We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A simple place” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Colton Inn
Ranked #33 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A simple place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice place to stay if you do not plan to remain in the room all day. Not much to rave about. We were expecting a little bit more from this place. Staff very pleasant and quick to respond. Well stocked with cookies when we arrived. Breakfast was very basic: pastry and rolls.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    201
    89
    23
    27
See reviews for
170
205
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Comfortable rooms, some even with fireplace ($5 per big log after the first complimentary one) and mine, on the ground floor, had a pleasant balcony at the back, catching the morning sun. You can park your car right in front of your room, at least on the ground floor. Very quiet (at least before the golfers' onslaught) and safe. Great location 3/5 mins away on foot from main shopping street in Monterey. Service-wise sort of anonymous, there's a central desk/office and you get your breakfast on a self-service basis there and take it back to your room. the desk closes at 11.00pm, but they leave your keys on the outside door, should you arrive after.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalessandri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

No doubt - this is the best value place in Monterey. None of the three other places we have stayed in the town offered free parking and free WiFi. I liked their breakfast and their wooden deck with chairs and tables, but what I really loved was their evening buffet of snacks and beverages that included fruits, cookies, teas and coffees.
The manager at the front desk was super hospitable, willing to accommodate our needs and also very efficient.
Our room faced a creak and was super quite. In the morning we could slide a door to a balcony and hear water running. There was also a decent light above working table - a nice contrast to a standard dim appearance of rooms in inns. The beds were very comfortable, with thick blankets.
They also have a dry sauna.
From now on - Colton Inn is where we stay when in Monterey.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ninking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

For the price, you can't beat the free services included. Everyone was upbeat, service was quick, many freebies like cookies, apples, hot beverages, wireless internet, movies and continental breakfast. Though the facility is slightly outdated, everything worked well, and the room was clean and comfortable. We left in the morning full and satisfied.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank universalmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Rooms come equiped with a micrwave and refridgerator and some with fireplaces. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The hotel is close to all and quiet at night. The continental. Breakfast is modest but adequate. We enjoyed our stay and we didn't, break the bank. All in all a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms are above the normal commotion of a car park motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackf_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We love the location of the hotel. Close enough to the wharf without it being too far: 0.6 mi to Fisherman's Wharf and 1.7 mi to Cannery Row. Makes for a nice walk. With various visual landmarks on the way, the walk doesn't "feel" like a long walk. The hotel room: First time we stayed in the Friendship Suite with THREE queen beds. There's four in our family and we also brought our twin air mattress where everyone could spread out. The room was in the "basement" between the sauna and the conference room. Relatively quite which was nice with the kids. The queen beds were lined up against a wall, which means, the room was huge. There was a table and chairs, coffee table, microwave, & fridge. As we were checking out, they were replacing the televisions in all the rooms with a flat screen. Nice touch. I liked the down comforters on the beds. I mentioned a few things to the management about improvements that could be made to the Friendship Suite. Keep in mind, supposedly this room can sleep up to six people in the three queen-sized beds. There was only a regular-size closet. The only drawers were the three small drawers in the TV stand. Don't even think about shelf space in the bathroom. There wasn't any. Only a double towel rack in the bathroom, but another wooden tri-towel rack outside the bathroom in the entryway. Two nightstands (in between the beds). Only three AC plugs were available, and two more in the bathroom (if you unplugged the hair dryer). I'm putting a power strip/surge protector on my next vacation packing list for all our electronics, which I should have been doing. Ok, things we noticed that needed to be fixed: window screen popped out of place, hair dryer keeps falling off the wall mount, the bathtub handle (for getting in/out of tub) was pulling away at the bottom, exposed cord/outlet in the closet area, lots of exposed cords in their outlets (not good for toddlers) AND the heat did not work in the room. Not good during winter-time. They had this portable floor heater which worked fine, just inconvenient and hard to regulate the heat in the room. Yes, I did mention these things to the management. As for their breakfast, typical continental: croissants, bagels, danish, oatmeal, etc. Coffee and hot water for tea/hot chocolate available all day and cookies in the afternoon. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Now about cleaning the room, we tend to do our thing in the morning, eat, and then come back to the room for some down-time. If you plan on doing this, definitely let the front desk know if you're returning early so housekeeping can clean the room in time. There's no elevator and housekeeping has to go up and down the stairs access their cart for supplies. Would we stay in this room again? Yes! We love the amount of space in the room and the ability to spread out. We'll stay at this hotel again, and even get the same room, if we can.

Room Tip: Call early for the best rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LLKian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, West Lothian
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I were travelling down the pacific coast from San Francisco to San Diego and decided to stay in Monterey for 2 nights as part of our trip. The Colton Inn was recommended to us by a friend. Monterey hotels seem to be fairly expensive overall so the Colton seemed to be one of the more affordable options. From the outside the hotel looks more like a motel but the same cannot be said from the inside. While the rooms are not modern, they are very spacious and clean. Our room had a fireplace which gave it a lovely rustic feel. The bed was huge and very comfy! The room also had a microwave and fridge which came in handy. We took advantage of the free continental breakfast although you should note that there is nowhere to really eat it apart from back in your room. Location was great, not far from Fisherman's Wharf. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KC0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Mariposa Inn and Suites
#30 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#22 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colton Inn

Property: Colton Inn
Address: 707 Pacific St, Monterey, CA 93940-2814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colton Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Colton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colton Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing