We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Ranked #39 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Vienna, VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

I recently drove from San Francisco to LA via the Pacific Coast Highway with my two teenaged children, and this was our first stop along the way after a couple of days in SF. Our room was spacious and clean, and the staff was very nice. The room was a good value, too -- the least-expensive of our trip. The only reason I give it four circles rather than five has to do with the breakfast, which didn't offer much variety or healthy options (basically, a couple sugary cereals, some danish and muffins, white bread, two types of jam, peanut butter, and juice or coffee). Enough to get started, but most motels that offer breakfast have a greater number of options. That said, I would gladly stay there again. Well done, Red Roof Inn!

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor, away from the street. I'd recommend both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Vienna,

We are very delighted to hear that you wanted to share your experience staying with us. My staff and I always go out of our way to make our guests happy and give them whatever they need. We always want to retain our old guests and attract new ones. We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our clean and spacious rooms. Please do refer us to your friends and family and we really do hope to see you again in the future. Also, next time do book with us directly or through redroofinnmonterey.com. By booking with us directly, your reservations are always safe and secure.

Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    109
    76
    30
    30
See reviews for
118
133
35
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearfield, Utah
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We selected this hotel because of the reviews. Do not get room 226. It is very small, faces the Main Street to PCH 1. The mattress was as hard as a rock. Morning traffic at 5:30 AM woke us up and it did not slow down. TV did not get any local channels, so no ABC NBC or CBS, Cartoon and ESPN, TBS were about it. After 2 days of 8 hours on the road, it made it for a long evening. We like watching the Today show in the morning. The manager came to our room but said it was the cable company and could not fix it. We had our iPads so we thought we would use them since there was I room wifi, the wifi was so slow you could not watch anything. We have not had wifi problems at any other hotel and we had been traveling 8 days. Not again for us.

Room Tip: Do not get room 226.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Rosa,

We are glad to hear that you wanted to share your experience with us based on your stay. First of all, my staff and I personally want to apologize that your stay did not go as well as you had planned. We always want our guests to have an amazing experience, and we deeply regret we could not fulfill that for you. We definitely will make the right adjustments to fix these issues, so we really do hope to see you again, because I promise that your stay will be better the next time around.

Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
2 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

The red roof inn in Monterey has quite spacious rooms, with excellent service and kindness from the people working there. We brought our family of five, plus a dog. Don't trust any of the bad reviews on here. We brought our black lab, and we were perfectly content with the room and bathroom designated for us. Breakfast was a tad disappointing, but you get what you pay for. I would recommend this for families who need more space than the usual hotel rooms.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lechiendenoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear that you wanted to share your experience with us based on your stay. Feedback from our guests is always a great thing to have, because it shows us how we are treating our guests and how we give great customer service. We always want to make a positive affect on our guests, so that they always return in the future. We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy your spacious room with your pet as well. Please refer us to your friends and family and we really hope to see you again in the future. Also, next time do book with us directly or through redroofinnmonterey.com. By booking with us directly, your reservations are always safe and secure.

Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiddletown, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

When my travel department let me down at the last minute on a recent business stay this staff came to the rescue without missing a beat. Wonderful hospitality and great rooms with all necessities in fine order. Wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Monterey.

Room Tip: All rooms are well insulated and rooms on the ground floor are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Katie,

We are very excited to hear the great feedback you were able to provide based on your experience staying with us. We always want to be there for our guests, whenever they have any issues, or whenever they have any questions. We are glad to hear that we were there to fulfill your needs after the problem that you had incurred. Please refer us to your friends and family and we really do hope to see you again in the future. Also, next time do book with us directly or through redroofinnmonterey.com. By booking with us directly, your reservations are always safe and secure.


Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INDIO
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

First of all, the staff here was the best...very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable and the AC worked very well. This location is great for getting to anywhere on the Monterey peninsula and surrounding area. Our room was on the ground floor right in front and we heard very little traffic noise. My recommendation is, "stay here".

Room Tip: 111 is close to parking and lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAMES A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear James,

We are very delighted to hear the great feedback you were able to provide based on your experience staying with us. We always want to provide the best guest service, so that our guests can see how hard my staff and I work to make sure each guest is satisfied with their stay. We are happy to hear you were able to enjoy the beautiful city of Monterey, and we are glad to hear you were able to enjoy your room as well. Please refer us to your friends and family and we really do hope to see you again in the future. Also, next time do book with us directly or through redroofinnmonterey.com. By booking with us directly, your reservations are always safe and secure.

Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Lovely clean room, very spacious. Booked in for 1 night to go whale watching so arrived late and left early. Given a ground floor room which was good for heavy luggage. Modern looking décor, very comfortable and clean beds. Breakfast in reception, toast, cereal, etc. Lovely hotel would stay there again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackky98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate the lovely feedback that you have given us based on your experience. We always want our guests to enjoy their stay in the best way possible and that is from clean and comfortable rooms to great service which is what my staff and I always provide. We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy your outdoor activities and come back for a comfortable stay. We are also glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our delicious continental breakfast. Please do refer us to your friends and family. We really do hope to see you again in the future. Also, next time do book with us directly or through redroofinnmonterey.com. By booking with us directly, your reservations are always safe and secure.

Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I wouldn't stay in this place for more then 1 night.
The room is basic and clean. The location is far from the attraction of Monterey (like most of the motels) but if you have your car with you its not an issue. No laundry facilities in the motel but there is one 2 min walking

The breakfast is really narrow and after staying in different motels that one was the poorest.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are happy to hear your feedback based on your experience staying with us. We always value what our guests have to say based on their experience so we can make any adjustments that are needed. We want to make any changes that we can to make our guests happy. We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our clean rooms. We do want to make your stay much more comfortable in the future, so we really do hope to see you again.

Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
2.1 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#38 of 55 in Monterey
124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#25 of 55 in Monterey
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#53 of 55 in Monterey
61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Monterey
Super 8 Monterey
#36 of 55 in Monterey
675 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Castell Motel
El Castell Motel
#24 of 55 in Monterey
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey

Property: Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Address: 2227 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5404 (Formerly America's Best Value Inn & Suites - Cypress Tree Inn)
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey is non-smoking and conveniently located near Highway 1, 68 and 218 near the juncture of Monterey, Seaside and Del Rey Oaks. Less than 5 miles away from Monterey Fairgrounds and the beach, it's easy for our guest to enjoy major events and the California sun. Drive a little further and you can visit the famous Fisherman's Warf as well as Cannery Row; where you can enjoy shopping, fine dining, entertainment and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. For the adventurous type, only 15 minutes away, you can visit Pebble Beach and the renowned 17-Mile Drive. Enjoy gourmet restaurants, shopping and multiple golf courses along the ocean. you can also visit numerous missions and historic monuments around the area. Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey is ideal during major seasonal events such as; the Monterey Jazz Festival, Monterey Auto Week, the Big Sur International marathon, and Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca. our location is convenient for all events, and we offer great deals on advance bookings along with ample parking for a variety of vehicle sizes. Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey is non-smoking and has 55 rooms ranging from standard accommodations to suites. All rooms feature free WiFi, a 32" LED TV, a microwave, refrigerator, In-Room Coffee, a hair dryer, and an iron & ironing board. Enjoy quality time with the family in one of our 2 Family Suites offering 2 king sized beds, a jetted spa tub, a living area with a fireplace and two 32" LED TV's. We also offer a seasonal continental breakfast, primarily during the summer months. Experience our complimentary coffee and tea in the Lobby. We also offer an on-site snack machine, soda machine and ice machine and feature a cafe shop conveniently located on our lot. The Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey has ample parking able to accommodate any size vehicle. We also have an on-site RV Park which includes hook-ups ranging from electric 120v line, water, cable and septic station for all RV guests. We can accommodate RV sizes ranging anywhere from10'-60'. One family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Value Inn And Suites - Cypress Tree Inn
America`s Best Value Inn & Suites - Cypress Tree Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing