We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! A must do!”

Monterey Bay Kayaks
Ranked #1 of 41 Tours in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: 2 Amazing paddling locations - Monterey & Elkhorn Slough in Moss Landing! Kayak and standup paddleboard rentals, guided tours, classes and sales both locations. Open Daily 8:30 (except Christmas Day). Closing hours change seasonally.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wow! A must do!”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

The team at monterey bay kayaks ( Elkorn Slough) was efficient, friendly and knowledgeable. We saw sea otters, seals, california sea lions, pelicans, many types of other birds. 35$ For a whole day of kayaking with all the equipement was REALLY a deal!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank halifaxcub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    488
    56
    6
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We had a two hour tour, the 4.00 p.m. slot. Luckily it was just the two of us and our guide, Richie. I was a bit nervous as I hadn't used a kayak for years, but it was a really great experience. He showed us so many interesting things that you wouldn't even know existed from the shore. Loved seeing the otter munching away at a crab! And all the interesting wildlife tucked under the jetty. Kayaking back at the end was fun as we avoided swimmers, canoeists and fishermen! A very friendly outfit, as others have said they'll look after your stuff at the counter and kit you out with all you need. Wonderful experience that I'm so glad we did. Would highly recommend.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Trupti W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Elkhorn Slough 3 hr tour”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We 4, including 2 teens did tour with Mason and Rachel and had a great time. Was first time so was worried about stamina, but did ok. Saw pelicans, otters, seals, sea lions, jelly fish. I loved it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank logansrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Recommend the tour - EXCELLENT!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We took the 2 hour Monterey bay tour with Joel, which was excellent! We decided to take the 9am tour as we heard that the winds tend to get up later in the day. We only wore our togs and didn't bother with any footwear, they provide wind jackets and wetsuits which was enough to keep up warm. I took a bottle of water on the kayak with me. You can leave all your other personal items in the car or at the office. Be warned that if parking, don't forget to pay and display - you will be towed if not.

Not only is this tour exceptionally informative about the local marine life, it's a stunning way to see this beautiful bay. You'll be in double kayaks and they will give you instructions on the beach before heading out, so rest assured if you've never been kayaking before they won't just toss you in the kayak.

The weather was beautiful and calm so the kayaking was relatively easy. We paddled out to Cannery row beachfront which sounded like quite a long way but didn't take as long as we imagined.

I was over the moon when we saw otters (YAY), as well as seals, sea lions, birds and DOLPHINS!!

Joel is a great character, very friendly, funny and knowledgeable.

This is a great activity!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Buggerem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun at a Price”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

To clarify, it was genuinely a lot of fun. I was visiting a friend in Monterey for a week who then took me to MBK for my first ever ocean kayaking experience. The staff was kind, the location was awesome, the kelp forest along with otters and jellies made it even better but once again the price was rather hefty just to take out a double kayak for a few hours. I believe that it being seasonal during the height of tourist season increased the price but if you have the money to burn and want fun in the historic waters of Monterey Bay, look no further.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventureAddict93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monterey Bay Kayaks also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Monterey Bay Kayaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing