We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Pet owners delight” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn By The Bay Monterey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn By The Bay Monterey
Ranked #36 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Avenal, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pet owners delight”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I always stay there when I bring my dog, Sadie, with me to Monterey. Extra cost on top of the room rate for each animal staying. There is a nice park across the way for walking your dog also. The room walls are thin and the downstairs rooms can sometimes hear the upstairs neighbor. I only had one time where I had trouble getting to sleep because the person next door watched television at a seemingly loud volume. Overall, the rooms are clean and neat. The hosts are very friendly and appreciate my business. I enjoy staying there as it is one of the few motels where I can have my dog with me and be very close to downtown Monterey plus have easy straight access from/to Hwy 1. Hopefully, I will be staying there next month and bring my two dogs to enjoy the cooler weather in Monterey and escape the heat from the Central Valley!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Attraversiamo2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    138
    62
    14
    11
See reviews for
64
117
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yuba City, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We find ourselves in Monterey at least once a year, & we always stay at El Adobe Inn. The rates are very affordable, the Inn is pet friendly and the rooms are clean & comfortable. El Adobe is right across the street from the park, which is great for walking th dog in the morning, & a short walking distance from the mall. The Inn owners are very friendly & remember us each time we stay with them. It's a great place for the price!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkdale, AZ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

The positives are that the location is great and the owners are very nice and accomodating. It is sparkling clean and the gardens are gorgeous.
This place has seen better days. Our first room on the second floor had a sliding glass door instead of a window, but had no screen. This became an issue as there was no climate control, air conditioning or vent and we did not feel secure leaving the door open at night with no screen. The room was too stuffy to sleep. This is a weird situation as the owner aknowledged to having a problem with racoons. There is a masonry wall outside the glass door, quite convenient to wildlife or neighborhood cats.
My request for a room change was accomodated right away- basically the same room but with a screen. It made a huge difference.
When I plugged in the clock radio in both room, the outlets sparked alarmingly.
The room layout is odd with the bathroom counter/sink on the left of the front door and a door to the toilet/tub on the right with a closet rod in between. The sink faucet leaked and the hot and cold were reversed in both rooms.
The room rates seemed a bit arbitrary as well. I overheard a guest extending her stay and the desk clerk told her that her rate would be raised to $134 because it was Friday and the rooms were $10 extra. I was paying $179 for Friday and Saturday, which was $100 more than the weekday rate.
I will say again the the hosts are very nice. It is probably a couple who are doing everything themselves and working very hard at it. It was just a dissappointment after all of the rave reviews.

Room Tip: Look at the room prior to moving in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaO714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Admittedly one of the cheaper options in an expensive town so wasn't expecting quality as seen in other places in America. The people who ran the place were friendly.

The breakfast consisted of some pastries and bread/toast/jam and coffee/'juice' which you could take back to your room where there was a small kitchenette with microwave and your own coffee machine. The Adobe is located within easy reach of the town.

However the walls in the dated room were very thin and a connecting door to neighbouring room meant you could hear every word spoken by neighbour. That's not to say it wasn't good value for money, an excellent motel, but at hotel prices. Wouldn't return, would be tempted to spend a little more per-night for more privacy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Me and me wife drove down to Monterey for Memorial Day weekend and had a lovely night at the El Adobe Inn. The room was nice and the staff was very helpful. The hotel was close to all the attractions in Monterey and we were able to walk around most of our stay there. Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertTurlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Although there is nothing fancy about this place it is a great deal for the price. I stayed at several different area hotels while in Monterey recently and this one was the best deal by a long shot. It's small, very quiet, close to everything but far enough off of the beaten path to be quiet and private. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed here for one night, but would have been happy to stay longer. My room was very spacious and very comfortable. Everything was very clean and I could sleep very well as it was quiet.I arrived late in the night, check-in was quick and efficient. Breakfast was toast, pastry and coffee - pretty basic, but fine for me. Left my luggage there during the day and could use the free wifi when I went to get the luggage. The manager was very friendly. I would definitely stay there again when in Monterey. Monterey Transit Plaza is 5 minutes away and it took me around 15 minutes to get to the boat for Whale Watching, and to the Aquarium it is also a nice walk (around 25 minutes).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
#24 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Munras Inn
Munras Inn
#32 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#37 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#34 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn By The Bay Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn By The Bay Monterey

Property: Inn By The Bay Monterey
Address: 936 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-4512 (Formerly El Adobe Inn)
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn By The Bay Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn By The Bay is in walking distance to downtown Monterey bay where there are restaurants, shops, bars, and the Warf. All rooms have a mini kitchenette which includes a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer and iron. All guests have access to complimentary Wifi.Rooms with a view of the bay are available up early request. Pet friendly rooms are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Inn By The Bay Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Adobe Hotel Monterey
El Adobe Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing