We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Room”
Review of Merritt House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Merritt House Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Monterey B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Room”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

This is a lovely place to stay in Monterey. The room was beautiful and the bed was so comfortable! I also need to mention how friendly the staff were, especially at check-in. We hadn't researched the area much before we stayed, and the staff gave us some great advice and directions of how to get around the town. The downtown area of Monterey was a pleasant surprise too! A lovely little find.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Domino_PJ_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    86
    48
    14
    7
See reviews for
41
125
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, CA
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

I had stayed at Merritt House years ago, and was glad to revisit. Good location close to downtown and the wharf. Great rooms with fireplace- -cozy and comfortable. I got to stay in the adobe house suite this time which was fantastic with carved mission furniture and tons of atmosphere. Lovely.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladysailor715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We truly enjoyed our four night stay here. The rooms were comfortable, nicely appointed and spotlessly clean. The entire staff from the owners (a family) to the housekeepers were all friendly, helpful and responsive. Great location, a good night's sleep, great continental breakfast... everything was fantastic. Oh, and the price is right as well. We will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We drove down from SF along PC1 on our way to LA and stayed here for an overnight. The front desk staff were very friendly and gave great tips for restaurants and sites in the city. Check-in was a breeze and we found our room to be clean, spacious, warm, and inviting. They even gave us a log to burn in the fireplace!

Parking was not an issue and was an extra $15 with in/out. The B&B is within walking distance of the wharf but I do recommend eating early. We went to Pt. Lobos to watch the sunset and then came back into downtown around 8:30 to eat and most restaurants were not seating as they closed at 9. Monterey is a sleepy town and shuts down early so don't count on a late night.

Also, I know I might get beat up on this but....the aquarium is waaaaay overpriced and not worth it. We always heard about the famous Monterey Aquarium but found it to be packed with families crowding around windows to look at a couple of penguins and jellyfish. Then we got hounded by sales folks for a membership. We kept saying we were from Texas and would only be coming once. I think they have great marketing, because it was one of the "must sees" on our trip....but did not deliver.

We loved getting a bottle of red wine, driving out in our convertible to Point Lobos, sitting on the rocks and watching the gorgeous sunset. Waves crashing, orange light, and sea lions barking below, as seagull flew overhead. Now that...is how we vacation!

If you are looking for a good value in the pricey Monterey/Pac Grove/Carmel area, the Merritt House Inn is a great choice! Book it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dnesossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I booked this place because of the price and location; my parents needed a a weekend away and it was perfect! The owner was so kind to my parents, they are looking forward to going back! (And that never happens!) They were happy with the room, and the amenities, but were more impressed with the service and kindness they were greeted with. My dad could not stop thanking me for such a wonderful birthday present. Definitely going to recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabsthedestroyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross Rive, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

What a charming inn! My family spent the night here, taking two delightful rooms on the ground floor opening out onto a patio and pretty garden. The rooms are beautifully decorated, cheerful and very comfortable: my daughter’s and my room was hung with lovely flower prints on pale yellow walls, with a corner fireplace, my husband and son’s room had a more masculine theme, with attractive marine prints and a blue color theme (and also had a fireplace). The beds were divine with comfortable duvets, and we had a quiet and good night’s sleep. The staff was helpful and friendly, and the location is fantastic, right in the middle of the historic district (one of the inn buildings is also historic) and only a couple of blocks from Fisherman’s wharf. Wish we could have spent a week here!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Wonderful, clean and modern Inn. Very friendly and welcoming staff. Centrally located near the wharf and convention center- all within walking distance. A plus is the corner store and restaurants, all within walking distance, you'll never have to drive anywhere! I would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy9091929498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#9 of 56 in Monterey
585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#18 of 56 in Monterey
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.0 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#17 of 56 in Monterey
1,268 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merritt House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merritt House Inn

Property: Merritt House Inn
Address: 386 Pacific St, Monterey, CA 93940-2445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Merritt House Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Merritt House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merritt House Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing