We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Historical Gem”
Review of Merritt House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Merritt House Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Monterey B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 27, 2013

While you might not be staying in the actual historic house, we were lucky enough to get one of the rooms for our group upgraded to a room with a separate parlor in addition to the bedroom, in the addition to the historic house, at the rear. Nicely furnished in an Early California mode, with a lot of great atmosphere. I felt like I was staying in the 1830s as done 1920's style. Very comfortable, and very comfortable bed as well, with LOTS of kushy pillows. Great parlor for socializing, and a terrace between our rooms where we could wander back and forth. This upgrade was wonderful and thoughtful! The site is in the heart of the historic district, which makes it very handy to the adobes, custom house, the wharf. Wonderfully plantings in the gardens around the buildings that give an almost tropical feel.

Breakfast is not very inspiring, just muffins, cold cereal, etc. But that's fine if you just want a continental breakfast. However, get there early, as the seating is not enough for the number of guests. Coffee pot in the room, to get you through before heading off to the breakfast room, with locally-roasted coffee supplied.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jilara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 242 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a nice little Inn with a lovely courtyard. We stayed in room 20, which is upstairs with only one neighbor. It is a little dated but I expected that based on the age of the Inn. Coffee supplies in the room were always stocked. Shower was good and hot. The breakfast is muffins, bagels, fruit and cereal. It had a little fridge in the room as well. Friendly staff. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadridGirl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

On first impressions this comes across as a sophisticated and elegant hotel, but on closer inspection, it flattered to deceive. The rooms were large and nicely furnished, but the lack of air con (there was a fan in one of the storage areas) is not really acceptable for a hotel in this price range. We didn't sleep well, mainly due to the noisy creaking the bed made when we moved. The breakfast was basic and nice enough, but there were 3 tables set out for a hotel with perhaps 25 rooms. We saw people having to hover around and wait for a table, which is awkward for all concerned. The staff weren't rude to us, but a little bit short with a family who were perfectly polite.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harvey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

we stayed here for 2 nights - its a good staging post for anyone wanting to travel Highway 1.
the hotel was well appointed, but a little tired. the room was comfortable but really dark. (the only light was through glass doors opening out onto a shared patio area.)
the breakfast provided was simple and continental (so dont expect waffles, or any of those other goodies you get at other places)

Room Tip: If you like a light roo avoid the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuJu1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The Merritt is excellently situated to explore Monterrey (easy walks to the wharfs, Cannery Row, etc) and beyond to Seaside, Carmel, Salinas, etc. Very helpful staff offering good local knowledge and restaurant recommendations. Breakfast is buffet style bagels, yoghurt, etc but be aware that the breakfast room is small so you may need to wait a short while to grab a seat (no problem) or you can take food back to your room. Room (we stayed in #21) was dark but no overly so. The spaciousness made up for it. Great grocery store on the corner of Pacific that sells everything. They do fab freshly prepared sandwiches and salads should you choose to take one with you on your sightseeing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nerradtreborsniktaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in March 2012 while we were in the area for a family wedding. We had a very nice stay and while we were lucky to get sunny weather during the day, in typical Monterey fashion it cooled off quite a bit at night, which made the fireplace in our room so nice. They included a duraflame log in the fireplace so we were able to get a fire going quickly at night while we enjoyed a bottle of wine we bought.

Location-wise, this is in a very walkable spot, close to the pier and a decent walk to Cannery Row. We opted to walk and thought it was a very reasonable distance to the aquarium, etc.

The staff was extremely friendly and gave us some local restaurant tips to help steer us away from the super touristy spots, which we really appreciated! We ended up at a local seafood spot off of the old pier and had amazing meals for the price.

Breakfast is OK, I would say it was very average. Also, as far as the rooms are concerned, the bathrooms could use a good deal of updating. We weren't so bothered by that because we found our room to be so comfortable and that's where we were really spending the majority of our time when at the Inn.

Overall this Inn definitely has it's charms and is a good value for the Monterey area.

Room Tip: We had an end room with a fireplace, I would highly recommend requesting something similar. The fire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylin_Pieper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We really liked this place. One night stay on way up the coast. Care and attention paid to decor and service. A nice break from hotel chains with stock standard personality devoid boxes. There is history here and it feels good. Short walk to pier.The town itself is a gem - the pier is magical - clam chowder tasters outside every restaurant. A charming hotel in a charming town.

Stayed: July 2013
Thank Rikkie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,542 reviews
1.0 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,011 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#19 of 56 in Monterey
673 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#29 of 56 in Monterey
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merritt House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merritt House Inn

Address: 386 Pacific St, Monterey, CA 93940-2445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range: $165 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Merritt House Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Merritt House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merritt House Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing