We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mutton dressed as lamb”
Review of Merritt House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Merritt House Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Monterey B&B and Inns
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mutton dressed as lamb”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

On first impressions this comes across as a sophisticated and elegant hotel, but on closer inspection, it flattered to deceive. The rooms were large and nicely furnished, but the lack of air con (there was a fan in one of the storage areas) is not really acceptable for a hotel in this price range. We didn't sleep well, mainly due to the noisy creaking the bed made when we moved. The breakfast was basic and nice enough, but there were 3 tables set out for a hotel with perhaps 25 rooms. We saw people having to hover around and wait for a table, which is awkward for all concerned. The staff weren't rude to us, but a little bit short with a family who were perfectly polite.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harvey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    86
    48
    14
    7
See reviews for
41
125
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

we stayed here for 2 nights - its a good staging post for anyone wanting to travel Highway 1.
the hotel was well appointed, but a little tired. the room was comfortable but really dark. (the only light was through glass doors opening out onto a shared patio area.)
the breakfast provided was simple and continental (so dont expect waffles, or any of those other goodies you get at other places)

Room Tip: If you like a light roo avoid the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuJu1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The Merritt is excellently situated to explore Monterrey (easy walks to the wharfs, Cannery Row, etc) and beyond to Seaside, Carmel, Salinas, etc. Very helpful staff offering good local knowledge and restaurant recommendations. Breakfast is buffet style bagels, yoghurt, etc but be aware that the breakfast room is small so you may need to wait a short while to grab a seat (no problem) or you can take food back to your room. Room (we stayed in #21) was dark but no overly so. The spaciousness made up for it. Great grocery store on the corner of Pacific that sells everything. They do fab freshly prepared sandwiches and salads should you choose to take one with you on your sightseeing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nerradtreborsniktaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in March 2012 while we were in the area for a family wedding. We had a very nice stay and while we were lucky to get sunny weather during the day, in typical Monterey fashion it cooled off quite a bit at night, which made the fireplace in our room so nice. They included a duraflame log in the fireplace so we were able to get a fire going quickly at night while we enjoyed a bottle of wine we bought.

Location-wise, this is in a very walkable spot, close to the pier and a decent walk to Cannery Row. We opted to walk and thought it was a very reasonable distance to the aquarium, etc.

The staff was extremely friendly and gave us some local restaurant tips to help steer us away from the super touristy spots, which we really appreciated! We ended up at a local seafood spot off of the old pier and had amazing meals for the price.

Breakfast is OK, I would say it was very average. Also, as far as the rooms are concerned, the bathrooms could use a good deal of updating. We weren't so bothered by that because we found our room to be so comfortable and that's where we were really spending the majority of our time when at the Inn.

Overall this Inn definitely has it's charms and is a good value for the Monterey area.

Room Tip: We had an end room with a fireplace, I would highly recommend requesting something similar. The fire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylin_Pieper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We really liked this place. One night stay on way up the coast. Care and attention paid to decor and service. A nice break from hotel chains with stock standard personality devoid boxes. There is history here and it feels good. Short walk to pier.The town itself is a gem - the pier is magical - clam chowder tasters outside every restaurant. A charming hotel in a charming town.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rikkie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband booked this place for my birthday - so sweet. The staff that helped us at the front desk and at breakfast in the morning were really kind and helpful. The location is great, walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf. The room is definitely dated - I hadn't seen some of those fixtures and soaps (Breck!) since the 80s, but it was as clean as it had been put in yesterday. Really well maintained. I loved that we had doors out to the courtyard area. The bed was comfortable. We had a fireplace but unfortunately there was no log in it, if I had cared enough I would have gone and asked for one but we were tired and fell asleep with our clam chowder bellies. Love the breakfast, and the 12 noon checkout time. The only negative I think was that you could really hear other people; kids yelling, running up and down stairs, doors slamming. But I sleep with earplugs anyway so I had no trouble.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank im_elyse13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My family and I stayed her for one night on our way up to Washington. The place is small but very pleasant staff. We had room 8 which consists of 2 queen beds was very clean although the room was not so big. The beds were very comfortable as the pillows were too. I am very picky about pillows because I easily get neck pain if I sleep on a big bulky pillow. These were soft and my head sunk in softly. No windows, just French doors that have a view to the garden patio that every other room shares. Also, you share this balcony with other guests as it is not divided. Lots of load traffic noise from the street is heard so not good if you are a light sleeper. The seagulls are up early at dawn which is very loud. The water was warm and had a nice handheld mounted shower head. The staff was pleasant, and that's the best part of our stay. They let us check in 3 hours early. Parking was not as tight as other reviewers complained about it and we have a minivan. Breakfast consisted of bagels, croissants, muffins, pastries, hard boiled eggs, coffee and juice. Location was great. Walking distance to wharf. Overall it was nice but a little expensive for what it was.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maribel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#9 of 56 in Monterey
592 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#18 of 56 in Monterey
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#17 of 56 in Monterey
1,268 reviews
1.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merritt House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merritt House Inn

Property: Merritt House Inn
Address: 386 Pacific St, Monterey, CA 93940-2445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Merritt House Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Merritt House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merritt House Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing