We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value budget motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn By The Bay Monterey
Ranked #36 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value budget motel”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed one night here en route to San Francisco. It was spotlessly clean, with a very comfortable bed, free wifi, aircon and a friendly welcome. For the price, I can't fault it. There were even breakfast pastries and coffee at reception, included in the room rate - not something you always get at motels. A couple of decent restaurants within walking distance. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate_hartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    144
    64
    14
    13
See reviews for
64
125
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marina del Rey, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

This is an alright place to stay if you're traveling on a budget. The staff seemed nice, the room was clean, though a little on the small side, and the location is convenient to the attractions in Monterey. Our room had no A/C and the electric stand up fan was broken. We called down to the office and they brought us a working fan, so that was a plus. During the night we opened our window since it was hard to sleep with the fan buzzing at the foot of the bed, but that was a problem too since every footstep and piece of luggage that was carted through the area echoed through the door sized window that faced the walkway and parking lot, plus someone could literally step in through it if desired. After a not so good night's sleep we headed to the office for our "complimentary breakfast" which consisted of a loaf of sliced bread and concentrated orange juice, and if you wanted that, you had to "toast and run" since there wasn't any space to sit and eat. Other than that, it's fine for a budget motel, but will cost a little more.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenesseOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

I stayed one night, as a stop before traveling down hwy one. It was fine. Clean, accessible, friendly. I would be fine stayimg here for business or with my family. But if you want something remotely modern or romantic, this place is not for you. Also, plan on buying breakfast. I think there was a toaster and a loaf of bread. And that was at 8:30am.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, CA
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

I have been looking for a place to stay while I work at the AT&T golf tournament. This is the third hotel I have tried over the past three years and I don't think I need to look elsewhere. I've been looking for a cheaper place in the area and I have landed at some properties that, even though I have worked in law enforcement for some years, I have not felt comfortable. At the El Adobe, I felt comfortable leaving my door open in the evenings. It is small (27 rooms, I think) and older (it could use a bit of paint in spots) but they have done a great job trying to keep it up. After a long day on the golf course, I was still able to walk downtown, just a couple of blocks away. I had a couple of minor issues that needed to be resolved and the guy at the desk came right up and fixed things immediately. The woman at check-in was also pleasant and willing to go above and beyond to help.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room to the rear of the hotel (away from the road).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoopsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We stayed only one night as part of our trip route 1.Location is great.
Convenient access to major roads and Hwy 1..and easy parking.
The couple running the hotel were friendly and helpfull.
The room we stayed was clean and big.Large windows with a nice view. Beds were comfy but pillows are hard.Crisp white bed linens.Bathroom was very clean and efficent.
Breakfast was very basic.
Recomended

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelybulut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2012

The room was nice, clean, and comfortable. Staff was friendly and parking was free. Drawbacks: breakfast wasn't great and it would have been nice to be within walking distance of Cannery Row. Overall a nice hotel and a great value.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KendraCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Just needed a quick stop overnight for work, attentive staff, decent facilities, decent stay.

Room Tip: Western exposure rooms do offer the slimmest seaside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NationalPeoplesGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.2 mi away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Munras Inn
Munras Inn
#25 of 56 in Monterey
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#30 of 56 in Monterey
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn By The Bay Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn By The Bay Monterey

Property: Inn By The Bay Monterey
Address: 936 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-4512 (Formerly El Adobe Inn)
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn By The Bay Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn By The Bay is in walking distance to downtown Monterey bay where there are restaurants, shops, bars, and the Warf. All rooms have a mini kitchenette which includes a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer and iron. All guests have access to complimentary Wifi.Rooms with a view of the bay are available up early request. Pet friendly rooms are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn By The Bay Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Adobe Hotel Monterey
El Adobe Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing