We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We've been on the road 5 days. This has been the nicest room so far.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Ranked #40 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Been on the road 5 days. Nicest place we've stayed so far. Nice rooms and friendly service. The proprietor obviously takes pride in the establishment and isn't afraid to spend some money to keep it up. That being said, it is one of the most affordable places in Monterey.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mtsls730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

First off, I'd like to thank you for making us one your choices along your road trip. It means a lot to us when our guests can tell us about their experience here at the Red Roof Inn, Monterey. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and also that you noticed the work we have been putting into the property for the last several months. If you ever come by Monterey again, we would love for you to stay with us. Please don't hesitate to give us a call prior to coming in and we will gladly take care of you. Until then happy travels and drive safe! Thanks again!

Regards,

Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

314 - 320 of 445 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

Nice and clean room. Very comfortable bed. The room looks like it has been renovated lately, new furniture and stone floor in the bath.
The only thing I didn't like were the thin walls... We could hear our neighbors chatting.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobsn_zh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Guest:
Your comments are appreciated regarding your stay at the Monterey Red Roof Inn. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experience our guests have at our hotel.
We'll sure look at your concern, and will work on it rectify it...
I’ll share your comments with rest of our team members. Positive feedback is always an encouragement for all of us, as we strive towards the quality and standard of our service.
We hope to see you again in your next visit to Monterey!
Again, thank you for sharing your experience with us. We will do our absolute best to make your next stay as pleasant as possible, and it will be better than before!
Sincerely,
Neil (G.M.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Me my fiancee and our one year old took a trip to monterey may 3,4,5. We stayed at another hotel on the 3rd which was very small and plain. On the night of the 4th we stayed at red roof cypress tree. We were very happy with the room here. it was very spacious well kept and clean. There was a ton of room for out child to run around. The room came with a fireplace and a large balcony. Neil, the manager was very nice and even let us check in early because we were going to visit the aquarium at 1 pm. Overall a very great stay and we will definitely stay again when we visit monterey.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbertoldi79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Guest:

Your comments are so much appreciated for awesome “Perfect” review. I guess we really couldn't ask for much more! It means a tremendous amount of pleasure to our team when we receive such praise.
We strive to create an awesome place to stay when visiting Monterey. Considering all of the competition we have from all brands motels, we are working hard to create unique, high quality, best value accommodations for folks coming to Monterey.
We hope to see you again in your next visit to Monterey!
We certainly hope you spread the word and share your experience with others to come to stay with us.
Sincerely,
Neil (G.M.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our honeymoon and as soon as we walked in the office the staff was very friendly. I had book the room online and there was no trouble on the staff finding my booking! Also when we said we were here on our honeymoon the owner was soo nice that she even upgrated our room to a bigger one with a fireplace and its own valcony! The room was very clean , the bed was soft and all the electronics worked! Overall the redroof in montereyits an awesome place to stay because it has high quality for a reasonable price! But the big plus was the professionalism and great customer service provided by the owner and staff! It doesnt make u feel like any other hotel, they actually care and want to see every guess have a great experience and stay! So thank you guys at the monterey red roof inn for making our stay fantastic! We will definitely stay here again next time we visit monterey!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmramirez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Guest:

I'm truly appreciated for taking out your precious time by doing, "THE PERFECT" review for us! It's Awesome!!!, and tremendous amount of pleasure for my entire staff by hearing such a great praise.
We strive to create an awesome place to stay when visiting Monterey. Considering all of the competition we have from all brands motels, we are working hard to create unique, high quality, best value accommodations for folks coming to Monterey.
I’ll share your comments with rest of our team members. Positive feedback is always an encouragement for all of us, as we strive towards the quality and standard of our service.
We certainly hope you spread the word and share your experience with others to come to stay with us.
Sincerely,
Neil (G.M.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Arrived late, had an easy check-in by the nice owner.
Got a fresh large room with TV, free WiFi, breakfast, microwaveoven, fridge...in short words, very priceworthy!
The WiFi did not work so good in the evening, but in the morning it was ok again for some reason.
We would stay here again and can recommend it.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank pederoxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Guest:

I appreciated your business and time for doing a review for us. You feedback is always helpful to others as well as us to improve the quality of service that we provide to our guests.
Sorry for the internet issue you had during evening and started working again next day after resiting it. No excuse for it but sometime DSL won't perform as our expectation. We'll make sure that it won't be repeated in future or other guests.
Again, thank you for sharing your experience with us. We will do our absolute best to make your next stay as pleasant as possible, and it will be better than before!

Sincerely,
Neil (G.M.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Very happy and will be back to stay there. The staff very helpful I needed a cab and they helped. And its close to downtown. It was nice and didn't have any problems with the room smelling. Thats was my real concern that they say no smoking and you check in and the room smells nasty. Well it didn't smell nasty. It is was nice and clean. Hope to be back very soon .

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilberto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Dear Gilberto:

WOW!!! It's so nice, and tremendous amount of pleasure for us by a "PERFECT" review from you. I must take a pride for your comments. Our efforts are to provide a best comfort to our guests, and we trying our level best for their satisfaction.
Your time, efforts and kind words are truly appreciated!
I’ll share your comments with rest of our team members. Positive feedback is always an encouragement for all of us, as we strive towards the quality and standard of our service.
We certainly hope you spread the word and share your experience with others to come to stay with us.
Sincerely,
Neil (G.M.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Went down here to do the Big Sur Marathon. I was very impressed here! Very nice setup; even had an office space! well lit, good customer service Id come back here again in a heartbeat! It is in an ideal location too with a lot of good restaurants just minutes away from downtown monterey without the hassle of the busy streets

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renahanman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Guest:

I'm very pleased and truly appreciated for your positive review. . It's "AWESOME" and tremendous amount of pleasure for us. Your comfort is our number one priority.
We strive to create an awesome place to stay when visiting Monterey. Considering all of the competition we have from all brands motels, we are working hard to create unique, high quality, best value accommodations for folks coming to Monterey.
We hope to see you again in your next visit to Monterey!
We certainly hope you spread the word and share your experience with others to come to stay with us.
Sincerely,
Neil (G.M.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.1 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#39 of 56 in Monterey
140 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.0 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#27 of 56 in Monterey
191 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.2 mi away
El Castell Motel
El Castell Motel
#22 of 56 in Monterey
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey

Address: 2227 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5404 (Formerly America's Best Value Inn & Suites - Cypress Tree Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Monterey
#4 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $68 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey is non-smoking and conveniently located near Highway 1, 68 and 218 near the juncture of Monterey, Seaside and Del Rey Oaks. Less than 5 miles away from Monterey Fairgrounds and the beach, it's easy for our guest to enjoy major events and the California sun. Drive a little further and you can visit the famous Fisherman's Warf as well as Cannery Row; where you can enjoy shopping, fine dining, entertainment and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. For the adventurous type, only 15 minutes away, you can visit Pebble Beach and the renowned 17-Mile Drive. Enjoy gourmet restaurants, shopping and multiple golf courses along the ocean. you can also visit numerous missions and historic monuments around the area. Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey is ideal during major seasonal events such as; the Monterey Jazz Festival, Monterey Auto Week, the Big Sur International marathon, and Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca. our location is convenient for all events, and we offer great deals on advance bookings along with ample parking for a variety of vehicle sizes. Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey is non-smoking and has 55 rooms ranging from standard accommodations to suites. All rooms feature free WiFi, a 32" LED TV, a microwave, refrigerator, In-Room Coffee, a hair dryer, and an iron & ironing board. Enjoy quality time with the family in one of our 2 Family Suites offering 2 king sized beds, jetted spa tub a living area with a fireplace and two 32" LED TV's. We also offer a seasonal continental breakfast, primarily during the summer months. Experience our complimentary coffee and tea in the Lobby. We also offer an on-site snack machine, soda machine and ice machine and feature a cafe shop conveniently located on our lot. The Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey has ample parking able to accommodate any size vehicle. We also have an on-site RV Park which includes hook-ups ranging from electric 120v line, water, cable and septic station for all RV guests. We can accommodate RV sizes ranging anywhere from 10'-60'. One family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Value Inn And Suites - Cypress Tree Inn
America`s Best Value Inn & Suites - Cypress Tree Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing