We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Caffe Trieste

Caffe Trieste
Ranked #27 of 301 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Established in 1956. Caffe Trieste opened the first coffee house on the West Coast in 1956. Since then, Caffe Trieste has been serving up optimum quality Espresso coffee and fabulous music for well over a half a century in San Francisco. Giovanni Giotta - THE FOUNDER, who in 1950 had emigrated to San Francisco, California, from the small fishing town of Rovigno, Italy (now part of Croatia). Missing the espresso houses of Trieste, Italy, Giotta opened his own cafe. Caffe Trieste is said to be the first espresso house on the West Coast. Now, Caffe Trieste brings its fabulous coffee and tradition to Monterey Peninsula. Enjoy superb Coffee drinks, gourmet pastries and a light fare Italian menu in casual setting.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
381 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We had lunch twice. The salad on the first day was a bit dry but the scramble was excellent specifically the roasted potatoes. The price is right and you get a good size meal.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank hiking-har
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    95
    20
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo
Level Contributor
103 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Perfect!!!”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

The staff is really nice, helping with the menu.. I had a panini and iced mocha - maybe one of the best in town!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mapels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
180 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Second Time Just As Good”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Dined here on my own on a business trip to Monterey. Great little Italian place. I was in the mood for something simple so had them make a pizza for me. Stone oven cooked with a great sauce. It was simple but really good. Recommend for a simple casual night out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank es_in_tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco bay area, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“great breakfast and good price”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Every time we've eaten here...or stopped in for latte..etc the food and drinks were great. It's and order at the counter and wait at your table for food delivery kind of place. Does take credit cards. Easy walk from Fisherman's wharf area and tables outside as well. Well priced considering the tourist are location....park in one of several nearby lots (not free sadly) or if you are really lucky..on the street (2 hour ...closely enforced). Can be slow food delivery if it's crowded and lots of folks ordering complicated dishes.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anniecat1242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sensational breakfast! ”
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Went for breakfast around 7:30 so it was still very quiet inside. I got the oatmeal which was the best oatmeal I've ever had! My mom got the original French toast which was super light and delicious. The coffee is wonderful as well, we got a soy cappuccino and americano which were great. Definitely go for breakfast!

Helpful?
Thank Kelsey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Trieste also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Caffe Trieste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing