We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Colton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colton Inn
Ranked #34 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Big Bear Lake, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Convenient Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

This hotel is located right at the edge of their main Town. Alvarado street (which is their Main Street) is only two blocks away, about a 5 minute walk and there are loads of restaurants for breakfast, lunch or dinner. About a 15-20 walk to the end of Alvarado Street and look to your left, you'll be at Fisherman's Whaft. Colton Inn does have a small Continental breaks until 10:30 am and cookies during the day. The rooms are no 5 star hotel, but it's clean, nice and it has its own microwave, and refrigerator, which is always a plus for me. When we got there, out TV wasn't working. With two 14 year old girls, we called the front desk and Cindy was the friendliest and most accommodating host and had us move one room over. I would definitely stay here again on my next visit to Monterey.

Room Tip: Our original room had a large couch and very roomy. (Loved it, but the TV was inoperative) From mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnold T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    203
    89
    23
    28
See reviews for
172
206
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We chose it as a motel on the way from LA to SF, and were surprised of finding something quite nice and well provided. The rooms are big, clean and comfortable. The staff was extremely kind and helpful. Cindy gave me the most quiet possible room, as per requested, but in any case, the place is not noisy at all. It is within walking distance to the dinning area of the city and the harbour, and in a safe neighborhood.The price was very reasonable. The breakfast is a simple self service in the reception area, but well provided and good quality. There is a seating place to have the breakfast but it is outdoors, and during rainy or cold days cannot be used. The parking is free and spacious, and Internet free works well.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor not to have anyone walking on top. Most construction in all California is mad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARTHA91256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night on April 9th and found the hotel very nice and comfortable. The room was clean, staff cordial and helpful. Continental breakfast in the morning hit the spot. Recommend to stay there and if my travels take to Monterey again will do the same.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Daveclark007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bajersfiekd
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

It has a great location but it's aesthetics are not modern. Looks like a 70s era hotel started remodelling but stopped half way . Great service besides that and the parking sucks for trucks. It is very clean and even comes with a fireplace.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rickymc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Walking distance to great restaurants, wharf, Cannery Row (20 minute walk). Old historic Monterey just down the street.
John and Cindy are most welcoming and friendly, aiming to satisfy guest's requests;
mine being a quiet corner room. I stayed in 223 with a small balcony in the rear of the property. Only noise I heard was very distant barking of seals! The room was clean and spacious.
Loved the fresh fruit, cookies, tea and coffee at night and cereals, fruit and pastries in the morning.
Two huge benefits are free parking and wi-fi.
Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnitanurseOxnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed here a night, on our road trip from LA to SF. John on reception was very welcoming and friendly. Room was very spacious, big king bed, good bathroom, sitting area and a fire place. Close to town and good value for money. Had hundreds of dvds available to borrow from reception for a quiet night in as we were tired from travelling. Highly recommend to anyone having a stop over in Monterey!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurakate90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed here for one night on our road trip from San Francisco to L.A.
On check in we found the gentleman on reception to be very welcoming and friendly. He gave us ideas of what to see in the area plus ideas of where to eat.
Our room was well set out and roomy. We were on the ground level, so nice and easy for bringing our bags in from the car which was parked right out the front.
Breakfast in the morning was simple but filling. We collected what we wanted then took it back to our room to eat.
Location wise it was good. Not down on Cannery Row, but close enough to walk if you wanted.
We were more than happy with our choice to stay here and would have no problem recommending it to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Mariposa Inn and Suites
#32 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#18 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colton Inn

Property: Colton Inn
Address: 707 Pacific St, Monterey, CA 93940-2814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colton Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colton Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing