We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay.”
Review of Lone Oak Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lone Oak Lodge
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“A good stay.”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was quite a nice Motel. It was of an older style but everything was functional and worked, and the decoration was in good order. I think the bed was more modern than the other furniture in the room and there was a good shower. We had a good nights stay here, we slept well. There were plenty of places nearby for food and drink.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you so much for you nice review, always appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    331
    66
    13
    14
See reviews for
312
418
50
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Medway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We really liked this place. The staff were great, there was a problem with the reservation (completely my fault) but the staff resolved it quickly without any hassle whatsoever. The rooms were clean and in good condition. We choose this motel because it was just off Highway 1 and we needed somewhere to lay our heads on our way from So Cal to the Bay Area. It was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineLC96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for the review......happy you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Situated conveniently on a main road, with very fair-sized and quite clean room. We were treated quite well at the desk. We had breakfast nearby, there were plenty of options also for dinner in the vicinity. Overall it was a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for great review. We always appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

A happy surprise! The Lone Oak Lodge is well priced, clean and friendly. A motel design, even without air conditioning, our room was very comfortable with a king sized bed, fluffy towels, and crisp linens. Newer flat screen TV with older VCR/DVD player. Room was 1970's decorated & furnished, but in great condition. Clean, large bathroom with shower (no tub).

Room Tip: Rooms 25-33 have good shade in late afternoon if you want to sit outside under the verandah and are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandpaJoeGrandmaDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and thanks for the compliment! I'll pass it on to the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Built in the early 50's and still family run. A very good price, extremely well maintained but no frills, just the necessities. The beds were very comfortable, the rooms were very clean and the walls well insulated. We never heard our neighbors (we were there 3 nights) and the motel was full the entire time. It's a 2 star because there is no pool (but a nice sauna and hot tub), and you bring your own shampoo, but I do anyways. There is a coffee maker and a mini fridge. There is a large TV and everything in the room worked and was in good condition. There are several restaurants within easy walking distance. And you park your car right in front of your room. Excellent if you want a clean, safe and very reasonable place to stay!

Room Tip: There are a few "cabins" that have 2 bedrooms, and a kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you so much for the nice review. We hope to see you again! We may surprise you with little shampoos, conditioners, lotions and soaps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavernier, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed for a couple nights while visiting my son at the Defense Language Institute. Very clean and accomodating, both inside and out. There is no a/c but the weather was cool enough that everyone got a good nights sleep. A great value in Monterey, we will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for the review, we always appreciate it....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have been staying at is motel off and on for quite a few years and every time the accommodations are very good especially for the age of the motel and location. Nice size room and convenient location for whatever activities you want to do in Monterey area. I wish they would upgrade the alarm clock....still a puzzle to set!!! While three HBO stations are nice, I would like to see all the major sports teams from Bay area carried.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerry448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice review. We do provide a wake up call service, which you may find more convenient than setting an alarm clock. Just give the front desk a call or stop by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,299 reviews
2.7 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
1,965 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lone Oak Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Oak Lodge

Property: Lone Oak Lodge
Address: 2221 Fremont St, Near Della Vina Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940-5499
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lone Oak Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time with this traditional American style motor lodge where comfort, cleanliness and customer service is our hallmark. At the Lone Oak Lodge you are only minutes away from all the sights and sounds of the enchanting Monterey Peninsula. With its modest rates, variety of accommodations and family atmosphere the Lone Oak Lodge will quickly become your home away from home. Featuring family cottages, single rooms, double rooms and king Jacuzzi suites with fireplaces; the Lone Oak is hard to beat. We offer plenty of free on site parking, free Wifi, digital cable channels and a separate indoor Jacuzzi room with a dry sauna and exercise equipment. We also have a scuba diver rinse section as well as an outdoor barbeque area with fire pit. For the business traveler's we offer a 350 square foot Business & Conference Center which will accommodate up to 15 people. (Please contact the front desk to book your meeting during your stay). So take a step back in time and come relax with us here in beautiful Monterey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Lone Oak Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lone Oak Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing