We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but needed cleaning and maintenance”
Review of Colton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Colton Inn
Ranked #30 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice but needed cleaning and maintenance”
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Property is average. When we arrived we looked in the tiny refrigerator to find that the previous occupant had left grapes and something else in a tupperware dish that I was afraid to open because it was moldy. Not sure when was the last time the cleaning crew cleaned the refrigerator.
Then we looked under the bed and found cigarette ashes and leaves. So not sure when was the last time the cleaning crew cleaned under the bed. So after that we just felt that the place was cleaned in a rush and we didn't feel comfortable.
We had a jacuzzi room. The jacuzzi is outside, sort of. It is in an enclosed-type room but you can see out through the wooden slats in the ceiling and there are no window coverings on the windows that face out into what appear to be an overgrown wooded area. The jacuzzi is not preheated and it takes FOREVER to warm up. It kept shutting off before it could get up to temperature. Also the screen for one of the back jacuzzi room windows had been pushed off and it was sitting down in the ravine behind the hotel.
Upon check-out we mentioned the food left in the refrigerator, the items under the bed, and the screen and all the management said was, "I guess maintenance has some work to do". We were not offered any compensation or credit for our stay.
On the plus side, cookies were nice in the evenings. Never did do the breakfast as it is in a very cramped area and the only tables to eat at are right on the back deck of people's rooms. Not very private for the rooms with the deck.
We will not stay here again due to cleanliness and maintenance issues that were not even apologized for.

Room Tip: Don't get the rooms with the back decks that are shared. You will be sharing them with the entir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jediprincess26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    215
    90
    23
    28
See reviews for
181
211
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Visalia, CA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Recently stayed at this property - overall average. Quiet and about 10 minutes walk to the main areas of Monterey; however, we were not given the room type reserved and paid for. I reserved a King room ($159/night) and was given a Queen ($99/night). When I questioned the front desk I was told my reserveration was for a Queen. Thank God for the internet and smart phones - I went down to the front desk and showed my confirmed King reservation. I was then told they were out of King rooms and the Queen was all that was available. When I questioned a price difference, I was told the rooms were the same price and a refund was refused. Just check any week-end to confirm the price difference.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2011

My family thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay. The hotel is in a perfect location and walking distance to many sites. My kids loved the big park across the street and the library next door. I was pleasantly surprised with the continental breakfast and great coffee (most places offer the basics- it sure was nice to see eggs!).
If you're looking for the Embassy Suites this isn't for you. If you're looking for an affordable, comfortable and safe place to stay look no further.
We'll be back next October.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Good basic place to stay. Rate is about right, given the its in the middle of Monterey. Rooms vary in size - we had a 3rd floor room w/ sofa and fireplace. The fireplace was not a 'built in' type, which others in our party (1st floor) had. Another one in our party had a balcony but it cut into the overall size of the room. Bed was good, room was sizeable, large DVD collection loaned out for no charge. Only 'problem' was the shower - cannot control the pressure and the shower head is similar to ones at the beach - basically a stream of water. Good continental breakfast and cookies in the afternoon. Located in a quiet part of town. I don't think you would consider this a 'party' hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonoSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Good place to stay if you want to avoid huge hotel prices in the centre of Monterey. The room was spacious, breakfast ok, staff friendly. Can definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christa90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

I really thought this hotel would be nicer inside given we paid nearly $300 for 1 night. The room was clean & beds comfortable. The bathroom was old, and there was an old stove & fridge near the door that we weren't sure if it even worked. Near the TV there was a newer nice fridge. The lobby area had great snacks til 11pm (cookies, fruit, coffee & tea) which we very much appreciated, and the breakfast offerings were good too. The deck area where we ate our breakfast was probably the best part of this hotel experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalMama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, CA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Good location. Easy walking distance to the wharf. Free DVD for customers. I just did NOT like the cat/dog hair on the bed! The furniture/room/hotel is dated. Needs to be renovated. Adequate breakfast. Stayed here because of the distance to the wharf.

Room Tip: As with all hotels, the earlier you book a room, the room rates are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLKian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColtonInn, General Manager at Colton Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thank you for your comments on our property. We do benefit greatly from our downtown Monterey location. Just a note that we do not allow ANY pets on our property or in our rooms.

We do constantly strive to improve our property and do appreciate your comments for improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.3 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#18 of 56 in Monterey
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Monterey Inn
2.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 56 in Monterey
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colton Inn

Property: Colton Inn
Address: 707 Pacific St, Monterey, CA 93940-2814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colton Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Colton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colton Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing