We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly waiter and good service - ok drinks”
Review of Johnny Rockets

Johnny Rockets
Ranked #86 of 301 Restaurants in Monterey
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Friendly waiter and good service - ok drinks”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Popped in for a late drink. Fun style 50s diner with juke box controls at table although ours did not work. Waiter was friendly and unlike in Lori's diner in SF did not react badly when he found out that all we wanted were drinks. Coffee was average but kids enjoyed sodas and shakes. Located in heart of Cannery Row and seemed to stay open a bit later than some of the other places.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClarissaCarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    65
    17
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Fun”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Great service, well worth a visit. 1st time I have seen them and was attracted by décor/ambience. Food was reasonable priced and loved the executive milkshakes

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BuffyKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“50's style diner - food was fantastic.. service lacking but they were seeking help”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stopped in to try their advertised build your own burger and ended up trying something else but wanted to take a minute to give them some feedback. They were advertising for more help and we knew when we walked in they were really busy. The food was worth the wait and when we did get the staff's attention it was really good. I could tell they were trying and just really overwhelmed.

Back to the food. Like most people we eat burgers everywhere and without a doubt these were some of the best we have had anywhere. The fries were also really good. I'll now actively seek out this chain eatery and go in if I have the chance.

Hire some more people so your service doesn't knock you out of the competition.. not everyone is so king. :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rmbln_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
331 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Great Burgers”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

High Again Folks, Johnny Rockets is a relatively new addition to the Cannery Row Scene. The burgers were great and so was the menu. The service was a little slow but we got to look around and enjoy. I you are a fan of big sloppy burgers like I am, drop on by and bring the family. Regards, OldeBear.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OldeBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gautier, Mississippi
Level Contributor
313 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Slow service, decent burger.”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

This is more of a fun place than a dining destination. Period décor, little juke boxes at the tables, dancing staff. It took 10-15 minutes for a waiter to appear. Maybe some confusion as to whose table it was. The food took a while. We were ready to bail when we saw our order sitting on the pick up counter. Luckily, nothing was cold. The burgers were very good but skip the onion rings. I doubt I would come here again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gtonic63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny Rockets also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Johnny Rockets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing