We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wee Twee, but Adequate for the Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lone Oak Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lone Oak Lodge
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
535 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
“A Wee Twee, but Adequate for the Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

The motel is quite a way from downtown Monterey. Our room was big enough and had a fridge and microwave. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom, while a bit small and old-fashioned was functional. The lady at the reception was friendly and professional. The wi-fi worked well. Recommendable for a short stay.

Room Tip: Rooms (#10+), further back from the main road, are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IgelEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of the Lone Oak Lodge. We always appreciate the time taken to write a review. I'm happy you had a good nights rest and hope you can return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    323
    63
    12
    13
See reviews for
295
397
49
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed for four nights in the Lone Oak Lodge, had a cottage and found everything just fine! Spacy, clean and comfortable with a friendly reception. The cottage had two bedrooms, a big kitchen with everything we needed, a big bathroom and even a small backyard. The cottage was cleaned every day and the car could be parked in front of the cottage. Lone Oak Lodge also has a sauna and a whirlpool but we had't time to use them. Shops, restaurants and dinners where you can eat breakfast were almost beside. The reception was really friendly and we got very good tips where to shop and eat. To go to Monterey you have to take a car, but that's not a problem because there are plenty of parking places. Lone Oak Lodge is situated in a busy street, but we had an absolutely peacefull cottage. I guess if you don't have your cottage next to street you won't have any problems. The hotelrooms are even more far away from the street.The price is also very reasonable. Just book it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann-Amelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice review! We do appreciate your input and hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I've stayed at the Lone Oak many times. It is always clean and comfortable. Having a kitchen is wonderful when your away from home.
Staff is always warm and helpful
Location is great, near many restaurants.
Tourist attractions are near.

Room Tip: If staying for more than one night choose the room,rooms with a kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborrah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for the nice review, we always appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I called on Sunday morning of Labor Day weekend and they happened to have one room left, a double double and because of the other reviews here we snatched it up. It was a love/hate relationship for me. I loved it because it reminded me of my childhood driving trips with my parents where we would just drive until my dad got tired and then we would find a town that had a motel with a vacancy sign. This place was clean. New toilets, tile in the bathroom and new sink fixtures. We also felt safe. The windows were open but after we unloaded the car and we were leaving my son closed them as we headed out to Fisherman's Wharf.

We got back to motel about 11pm. We walked in and we were knocked up the side of the head by this odor, that I thought seemed oddly familiar, and the room was really stuffy. We went to turn on the air conditioner and there wasn't one. The office was closed so no one to call. We were close enough to the road that to open the window meant the traffic noises could keep us awake. So we kept the windows closed.

We turned out the lights and I told myself to calm down and imagine that I am in a refreshingly cool room. I fell asleep. I woke up at about 1am drenched in sweat and realized what that smell was, urine.

I kicked my son out of his bed nearest the window and opened it a bit and tried to get some of the cool ocean breeze to cool me off and not have the road noise wake my husband. Eventually I grabbed a pillow and went to the car. After we all were up we went to some of the other rooms and I have to say that the bottom line is I would stay here again. I will avoid room #3 but I am sure that they will figure it out and fix the problem. We mentioned it to our housekeeper.

Room Tip: OMG, bring or ask for a fan when you check in if the weather is warm. If you get room #3 make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments. While our office closes at 11:00 every night, I am here 24/7. All you would have had to do is go to the front door and press the bell. Every motel has this bell to ring in case a manager is needed after hours. I would have been happy to get you a fan and do what I could to make your night sleep a pleasant one. In addition, it would have been much appreciated if you had reported this to the office upon check out the next morning. Any issues with a room we take very seriously and never hesitate to pull a room from service if there is a problem. I went through room 3 myself and did not find any evidence of urine anywhere. This is a mystery. I have had two separate reservations in that room since with no comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moree, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Lone Oak Lodge during a drive up Highway 1. It's clean, the staff are friendly and helpful, it's close enough to the highway and tourist spots. Great wifi for multiple devices. We had no breakfast, but great diner just down the block.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ree71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write and review and I'm happy you liked you accommodations. Hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galt
Level Contributor
147 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had a very nice, comfortable, quiet stay at LOL. It is close to the wharf and other sites.
The staff was friendly and business-like. Lots of restaurants nearby for the usual fast-fare.
The older motel has been upgraded and modernized. WiFi works great. They have a spa and it
looked inviting. Everything was clean and neat. I would recommend LOL.

Room Tip: Nice to park near our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonnybear47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

THANKS!! The rooms are really, really clean. The grounds are clean and neat. The staff is the BEST. The service was amazing! We had the best time ever. It was the best vacation ever. Lori, thank you for all your help you made our family vacation the greatest. A BIG THANK YOU TO ALL!!

Nola Murrison

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nola m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you so much for the nice review, always appreciated!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
2.7 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
2.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lone Oak Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Oak Lodge

Property: Lone Oak Lodge
Address: 2221 Fremont St, Near Della Vina Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940-5499
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lone Oak Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time with this traditional American style motor lodge where comfort, cleanliness and customer service is our hallmark. At the Lone Oak Lodge you are only minutes away from all the sights and sounds of the enchanting Monterey Peninsula. With its modest rates, variety of accommodations and family atmosphere the Lone Oak Lodge will quickly become your home away from home. Featuring family cottages, single rooms, double rooms and king Jacuzzi suites with fireplaces; the Lone Oak is hard to beat. We offer plenty of free on site parking, free Wifi, digital cable channels and a separate indoor Jacuzzi room with a dry sauna and exercise equipment. We also have a scuba diver rinse section as well as an outdoor barbeque area with fire pit. For the business traveler's we offer a 350 square foot Business & Conference Center which will accommodate up to 15 people. (Please contact the front desk to book your meeting during your stay). So take a step back in time and come relax with us here in beautiful Monterey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Lone Oak Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lone Oak Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing