We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for Monterey”
Review of Colton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colton Inn
Ranked #29 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The welcome on arrival was warm and friendly and the room was well presented and a good size. The motel is conveniently located a short walk from the center of Monterey (5-10 mins) and Cannery Row (20 mins). Our only issue was occasionally noise levels, the walls are not particularly well sound proofed but not such a big issue that we would be prevented from choosing this motel in the future. Arrangements for breakfast are unusual but the selection is perfectly adequate to get you going in the morning.
All in all we enjoyed our stay very much and would recommend the Colton Inn to anyone traveling on a budget.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook the main road and may be noisier, we had a room at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Major_Delays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

249 - 255 of 563 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

Within walking distance of the wharf, great value at a government rate, very friendly check in, cookies and coffee. Room was clean if utilitarian, and quiet, so good for a business trip. Free parking and wireless.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAReviewer--CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We arrived at the Colton Inn around 9pm and was immediately welcomed with friendly and helpful service from a clerk named John. He explained this to us like places to eat in the area and things that the hotel had to offer like free movies, snacks like fruit and cookies, free parking, and free continental breakfast.

The cookies were GOOD and the breakfast was more than enough. The dvd list is extensive but we didn't take advantage of that.

The room that we were given was rather large. Did not expect that for the rate that we paid. And it's rather nice. A LOT of open space but a good amount of furniture too. Really nice. My one gripe with the room was that the toilet flushing system was rather weak.

The next morning another gentleman in the office helped us get a 2 days for the price of one deal for the aquarium. And just like John, he was pretty awesome too.

We had a lovely stay at the Colton Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two nights, Clean comfortable rooms and continental breakfast, There is a fire which is easily lit. No air conditioning but as the temp was mild we did not need it, short walk to the bars and shops

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripperBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed here for a few days, and overall it was pretty average. The location from the major attractions was great. Monterey has a free trolley shuttle thing that can take you to the major spots, and it is just a few blocks from the hotel.

When I got to the hotel and got into my room, it was steaming hot. This was the middle of summer, so naturally I went for the AC, but to no avail as they do not have AC. So then i attempted to open the windows but found the little cranks to be either broken or very hard to open. And on top of that they made the windows (or attempted to make them) to where they can only open up a few inches. That and the water would be warm, then cut to cold for a minute or so, then go back to warm, then cut back to cold, ect ect.

I did like the movie selection, but the breakfast downstairs was hit or miss depending on when you got there. If its towards the end, there isn't much left. The cookies in the afternoon were amazing!

I got this deal on Hotwire, so I didn't choose it. I would say for the price I paid it was a good find, however, if you pay the rate they are charging on the website I would say you would have better luck somewhere else. I would say it was an average stay, nothing that warrants 5 stars. The only reason I gave it 4 is free parking. I am sick of paying for parking in California!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Spent 4 nights at this hotel for the 4 th of July weekend. It was perfect. Our room was large and had a fire place. I did ot hear any of the other people in the rooms next to ours. The breakfast they have is more than enough. Hot coffee in the morning. They have cookies and fruit in the afternoon. Location is great. The people that work here are very nice and very helpful. Loved our hotel, I felt like we got a great value.
Places I would recommend to eat while you are here. All need reservations for dinner. The food we had was amazing.
Dinner
Monterey Fish House, Monterey
Passion Fish Pacific grove
Bistro Moulin, Montrey
lunch
Cafe Paprika
Breakfast
First Awakings

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank todarcie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Booked this hotel on Hotwire and was originally disappointed. I was wrong. Great hotel at a reasonable rate, $97/night. Not too far from all the things to do in Monterey but far enough to be quiet. The continental breakfast was a pleasant surprise and free parking is always a plus. Did have an issue with towels, kind of weird, both night we stayed, housekeeping did not leave enough towels for our family and left no hand towels or washcloths. Minor things fixed very quickly by a very apologetic desk attendant named John. He also provided excellent directions for the things we wanted to do.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank agm11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#19 of 56 in Monterey
647 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.8 mi away
Monterey Bay Lodge
Monterey Bay Lodge
#30 of 56 in Monterey
560 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Monterey Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colton Inn

Address: 707 Pacific St, Monterey, CA 93940-2814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $119 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colton Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Colton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colton Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing