We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy, clean and close”
Review of Colton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colton Inn
Ranked #30 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfy, clean and close”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Plenty of room for a family of 4. Balcony was small, and screen door didn't close completely, but the view was peaceful. The room was a little dated, but clean and comfortable. You didn't feel like you were in the middle of the city. Ate breakfast on their deck, which is surrounded by plants and potted flowers. The office had cookies and fruit available throughout the day. Breakfast was adequate, but nothing special. Easy to get to the wharf and other points of interest.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monopolyhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    214
    90
    23
    28
See reviews for
180
211
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The Colton Inn was found via the internet. It was reasonably priced and close to the meeting that I attended on the water. The bed was comfortable. The room was clean. Walls are thin, as I heard the television next door at all hours. Continental breakfast with bagels, fruit, coffee and juice were a great touch. It was also a 1.5 block walk to the Trader Joe's. Microwave and 'frig in the room were very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisHinCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights. While the hotel is within walking distant of Fishermans Wharf and the free trolley. The room was quite dated and the beds were the worst we have ever slept on. We also had two items missing from our room (the first day after the maids cleaned the room). The front desk just brushed it off and questioned us on whether we had left them someplace when out sightseeing. Theses were items you wouldn't take with you while sightseeing. This is the first time we experienced something like this in all our travels. Will never stay at the Colton Inn again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

My wife and I had just completed a business transaction near San Simeon and on the spur of the moment decided to drive up the coast to Monterey. We arrived late Saturday afternoon and began a search of vacancies along the motel strip at the south entrance to town. We were very disappointed in the over priced selection there. Game 5 of the Stanley Cup was playing that night and we were hoping to see our Kings bring the Cup home. The motel strip rooms had poor TV reception and very old TVs. The beds were old and the rooms we looked at appeared like they had not been remodeled in at least 10 years. We decided to head to the downtown region and on the way we spotted the Colton Inn. Dave was at the desk and he personally showed us a beautiful room with a large flat screen TV that had perfect reception. We munched on cookies and enjoyed fresh coffee while we signed in. The rates were less than the cheapest motel on the strip. What a bonus! Dave directed us to a Trader Joes which was a short walk around the corner. We bought a bottle of wine and some snacks. After the game (we lost) we walked to the wharf area and had a late dinner before taking a pleasant stroll around the scenic wharf area. We both slept incredibly well and enjoyed the full Continental breakfast in the morning. We had such a good time we were very tempted to stay another night. Business matters forced us to return to Los Angeles but we did make notes about Monterey and the Colton Inn as we will be returning soon with our friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The Colton Inn is a very cute little inn near downtown Monterey. It is beyond reasonably priced (which is a luxury when traveling to Monterey) and is a more than suitable place to spend the night. All of that being said, I cannot give it more than three stars and hope that they make a few key improvements to the inn to push it over the top. For one, I paid for a room with a fireplace in it, and while my room did have a fireplace, the room did not have a functioning thermostat, making the room far too hot to even consider using it. In fact, the room was uncomfortably hot as it was as my girlfriend and I were sweating as we relaxed and watched television at night. Secondly, our room had a shared porch with our next-door neighbors. While this created a large porch, it reduced from privacy and also created some noise outside our room as our neighbors utilized the porch at night. The continental breakfast selection could also be improved upon.

My last comment, which may have been unique to the room we stayed in, was that our faucet would not stop running. This clearly had been the case for a while as the drain had rusted heavily where the water was hitting it, but nowhere else. Our bathroom also had a musky smell to it, making it unpleasant to use it. Again, this was likely unique to our room, but I would like to see the hotel fix the faucet, as the rusted drain indicates that it's been going on for a little while.

I really believe that this inn could take a few simple steps to improve itself and become and upper echelon inn. It is in a nice location, has friendly staff, and has a basic foundation in place to improve upon. I would stay here again, as it was really fairly priced (which like I said, is hard to come by in Monterey), the room was clean (aside from the musky bathroom), and the bed was very comfortable. The in room DVD player was also quite nice. A few minor improvements and this place would easily earn 4 stars, and maybe even 5.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gournal3311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

This hotel was a bit off the beaten path, but within walking distance of downtown and the wharf area. The room was very clean, quiet, and spacious with nice amenities, particularly a comfortable bed, a list of hundreds of free dvds to check out, and fruit, cookies, and coffee for afternoon snacks. The continental breakfast was simple but filling with a variety of breads, cereals, fruit, orange juice, and coffee/tea. Fair price for Monterey, and definitely recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Likeshikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Friends shared adjoining rooms and each had separate balconies. Rooms were spacious, very clean, very well-maintained. Not the most snazzy place, but, who needs snazzy when looking for good location and good value? We'd stay here again. Lobby had complimentary fruit, newspapers, plenty of maps and brochures. Parking area also tidy and convenient. Walk anywhere. One of our party was unable to attend, so the charge for that extra bed was deleted without our even asking. An altogether nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suze L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.3 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#18 of 56 in Monterey
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Monterey Inn
2.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 56 in Monterey
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colton Inn

Property: Colton Inn
Address: 707 Pacific St, Monterey, CA 93940-2814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colton Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Colton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colton Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing