We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good value, especially for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lone Oak Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lone Oak Lodge
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good value, especially for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This motel is located along a fairly busy street with other motels and a Denny's. so don't expect stunning oceanside views or Godiva chocolates on the pillow. With that said, it's a clean and affordable place to sleep. We rented a couple of rooms plus two cabins. The cabins were generously sized, having two bedrooms and a kitchen. One of the bedrooms had a queen sized bed and led to the bathroom. The other bedroom had twin beds and a gas powered fireplace. The kitchen included the basics; fridge, range, microwave, sink, and a round table. This allows for a family of four to be comfortably set up and to self-cater.
I thought the rooms were pleasant and clean. The decor was a little dated, but that's kind of typical for a roadside motel. The mattresses had some kind of a pillow top on them, making them quite soft and plushy. I personally prefer a firmer mattress, so it wasn't perfect for me, but some people may like that plush top.
There is a Safeway supermarket about .4 miles down the road, so if self-catering is your thing, it's a good setup. There is also a produce market about 1-2 blocks down the road.
The staff was quite friendly and they were accommodating at check in and check out.
The sauna and the hot tub were a nice addition, open until 10pm. Both sauna and tub were super hot, so make sure you cool down in the attached shower!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quetzalcoatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    259
    47
    12
    12
See reviews for
225
283
36
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Me and my wife stayed for new years eve, with some friends and family, Rooms where nice and clean, had a king room with fireplace, Great deal AAA discount, booked easily on booking.com.
Will repeat!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveM1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you so much for the nice review!!!!

Hope you have a fantastic New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This place was simple, yet clean. Close to all of Monterey attractions and affordable for family. Had a good deal with Monterey Aquarium 2 day package. Was a throw back to the good old motoring days we had as kids. Sign says not to fill cooler with their ice, but as many stopping for just a night or two and eating food brought, they should take the sign down. All in all....GOOD!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripscotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for the kind review of the Lone Oak. During the Summer months, the Lodge is a very busy place! The signs on the ice machines are there for a reason. While we have 2 large capacity ice machines on the property, several guests filling up ice chests and 46 other guests wanting ice for their room is too much for the machines. You don't realize how much ice it takes to fill an ice chest. It's a constant drain on the machines that time of year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

I traveled to Monterey for a dive trip and my instructor recommended this motel. Even without the diver discount, their published rate was lower than any other similar motel I could find in Monterey. The Lone Oak Inn caters to divers, offering a dive gear rinse area and heavy duty hooks outside every room to dry your wetsuit. The furniture and decor is a little dated (early 1970's) but everything is incredibly clean and well taken care of. This will be our new regular Monterey spot!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DangaBrewin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review! Hope to see you soon on your next dive trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, Calif.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

There were three of us in a 2 bedroom cottage, it was perfect, very clean, quiet, had everything we needed. We felt like we were in our own little home. Staff very friendly, parking right in front, very convenient to Carmel, Monterey sites. Loved it.

Room Tip: The ones back from the street are probably quieter and the cottages are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loalynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. The Cottages are really nice, cute and cozy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Good clean motor hotel. Comfortable beds. Decent resturants within walking distance. Park right at your door, free parking. Travelled with the family, nice quite location. Old style motor hotel in great condition. Very helpful receptionist. Free wifi.
Breakfast at Dennys 5 minutes walk.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JW_1190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here for one night in September and we were very happy with the Lodge. The room was nice with a standard en-suite. There are a couple of restaurants nearby, one in which we ate dinner which was quite nice. Overall a decent place to stay when visiting Monterey.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank overmarsirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.7 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.3 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,459 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,820 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
2.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lone Oak Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Oak Lodge

Property: Lone Oak Lodge
Address: 2221 Fremont St, Near Della Vina Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940-5499
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lone Oak Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time with this traditional American style motor lodge where comfort, cleanliness and customer service is our hallmark. At the Lone Oak Lodge you are only minutes away from all the sights and sounds of the enchanting Monterey Peninsula. With its modest rates, variety of accommodations and family atmosphere the Lone Oak Lodge will quickly become your home away from home. Featuring family cottages, single rooms, double rooms and king Jacuzzi suites with fireplaces; the Lone Oak is hard to beat. We offer plenty of free on site parking, free Wifi, digital cable channels and a separate indoor Jacuzzi room with a dry sauna and exercise equipment. We also have a scuba diver rinse section as well as an outdoor barbeque area with fire pit. For the business traveler's we offer a 350 square foot Business & Conference Center which will accommodate up to 15 people. (Please contact the front desk to book your meeting during your stay). So take a step back in time and come relax with us here in beautiful Monterey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Lone Oak Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lone Oak Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing