We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the suite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Ranked #38 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We payed a little extra, which was still cheap, for the room with the jacuzzi and fireplace and it was well worth it. The suite had a TV in bedroom and jacuzzi room. Free breakfast in the morning. Neil was extremely nice and helpful to make sure our stay was perfect.

Room Tip: room 110 has the jacuzzi and fireplace in the back. We did not hear any noise it was really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Your comments are appreciated regarding your stay at the Monterey Red Roof Inn. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experience our guests have at our hotel.
I’ll share your comments with rest of our team members. Positive feedback is always an encouragement for all of us, as we strive towards the quality and standard of our service.
Again, thank you for sharing your experience with us. We will do our best to make your next stay with us as pleasant as possible as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Neil (G.M.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

368 - 374 of 455 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

I am very particular about travel accommodations. I have to find a very clean, quiet hotel with great prices and friendly people......Red Roof Inn Monterey passes the test. I have stayed here several times while working in the area and I will not stay anywhere else. Most rooms for this price don't have a refrigerator and microwave and everything is extremely clean. The staff here is very friendly and accommodating. This hotel was recommended to me and I pass the recommendation on to everyone. Thanks to Neil and his great staff.

Jack Larsen

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Your comments are appreciated regarding your stay at the Monterey Red Roof Inn. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experience our guests have at our hotel.
I’ll share your comments with rest of our team members. Positive feedback is always an encouragement for all of us, as we strive towards the quality and standard of our service.
Again, thank you for sharing your experience with us. We will do our best to make your next stay with us as pleasant as possible as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Neil (G.M.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with my family of 4 making our way down the coast from San Fransisco to LA. Originally was only going to be a 2 night stay but once we saw the room, location and knew the price we extended another night. Stayed on the basis of Trip Advisor recommendations and was not disappointed. Well equipped rooms, comfortable beds, nice large bathroom and quiet rooms. Handy location as well just a few minutes by car from safeway and good places to eat. Breakfast was included but was seasonal and limited. The fitout was new and tasteful. The price was very competitive as well. Would definitely stay again if we pass that way.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Guest:

I appreciate the comments regarding your stay with us. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experience our guests have at our hotel.
Your feedback is always an encouragement to all of us!
Thank you again for sharing your experience. We always look forward to serve you in your next visit and will do our best to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Neil Prabhu (G.M.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I found this hotel searching for a pet friendly place. Neil at the front desk was very nice, the room was clean and had a fridge, microwave, and coffee. After I was on the road about a couple of hours I realized I forgot my pillow! I have a sensitive neck and just got my special pillow! I had no cell service till the next morning. I called and Neil said he would look for it and call me back. He called a couple hours later letting me know he found my pillow and would mail it to me! I have forgotten thing at higher end hotels and never had anyone even offer to try to find my stuff! Neil made my day! They are great and I would stay there again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dalina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Guest:

I appreciate the comments regarding your stay with us. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experience our guests have at our hotel.
Your feedback is always an encouragement to all of us!
Thank you again for sharing your experience. We always look forward to serve you in your next visit and will do our best to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Neil Prabhu (G.M.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I checked in somewhat late at night and Maria, at the front desk, was extremely helpful and kind! The room was very clean and comfortable. In the morning, the manager was very warm and friendly. I would happily stay here again and recommend it.

Room Tip: Request a room that doesn't have an adjoining door. I heard a very detailed conversations betwee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurenR87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I can't say enough good things about our stay at this Red Roof Inn. Maria and the management we're very friendly and helpful . Their #1 priority was to make sure our stay was pleasant. We will deffinately stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I originally found this motel when searching for ‘pet friendly’ lodging in Monterey. Their website advertised a ‘stay two get three’ special when booked online but when bringing a pet you must call them for the reservation to ensure they have a dog designated room available for your stay. I called and talked with Neil and he promised me the special rate, and I did get that rate when I arrived. This is an older motel but they advertise that they have been recently renovated. Our room was on the second floor in the building in the back and we found it clean and quite comfortable and surprisingly very quiet since it sets back quite a ways from the street. Previous reviews stated that the rooms were small and the online pictures showed as much so I booked a double queen room and very glad I did. Two adults with suitcases and one medium size dog with her bed, food/water bowls, and toys would have been nearly impossible in a single king room. We were here in the off-season so the motel had few guests and the pool and hot tub were closed. The only complaint I have is that there is no place within the motel complex to ‘walk’ the dogs and you have to leave the motel and walk at least to the end of the block where there is a vacant lot. There is a small grassy area in the front area of the motel but there are signs everywhere that walking of dogs is prohibited. This didn’t cause a huge problem for us except late at night when the dog needs the last walk before bedtime. This is a no frills motel and they advertise that aspect, but I was pleasantly surprised with the quality bath towels, bedding and comfy pillows. The cable TV had a vast selection of channels which included all of our favorites. They provide all the standard amenities; coffee maker, refrigerator, hair dryer, etc. So I’m giving this motel a 5 star rating, not because it compares with Star Alliance hotels but because it offers a clean, comfortable, quiet environment with adequate amenities at a very reasonable rate. We stayed four nights for a total bill of $217. That’s a starting nightly rate for many hotels/motels in this area. And there are NO ADDITONAL PET FEES! Oh and one more thing, there are a several decent restaurants, two quick marts and a CVS within a two block radius. We dined two nights at the Monterey Cookhouse just up the street and enjoyed the food and atmosphere. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank H&H-Hacienda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
2.1 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#40 of 56 in Monterey
155 reviews
0 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Lodge
Monterey Bay Lodge
#30 of 56 in Monterey
571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#24 of 56 in Monterey
234 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey

Address: 2227 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5404 (Formerly America's Best Value Inn & Suites - Cypress Tree Inn)
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $63 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey is non-smoking and has 55 rooms ranging from standard accommodations to suites. All rooms feature free WiFi, a 32" LED TV, a microwave, refrigerator, In-Room Coffee, a hair dryer, and an iron & ironing board. Enjoy quality time with the family in one of our 2 Family Suites offering 2 king sized beds, jetted spa tub a living area with a fireplace and two 32" LED TV's. Experience our complimentary coffee and tea in the Lobby. We also offer an on-site snack machine, soda machine and ice machine and feature a cafe shop conveniently located on our lot. The Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey has ample parking able to accommodate any size vehicle. We also have an on-site RV Park which includes hook-ups ranging from electric 120v line, water, cable and septic station for all RV guests. We can accommodate RV sizes ranging anywhere from 10'-60'. One family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Value Inn And Suites - Cypress Tree Inn
America`s Best Value Inn & Suites - Cypress Tree Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing