fishermans Wharf and then a further 15 minutes onto Cannery Row.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJHOL13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    137
    61
    14
    11
See reviews for
62
117
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
shrewsbury
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights motel style with continental breakfast that you get and take back to your room .we couldn't really fault the place clean comfy close to the marina aquarium fisherman's wharf and close access to highway 1 taking you to 17 mile drive and the big sur. Monterey is beautiful a lovely place to visit and this motel is a great place to do it from would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaznicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

I suppose you get what you pay for and Monterey is an expensive place to stay. Good parking, free Wifi, poor breakfast, not filthy but could be cleaner, no air con. Quite a walk to Cannery Row but a few places to eat nearby. Ok for a short stopover. At least Earl and Randy had a pool! Otherwise similar to their room on the show.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Actually I have nothing to say about this place: it is neutral. Functional but no special amenities. Breakfast is modest: muffins, wieners, toast bread, jam, coffee, juice. No pool or yard. Though we had a French balcony but the view was a backyard.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NReetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Monterey on a weekend in August is prime time = very expensive! This hotel is reasonably priced, clean and well positioned, but it lacks the extras (no pool, only small breakfast choice). Anyhow, for our purpose to explore the area and only sleep here at night, it is good.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Bit pricey for a basic room without AC but Monterey isn't known for being cheap. This place is clean and convenient - about 15 minutes walk from Fisherman's Wharf. Had a fridge, decent TV, microwave and the price ($179) included a basic continental breakfast which you picked up and had in your room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a clean, safe reasonably priced hotel for us and our pup for a couple of nights. The El Adobe Inn in is about a mile away from the wharf and Del Monte Plaza shopping mall. The hotel itself is very simple, no frills but clean and comfortable. Here are some things I thought were worth mentioning.

Pet friendly rooms are on the bottom floor.
The bottom floor rooms face the parking lot. Bring earplugs.
They are pet friendly in the fact that they accept pets but don't extras like bowls or beds.
The rooms don't have air conditioning and can get stuffy quickly. If you open the windows it helps a little but you lose privacy and people walking by can be noisy. They do provide a stand up fan in the room.
Bring your own shampoo, conditioner and soap. Theirs was just ok.
The towels are very small and they only had two. Most girls I know use two towels so be sure and ask for an extra if needed.
The breakfast is very basic. Muffins cut into quarters, svengard pastries, bananas and coffee.
Hotel is kind of tucked away and felt safe and secure.
Easy access to hwy 1
Bed was comfortable.
Coffee maker, fridge, microwave provided.
No bathroom fan but it does have a window that opens.
Free wi-fi provided. Be sure and get the password at check in.

I would stay there again but would ask for a room away from the courtyard and ice machine. The location was convenient and I thought the price was good considering the area and that we had our dog.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pixiepowered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
#25 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.1 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#38 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Munras Inn
Munras Inn
#36 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Park Crest Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn By The Bay Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn By The Bay Monterey

Property: Inn By The Bay Monterey
Address: 936 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-4512 (Formerly El Adobe Inn)
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn By The Bay Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn By The Bay is in walking distance to downtown Monterey bay where there are restaurants, shops, bars, and the Warf. All rooms have a mini kitchenette which includes a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer and iron. All guests have access to complimentary Wifi.Rooms with a view of the bay are available up early request. Pet friendly rooms are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Inn By The Bay Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Adobe Hotel Monterey
El Adobe Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing