We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“won't stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn - Monterey
Ranked #8 of 11 Monterey B&B and Inns
portsmouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“won't stay again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

stayed hear a few years ago but after this stay won't stay again. Beds have the cheapest mattress you could buy. Front desk folks act like it's their first day on the job. If you come in the warm weather make sure you ask for a room where the ac works...most don't. Interior is 2 grades below budget. No double locks on the room I stayed in. No in room coffeee. Suprised Choice hotels is still associated with this hotel

Room Tip: stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fredsmithjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    15
    16
    31
See reviews for
10
37
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Electrical nightmare. Octopus plugs. Dirty walls. Fuses blew. Puddles of floating beer cans. No coffee in one room. No coffee or coffee maker in the other. Manager got TV working but unplugged fridge. Lost food in fridge as it warmed overnight. Office still closed at 10 to 8 a.m. when we left. No breakfast to be found - although part of room price.

Room Tip: Lots of choices on this hotel row - if they are not booked up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monterey hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

Staff rude and unhelpful. Light switches coming off walls. Tv, fridge , microwave plugs did not fit sockets. Advertised coffee maker in room did not exist. Carpet wet. Shower hanging off. Room smelt and looked dirty. Mattress broken. Left early hours of morning to find somewhere to clean up. Advertised breakfast nowhere in sight! Also is on north Fremont st out of centre and not Fremont as advertised

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Visitor140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

I made a reservation through Hotels.com at 1pm and was told that as long as I cancelled by 4pm, I would not be charged fees or penalties. After checking reviews, I did cancel this reservation by 2pm but I was still charged a $50 penalty. I called the hotel manager, who acted like I was bothering him, and he insisted that I made the reservation through Expedia and that there was nothing he could do. Of course, his information was wrong and even though I am due a full refund, I am out of luck. Just be warned that unless you want to throw your money away, either keep your reservation or don't make one at all.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dogs4dusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

The other reviews are nothing like our experience. The room was clean, we were given a room that we had booked online. We were looking for a cheap and clean place to sleep and it this place fitted the bill. It was a decent location and from here we got to the aquarium and other major attractions and straight onto Highway 1 when we left. Although on our one dealing with the staff they were a little abrubt. Overall a decent hotel for a couple of nights if your driving through

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

We arrived about 9pm with reservations. The manager had given away our room. He tried to shuttle us down to his relative's hotel-- the Economy Inn. When i insisted we had reservations and we were staying, he gave us room 109, the worst room I have ever seen in my entire life. The bathroom had mold on the ceiling, no A/C, the towel rack was falling out of the wall, towels were in a heap, the carpet was dirty, I could go on and on and on. All night long somebody upstairs was having a party and playing a guitar poorly. We had a 1am knock on the door from some poor soul who though she had rented our room too. The second night I insisted to manager to change our room. The second room was actually just fine. Clean linens, clean bathroom, fridge, microwave, A/C, a little small but we were going out sightseeing, not hanging around all day. If the manager had given us a decent room the first night, my review would be a whole lot kinder.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank i_am_pegasus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2009

When you travel a lot, you always hope that the worst place you ever stay is only a little worse than the previous worst place. Not so at the Rodeway Inn. It was the worst place we have ever stayed by leaps & bounds. When we checked in, the door & window to our room were open. It was a cool afternoon, so we didn't close it up until we left for dinner. When we came back, the room stunk so bad (it smelled like vomit) we couldn't stay in it. The only other room they could offer us was even worse. There was a big event going on & all the motels were full, so we couldn't move. After bitter complaining, the manager offered us a bottle of room deoderizer. We had no choice but to stay, but it was bad. The room was dirty and beat up and everything in it was old and worn out. They offer a continental breakfast which consists of one pot of coffee and pre-packaged sweet rolls from Sam's Club. They only give you 1 towels, 1 washcloth and 1 hand towel each. They are very thin and badly worn. They charge 25 cents for ice which looked dirty. The bathtub is so slick you can't stand in it without putting a towel in the bottom to keep from falling, the laundry is bagged and sits outside for several days before it is picked up, there is a lot of rotten wood on the outside of the facility and ivy is growing out of control on all the exterior walls. At night you could hear something crawling in the attic. There are no safety chains on the doors. We would sleep in our car before we would stay here again. >
>

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoTripToLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn Monterey - Fremont Street
1.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.4 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#26 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn - Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn - Monterey

Property: Rodeway Inn - Monterey
Address: 2041 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn - Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn - Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing