We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little spot!”
Review of Colton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Colton Inn
Ranked #30 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Oceanside, California
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great little spot!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Friendly front desk staff, nice rooms with frig and microwave. Good location just blocks from downtown (less than .25 mile walk). Treats in the lobby all day long! Not fancy, but perfect for a nice little getaway.

Room Tip: Room 217 has 2 beds with a futon
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingGal_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    220
    91
    23
    28
See reviews for
188
211
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

After canceling at another hotel, we were pleasantly surprised when we drove up. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, property was clean and close to town, and the room was perfect. We had a king bed, a fireplace, and tiny balcony (room 221). Very happy with our stay. We went to Lalla for drinks and to be around young locals.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalNy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great location, friendly staff, clean rooms, complementary breakfast. The rooms are all different and have a funky fun (sorta dated) feel. I have stayed at the Colton multiple times and all good experiences but others in my group have had random problems with electricity, etc.

Room Tip: just inquire about size, location and amenities like frig/kitchen as they vary signficantly
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justdme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire england
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

stayed a week in this hotel 6th may til 13th may, and couldnt fault it, all the staff were friendly and chatty, the buildings, grounds and rooms are highly maintained, cleanliness is of a high standard, the breakfast coissants, pastries, muffins were always fresh and plentyful, afternoons offer a good selection of cookies, you wont be disappointed

Room Tip: we stayed at the front of the hotel and heard no road noise what so ever, apart from the occasional...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themalletts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Great location. Walking distance to the wharf. Friendly staff. Clean, but underwhelming rooms. The bathrooms receive a C- from us, they were tired looking and the shower head was very low. We booked the hotel through Hotwire, and I was a little disappointed when the hotel name was revealed, I think the Comfort Inn in Carmel would have been nicer for 20.00 dollars more, which was their published rate. I would not stay here again on purpose, but would be happy to stay there if Hotwire revealed the hotel with a bargain rate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2tuckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Lovely, clean, spotlessly maintained buildings and grounds. Cookies and drinks available all afternoon. Large rooms, some with balconies and fireplaces. Reception staff could have been friendlier. Nice terrace to sit on with a cuppa or breakfast. Very close to sea and downtown. Vending machines and laundry. What's not to like?

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back with a balcony and fireplace . Grab the cookies while you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank biker_pablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed one night here- I was pleasantly surprised at the homely feel and large room which had a nice double aspect window, fireplace with 1 log, pleasant furnishings ,TV and fridge. Aside from the log fire, there was no other heating and as we were in a coldish spell this could have been a worry the next morning, but the fire was a fun touch.I read later you can purchase extra logs. There were coffee and cookies available in the reception which was really welcome and you could borrow DVD's from a huge list for free if desired.Complimentary Breakfast was also available in the reception area, and this consisted of drinks, fruit, cereals, pastries and toast so a good selection.I enjoyed our short stay here and imagine it's a great base for a longer stay.We ate at Peter B's brewpub ( Portola Hotel and Spa ) which was within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sussexmicropub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.3 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#19 of 56 in Monterey
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
2.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 56 in Monterey
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colton Inn

Property: Colton Inn
Address: 707 Pacific St, Monterey, CA 93940-2814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colton Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Colton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colton Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing