We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service”
Review of Colton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Colton Inn
Ranked #30 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing service”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We are a family who stayed at the Colton inn for one night, We had a good time, the rooms were clean and spacious, the beds comfortable and the staff was helpful and friendly. A few days after we had checked out a family member lost his jacket at the hotel. The hotel then sent us the jacket to the next hotel we were staying on on our roadtrip. We were very grateful for the great service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    220
    91
    23
    28
See reviews for
188
211
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Clean, good sized rooms. We stayed 4 nights. Close to fisherman's wharf, cannery row, and shopping area. We drove around the area, and out to Big Sur. Breakfast is included, but is a little wanting, and needed to be topped up with some good coffee just a short walk away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moondyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iver Heath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel is well worth staying at. Price was good for the location and the rooms were good. We certainly would stay here again on another visit. Quite location. Complentary basic breakfast is available though we did not use it, but it was okay. It is not out in the motel row as some are, so is moderately well placed if you decided to walk down to the main street and wharf area. Plenty of parking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The welcome on arrival was warm and friendly and the room was well presented and a good size. The motel is conveniently located a short walk from the center of Monterey (5-10 mins) and Cannery Row (20 mins). Our only issue was occasionally noise levels, the walls are not particularly well sound proofed but not such a big issue that we would be prevented from choosing this motel in the future. Arrangements for breakfast are unusual but the selection is perfectly adequate to get you going in the morning.
All in all we enjoyed our stay very much and would recommend the Colton Inn to anyone traveling on a budget.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook the main road and may be noisier, we had a room at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Major_Delays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Within walking distance of the wharf, great value at a government rate, very friendly check in, cookies and coffee. Room was clean if utilitarian, and quiet, so good for a business trip. Free parking and wireless.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAReviewer--CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We arrived at the Colton Inn around 9pm and was immediately welcomed with friendly and helpful service from a clerk named John. He explained this to us like places to eat in the area and things that the hotel had to offer like free movies, snacks like fruit and cookies, free parking, and free continental breakfast.

The cookies were GOOD and the breakfast was more than enough. The dvd list is extensive but we didn't take advantage of that.

The room that we were given was rather large. Did not expect that for the rate that we paid. And it's rather nice. A LOT of open space but a good amount of furniture too. Really nice. My one gripe with the room was that the toilet flushing system was rather weak.

The next morning another gentleman in the office helped us get a 2 days for the price of one deal for the aquarium. And just like John, he was pretty awesome too.

We had a lovely stay at the Colton Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two nights, Clean comfortable rooms and continental breakfast, There is a fire which is easily lit. No air conditioning but as the temp was mild we did not need it, short walk to the bars and shops

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripperBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.3 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#19 of 56 in Monterey
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
2.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 56 in Monterey
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colton Inn

Property: Colton Inn
Address: 707 Pacific St, Monterey, CA 93940-2814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colton Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Colton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colton Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing