We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not great”
Review of Merritt House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Merritt House Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Monterey B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Room was at best average. The room was a good size however it was really dark. The room felt like it was in a car park as the buildings are all built tight together and the hotel has been extended. The bed was not good quality and the bedding was flimsy.

Breakfast was included and supposedly served until 10am. We went down at 9:45am and were greated with a frosty reception. It was obvious the staff did not want us eating there so late. Most of the food was gone - very limited selection - and the lady just basically said tough. We managed to get a boiled egg and a bagel.

Location is fine - it's close to Fisherman's Wharf.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CWPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Merritt House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 238 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

We booked a stay for Saturday night a little less than a week prior to check in. Seeing as it was a holiday weekend, and the cost, I was wary of what I had gotten my family into.

However, this was a great place to stay. We had a suite, and the fact we could put the kids in the pullout sofa, and have a bedroom to ourselves was super bonus.

Our room was also ready early, so let us stay.

I never complain about breakfast, since something is better than nothing. Basic here with pastries, fruits, etc. and it was clean and organized, which is always nice.

We look forward to staying here our next trip to Monterey!



PS, if I was to complain, it'd be about paying $15 for parking. Just build it into your pricing, I hate nickel and dime stuff.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Jason I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

A friendly respite from the business of the wharf and downtown. The Merritt house is the center of activity and yet is a peaceful oasis. It felt like home. The staff is friendly and helpful. It was a pleasure to stay at. My husband and I stayed in the older historic house and it had plenty of room and charm. The new rooms are very comfortable.

Room Tip: The older larger rooms are unique and maybe not for everyone, the new rooms are lovely.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel4fun111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here during the AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am when rooms were very hard to find, and was pleased to find this Inn with such a good location and reasonable rates. The rooms do feel a bit like a motel, but ours opened out the back onto a very nice patio that had character. The breakfast room was small but it was a good option for a quick bite before heading out to the course. We weren't at the Inn much, but loved the location and it was very functional.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoustonHendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

On the website, the Inn looks like an attractive old building - however, most of the rooms are actually in an ugly motel-style block. We has been looking forward to arriving at a place with some character, so we felt disappointed and cheated. The room we were in had very little natural light, which was depressing and not good for the environment as you have to keep the lights on. We had to pay extra for the parking, though we were allowed to leave the car there after we had checked out. The breakfast was adequate but the service was surly - I asked if I could take a cup of tea to my room and was told I would have to use a paper cup, not the cup I was already using. On the plus side, the people at the front desk were quite helpful, the room size and decor are good and the location is convenient.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gingerew66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great location near Fisherman's Wharf, downtown Monterey and Cannery Row. We had room #10 (safari themed room) and loved it. Super comfortable bed, French doors opening onto a small balcony overlooking a garden area. Breakfast was perfect for us - bagels, cream cheese, hot cereal, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, selection of fruits, orange juice, fresh pastries, tea and delicious coffee with fresh milk (no powdered junk). The tables were set with mis-matched Fiesta Ware - bright and inviting. We were in town for a jazz festival that our son's university was performing at. We met several other travelers at breakfast who were also attending the festival and traded restaurant tips, etc for the area. Our room was well stocked and very clean. The staff were helpful and pleasant. Parking is available for $15.00 per day and definitely worth it. We're planning on coming back soon to explore more of this great area!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rookie1647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Pros: great location, great front door service, nice breakfast, free parking, and the history behind it.

Cons: paper-thin walls, TV not working, and for some reason, the layout of the Inn portion makes me think that I stayed in a motel, instead of a B&B.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.1 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#19 of 56 in Monterey
618 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#11 of 56 in Monterey
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,630 reviews
1.0 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,993 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merritt House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merritt House Inn

Address: 386 Pacific St, Monterey, CA 93940-2445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range: $165 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Merritt House Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Merritt House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merritt House Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing