We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good value stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Monterey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel 6 Monterey
Ranked #49 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good value stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

If you are looking for a good value place to stay in Monterey, look no further. Although it's located some way from the seafront, the area is ok and with a very good restaurant just over the road (plus other choices nearby). The room was clean, tidy and well kept. Service was good; but the complimentary coffee is like brown water!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, it might be worth asking for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlymouthPete19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    31
    31
    10
    13
See reviews for
30
30
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Thought this was an OK place to stay even took a survey saying had a nice stay but 2 weeks to the day of staying here my husband turned up with "the worst case of scabies" the doctor had ever seen. when trying to figure it out she said it almost definitely came from staying at this hotel as the incubation time for it turning up matches when we stayed here DON"T stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monterey hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

Dirty bed spread on arrival, no facial tissue, no shampoo supplied!! Very small room with two queen beds with no space to move around. More expensive than others in the same class.
3 people not satisfied.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ew5030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
86 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

I stayed here in March 2011 and was completely satisfied, so I used it again this year. Comfortable accomodations at a reasonable price. The British lady on the desk during the day was especially nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ELHS220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Shasta, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

Motel 6 experience many years ago was not a good one. I have changed my tune to the return of a boutique style motel in Motel 6. I am on a road trip for now and staying in many Motel 6 motels. There is no fee for a pet and the price is good. The rooms are much smaller than other hotels, but Motel 6 is consistent in the upkeep of their motels. This particular motel is embracing because of the staff and location. Very friendly and helpful staff.

The energy here feels good and I will repeat again, it is because of the area and staff. It isn't noisy between rooms! I paid almost a $100 the other night at a Best Western near Santa Rosa and the workers were very noisy the next day. The room I was in was right across from the cleaning room. Expensive and too big for the management to keep up with the employees and guests!

Motel 6 is small enough to maintain!

Thanks to the employees here in Monterey!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a tub. The tubs are big. Some rooms only have showers, but plenty of hot water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amanda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

Front desk person (jessica) was rude and had an attitude the entire 3 days I was here. Would recommend you go someplace else, if possible.

Room Tip: Avoid this motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank disappointed32978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLV
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

The hotel is very well located, the rooms are pretty spacious (bed, shower, toilet, fridget and extra sink). The room is old but clean and the owner is very nice/helpful.
Though it is located on a main road, the rooms are still far enough from the road and so there's no noise you can sleep at night, no trouble.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goreneinat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterey
2.2 mi away
Motel 6 Monterey Downtown
Motel 6 Monterey Downtown
#42 of 55 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Monterey - Fremont Street
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sand Castle Inn
Sand Castle Inn
#2 of 13 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Monterey
Super 8 Monterey
#30 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Monterey

Property: Motel 6 Monterey
Address: 2124 Fremont St, SR 1/Cabrillo Highway at the Casa Verde Way exit, Monterey, CA 93940-5213
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Monterey is located less than a mile to the public beach and Monterey Peninsula Airport. Fisherman's Wharf is 2 miles. Restaurants nearby. Relax in our outdoor pool. Wi-Fi is available in all of our modern rooms for a fee. 100% non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Motel-6, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Motel 6 Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Monterey Hotel Monterey
Motel Six Monterey
Monterey Motel 6
Monterey Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing