We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (613)
Filter reviews
613 results
Traveler rating
205
250
102
25
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
250
102
25
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bagels continental breakfast fisherman's wharf colton hall cannery row dvd player short walk to downtown tea coffee reception area alvarado street motel style fridge and microwave bars and restaurants hard boiled eggs free trolley room was large stayed nights
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 613 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2018

Lovely spacious room amazing comfy bed. Breakfast is help yourself in the reception area which you can take back to your room. Enough choice to keep you going for the day. Arrived early and they let us leave the car in the car park. Location is idea short walk into the main area. Visited the aquarium which is a must if staying in Monterey. Only here for the 1 night but would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen R, General Manager at Colton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Linda,
It was a joy having you stay here. We hope you can stay a little longer next time, please call us direct and we'll be happy to assist you, have a great day :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2018

I am treated like family when I return to stay at here. They have helped me to feel comfortable and the breakfast is so convenient. When the Bridge was closed for so long in Big Sur I had a cozy place to stay. Love having a fireplace. Several times I stayed there after medical procedures and I was very comfortable.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank pamschubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen R, General Manager at Colton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Pam, it's always great to see you. I'm glad we were able to connect with the Big Sur community when they needed help during the Sobranes fire. Glad you keep coming back since then, have a great day :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile

Lovely place to stay with spacious and clean rooms. We very much enjoyed our stay at Colton Inn.

Baylie, thank you for making our stay at Colton Inn more pleasant by providing us with the best advice on where to go and how to continue our road trip through The States. We very much appreciated your help! We would definitely stay at Colton Inn again.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Fanqin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen R, General Manager at Colton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Fanqin,
Thank you for your kind words and to give Baylie props for her costumer service. She is new and is doing a great job, thank you for recognizing that. We hope to see you again. Have a great day :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Colton Inn while we were driving down the PCH. We didn’t know what to expect as we’d never been to Monterey before. We arrived at the Colton & were greeted by a lovely lady on reception, the room wasn’t ready-we we’re early- but she let us park up- so we walked into Monterey. The walk is just lovely, about 20 minutes. When we arrived back another lovely lady checked us in. Room was lovely, spacious & clean. The decor is a bit ‘old world’ but it fits Monterey perfectly. Went & asked reception advice on Monterey & they were just wonderful, nicest staff we came across on our California trip! Beds were comfortable, our only issue was noise from the toilets above but that didn’t effect our sleep too much. Breakfast was much better than I expected from reviews with lots to eat, which I took back to our room on a little tray which was great.

We certainly wish we could have stayed longer in Monterey and at the Colton! We loved every minute & it was on the top of our list highlights when it was actually just a stop over. What a fantastic place! Thank you Colton Inn & a special thank you to the 3 awesome ladies we encountered in reception.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Becca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen R, General Manager at Colton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Becca,
How wonderful of you to let everyone know how great your stay was. This is what we are known for, welcoming and assist our guests where we can. Thank you for allowing us to help you. We sure hope you will be back and stay maybe a little longer and explore some more in this area. Wishing you a wonderful day! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2018

Ellen at the front desk was very kind, knowledgeable, and accommodating when we arrived last minute without a reservation. She accommodated our family beautifully and knew the area very well. She was a great help to us newcomers and the hotel was very clean, comfortable, and in a great quiet neighborhood easily walkable to pretty Monterey downtown! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
Thank EriW1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen R, General Manager at Colton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

Hi Erika,
Thank you so much for your kind words, it was a joy having you and your family here. I hope the next time you will be able to stay a little longer and take advantage of everything this area has to offer. I wish you safe travels and hope to see you here again when you are in the Monterey area. Have a great day! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews