We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a stop over”
Review of Merritt House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Merritt House Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Monterey B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for a stop over”
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in Monterey at the Merritt Inn during a coastal drive from San Fran to LA. Very accommodating family run inn. The rooms have all the essentials, are comfortable and have a lot of character, just what you're looking for if you're from out of town and only staying a short time. On site parking, free wi-fi, breakfast and walking distance to wharf 1, spot on.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie_Bigpotatoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    86
    48
    14
    7
See reviews for
41
125
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night with my husband over Labor Day weekend. The location could not have been more perfect. Once we parked the car, we never had to get in it again until we were ready to head home. It was a 2 min walk to Alvarado Street (fantastic restaurants), 5 min to Fisherman's Wharf and 5 min to the free trolley to Cannery Row and the Aquarium or an easy and beautiful 1-mile walk along the water.

Our room was cozy and had a fireplace and bathrobes, which I thought was a nice touch. The bed was super comfortable and everything was very clean.

While it's not a typical B&B breakfast, they had everything I needed to fill up for a morning at the Aquarium.

The staff was incredibly pleasant and they also let us keep our car parked there for free for about 5 hours after we checked out. Next time I'm in Monterey, I will definitely stay at the Merritt House Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jooliecoolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at the Merritt House Inn on our way down the coast. We'd hoped for two nights at the Monterey Plaza Hotel, but they had a 4-night stay requirement during the Concours d'Elegance, so we booked the Merritt House.

We've stayed at lots of B&Bs in the US and the UK & Ireland, so we know they can be quirky - that's part of their charm. We had a suite in the historic building, and our kids had a room across the courtyard in another building. They thought their room, with two queen beds, was comfortable, even if the bathroom was claustrophobic.

Our suite had more of the feel of a half-basement, as every building around us was well above us. The decor was dark but interesting. The bathroom was early 70s but quite functional. The smell, however, was pure mildew. We've rented lots of beach apts & houses, so we can put up with a little bit of wet-towel smell, but this was overwhelming - enough to keep me awake during the night.

Breakfast was a big disappointment - the old-fashioned "continental breakfast." Some bagels, danishes, cereal, apples & oranges, cheap yogurt and hard-boiled eggs. There was no cinnamon or brown sugar for the plain oatmeal, no melons or berries, meats or cheese or anything interesting. There are only 3 tables, and all were occupied when we arrived.

Naturally, we weren't expecting the Monterey Plaza. But we were hoping for quite a bit more from this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megapax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

The location of this Inn cannot be beat. Easy access to the free trolley that runs during the Summer and it was less than a 10 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf and the "downtown strip". The room was very dark and "tired" and the bathrooms are definitely in need of an upgrade. I only went in to the breakfast room one day - it was very small - certainly not enough room for my family and the selection was limited. I got a coffee to go but it was not very good so we opted to breakfast at the Starbucks around the corner. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the room was clean but overall for the price, I didn't think it was very good value.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Cocobonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson USA
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We spent two comfortable nights: very good bed, quiet room (the noisiest neighbors were the seagulls), very good shower, no charge for parking as another reviewer had. The breakfast is not up to better hotel or usual B&B standards however: nothing hot, hard-boiled egg only, no toaster or microwave, limited fruit offering, coffee just okay and in small cups. Didn't try the TV as we were so busy exploring Monterey; the Merritt is in a great central location for that! An easy walk to Fisherman's Wharf or the commercial wharf, to pick up the Monterey Coastal path, to catch the free municipal "trolley car" to take you to the Aquarium or Cannery Row if you don't want to walk. Also close to interesting restaurants and bars, the conference center, the old Presidio area, Customs House, museums, etc. Fran at the front desk was very helpful with recommendations and directions. Be sure you pick up the city map--the old streets of Monterey and Pacific Grove can be confusing!

Room Tip: We stayed in the newer motel/condo section, didn't find it objectionable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redwinterTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We arrived around 8pm and this was the first downtown motel we stopped at. edmund was on duty very nice and helpful. first room we had the door was broken glad we moved it had no desk and an old tv. next room was better but toilet moved which was interesting!
TV has three remotes and unclear instructions also fire place instructions say "just light me" but like others have said ni brick to light.
breakfast is basic motel food hard eggs bread pastries fruit yogurt nothing wrong with it.
This is an older motel with some charm but if you like four star and above then not a good option.
It's in the main road and we were woken by the rubbish truck each morning but it's a great location for walking to downtown and Fishermans Wharf. we were not charged for parking and found all staff to be friendly. i would probably not stay here again but wouldn't say don't stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandyshaw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed one night traveling south on Hgw 1. Would've stayed longer had it not been so ridiculously expensive just being an Inn. The service was kind and the rooms were more of a charming and clean motel style than the historic styke implied. Location good. Walking distance to the sea and downtown. Breakfast adequate but breakfast room was way too small and many guest had to sit outside. Luckily the weather was good. Free wifi.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#9 of 55 in Monterey
582 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#18 of 55 in Monterey
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.0 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#17 of 55 in Monterey
1,265 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merritt House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merritt House Inn

Property: Merritt House Inn
Address: 386 Pacific St, Monterey, CA 93940-2445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Merritt House Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Merritt House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merritt House Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing