We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much Improved Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Ranked #40 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This motel is nicely renovated, quiet and comfortable with good beds and nice big LED TV. The lady at the front desk, Maria, is very sweet and accomodating. She know what customer service is. Red Roof is one of the only chains that don't charge extra for pets which we much appreciate since our dog is cleaner than most people and we resent having to pay $10 to $30 extra for him.

Room Tip: Book on line with all the discounts.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Footloosegypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

374 - 380 of 444 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a simple motel along a street full of motels. It is well-run, with efficient check-in and check-out. The room wasn't in perfect shape, but it was appropriate for the cost, and everything worked.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband and I have been coming here for 4 years now. I have to say this is a huge improvement over what it used to be. I remember we came here last year in July and this place was worn down. I didn't realize they had gone through renovation! It is much nicer and cleaner than it used to be. The eighties looking pictures are definitely outdated. Our room looked really nice and we even had flat screen TV. The only thing I wish we had was an AC because it got a little warm in our room. But I'm not complaining, we had a good time and plan on coming back in December for Christmas!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I was in Monterey to play golf at and decided to stay overnight so i drove up and down Fremont street. I pulled into the Red Roof, i was a bit skeptical since i have never stayed there. The attendant who checked me was very courteous and helpful. I was pleasantly surprised when i checked into my room. The room was spacious and clean. The internet was very fast as well. I strongly recommend this place. I will plan to stay there anytime i get to Monterey. it was a wonderful experience and I strongly recommend the Red Roof Inn to anyone looking for value in the Monterey area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gdakwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

O.K. let me begin by saying this wasn't my first time staying at the Cypress Tree Inn but it was my first time since the remodeling. Now, call me weird but I liked the look that the inn had before it's makeover. It had this quaint 1950's feel to it that was somewhat Sinatra. It was never run down and always clean. That begin said, The look of the new inn is fresh, hip and neo. The Inn's manager, Nell made me feel like an old friend coming to visit for a couple of days more than a customer. This is the type of place I have recommended to my family and friends.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bnathan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

the hotel was clean and tidy
staff were excellent
ideal position
park your car and is a nice walk to the habour with no parking charges
wish we could have stayed longer there, will do on the next visit to the usa

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 20JAMES20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed in room 116 on 09/28/12 at the Red Roof Inn in Monterey. The room was very clean and spacious. The staff was extremely helpful and nice! The location is a little off from the beach, but easy driving distance. There are a lot of restaurants on the road the Red Roof is located, which was convenient! I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barakah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.1 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#38 of 56 in Monterey
139 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.0 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#26 of 56 in Monterey
190 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.2 mi away
El Castell Motel
El Castell Motel
#22 of 56 in Monterey
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey

Address: 2227 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5404 (Formerly America's Best Value Inn & Suites - Cypress Tree Inn)
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Monterey
#4 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $68 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey is non-smoking and conveniently located near Highway 1, 68 and 218 near the juncture of Monterey, Seaside and Del Rey Oaks. Less than 5 miles away from Monterey Fairgrounds and the beach, it's easy for our guest to enjoy major events and the California sun. Drive a little further and you can visit the famous Fisherman's Warf as well as Cannery Row; where you can enjoy shopping, fine dining, entertainment and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. For the adventurous type, only 15 minutes away, you can visit Pebble Beach and the renowned 17-Mile Drive. Enjoy gourmet restaurants, shopping and multiple golf courses along the ocean. you can also visit numerous missions and historic monuments around the area. Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey is ideal during major seasonal events such as; the Monterey Jazz Festival, Monterey Auto Week, the Big Sur International marathon, and Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca. our location is convenient for all events, and we offer great deals on advance bookings along with ample parking for a variety of vehicle sizes. Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey is non-smoking and has 55 rooms ranging from standard accommodations to suites. All rooms feature free WiFi, a 32" LED TV, a microwave, refrigerator, In-Room Coffee, a hair dryer, and an iron & ironing board. Enjoy quality time with the family in one of our 2 Family Suites offering 2 king sized beds, jetted spa tub a living area with a fireplace and two 32" LED TV's. We also offer a seasonal continental breakfast, primarily during the summer months. Experience our complimentary coffee and tea in the Lobby. We also offer an on-site snack machine, soda machine and ice machine and feature a cafe shop conveniently located on our lot. The Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey has ample parking able to accommodate any size vehicle. We also have an on-site RV Park which includes hook-ups ranging from electric 120v line, water, cable and septic station for all RV guests. We can accommodate RV sizes ranging anywhere from 10'-60'. One family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Value Inn And Suites - Cypress Tree Inn
America`s Best Value Inn & Suites - Cypress Tree Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing