We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Noisy Hotel...Don't Stay Here”
Review of Lone Oak Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lone Oak Lodge
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Noisy Hotel...Don't Stay Here”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at The Lone Oak Lodge this past week and sorry to say we will never stay there again nor will we recommend it. Though the room was clean and acceptable the clientele was noisy, rude and inconsiderate. Lots of party groups hanging around with their doors open and talking loudly. We were woken up at 11:30pm the last evening by drunken patrons next door. The management was unavailable since the office closed at 11:00PM so we had no one to complain too. In addition our phone was broken though it appeared to be plugged in properly. Maybe this was a freak incident but I wouldn't take a chance. Not the best neighborhood either. Its amazing. We have stayed in lots of hotel and motels over the years and this was our worst experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rrdesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Please accept my most sincere apology for the guests rude behavior. Normally, it's very quiet here at night. It was not a party group, they were employees of a communication firm, working in the area. We do not tolerate this kind of behavior here and they were told to find other accommodations. Hopefully, next time your are in the area, you will give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    331
    66
    13
    14
See reviews for
312
417
50
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nice
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Nice, large and CLEAN room. Service is friendly and efficient.
WiFi was VERY slow at night, much better in the morning (too many people using it without QoS ?)
Ok, it's not in the lovely part of Monterey (there are some places seaside), but the price is good.
Excellent value overall, would recommend without a doubt.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank More_Majorum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you so much for the nice review! I also now know what a QoS is.

Hope to see you again soon.

Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I used this motel as a stopover between San Francisco & Los Angeles. I picked this particular place as it slept 3 which was exactly what we needed, there is also a Spa/Jacuzzi in the same motel but never got a chance to use it! Clean, quiet and great as a stopover if you're planning a similar route.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4mHere2There
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This motel is close to all of the Peninsula's attractions yet far enough away to avoid the noise and high prices. Our room was fairly large and very clean. Parking was right in front of the door as this is a one story motel. Nothing extravagant, just a nice clean place to stay. The front desk was very friendly and helpful with directions to different attractions. The Lone Oak brought back memories of travel several decades ago. In a good way.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesertWink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind review, I'll pass it along to the staff.

Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We had the unfortunate luck of planning our weekend getaway during the Monterey Concourse, which I had no clue about. Apparently it's a car event for people who have more money than sense. Anyways, so this is a big deal that allows every lodging place in the area to charge rates that can only be described as "highway robbery." Lone Oak was the only place I could find that wasn't a crackhouse and charged under $200 (just barely.)

Pros:
Large rooms. Two huge king-size beds in separate rooms with giant walk-in closets. Rooms were clean, place was quiet, good customer service.

Cons:
Strong musty smell. Place is incredibly dated (save for the flat-screen tvs.) I mean, I understand that this is really a no-frills kind of place, but it really is quite run-down. Also, you're not really within walking distance of anything, so be prepared to drive to restaurants (unless you're ok with Denny's), entertainment, or anything else.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Hagop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Ouch Modesto! Now you have done it, you have hurt my feelings! This review is meant to be mean spirited and I'm not sure why? I take exception, the Lone Oak is not run down, we maintain the grounds and rooms constantly. The room could not have smelled musty, is was cleaned mid morning before your arrival. There was a guest occupying that room over the Concourse for 4 nights, ( who comes every year I might add ) prior to your arrival. Rooms only smell musty when they are unoccupied for a length of time, which ours rarely are. You paid 129.00 plus tax. Far less than 200.00. You are right, we do not have many frills. We feel that keeping the room rate reasonable is more important to people than frills, especially in this economy. Every time you add an amenity it costs money, which translates to higher room rates. Many people absolutely adore the Concourse, it's an annual event that is spectacular and draws Auto enthusiasts from all over the United States and beyond. While a so called "Crack-house" may be commonplace in Modesto, we do not have them in Monterey, Carmel or Pebble Beach.

Respectfully,

Lori Bauer
Manager/Lone Oak Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We only stayed here one night on our trip up Highway 1 but would recommend it. We had a family room which consisted of two bedrooms and a Kitchen and a bathroom. All big in area and very clean and well looked after. The sleep was good and very little noise outside which is always a plus.
Its only about a 2 mile away from the Cannery Row area but it is a car journey.
The only down side for me was the receptionist . Not friendly at all on check in and it was as if i was asking to stay in her house ! Maybe she owns it as i'm sure a smile on the front desk and it would be worth a 5 star !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toon_ada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for the nice comment about our Cottage room. The person you are speaking of, is one of the sweetest ladies in the whole wide world. She must have had a not so perfect day. Sure you have experienced that yourself from time to time. Thanks for staying at the Lone Oak and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walkersville, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Our stay was Thursday-Sat....checkin 2pm checkout 12noon.Friendly checkin.Nice rooms and clean.Charming flowers in and outside of room.Qiet at night.good rates.Nice little fitness room with sauna&hot tub.We would stay again.close to everything.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twixcandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,294 reviews
2.7 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
1,965 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lone Oak Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Oak Lodge

Property: Lone Oak Lodge
Address: 2221 Fremont St, Near Della Vina Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940-5499
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lone Oak Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time with this traditional American style motor lodge where comfort, cleanliness and customer service is our hallmark. At the Lone Oak Lodge you are only minutes away from all the sights and sounds of the enchanting Monterey Peninsula. With its modest rates, variety of accommodations and family atmosphere the Lone Oak Lodge will quickly become your home away from home. Featuring family cottages, single rooms, double rooms and king Jacuzzi suites with fireplaces; the Lone Oak is hard to beat. We offer plenty of free on site parking, free Wifi, digital cable channels and a separate indoor Jacuzzi room with a dry sauna and exercise equipment. We also have a scuba diver rinse section as well as an outdoor barbeque area with fire pit. For the business traveler's we offer a 350 square foot Business & Conference Center which will accommodate up to 15 people. (Please contact the front desk to book your meeting during your stay). So take a step back in time and come relax with us here in beautiful Monterey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Lone Oak Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lone Oak Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing