We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Ranked #23 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible experience”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

DO NOT waste your money!!!!!!! All I can say is, dirty, old, flea bag, over charged room. Not safe, because doors don't fit doorway. Rips in curtains, mean staff, and we couldn't wait to get out of there. D O N' T S T A Y H E R E !!!!!!!

Room Tip: There aren't any good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rochelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

First let me apologize that your stay with us was not up to your satisfaction. There is no point in making excuses however, I can assure you that we will use your comments to improve for future guest staying at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    450
    217
    66
    55
See reviews for
313
406
68
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

For $60 I got a nice clean room. Plus I showed up at 2:00 and even though a person isn't supposed to check in until 3:00, the man let me in early. I thought that was great because I needed a nap. I honestly diid not try the breakfast because I was up at 5:00AM to head out fishing. I thoight it was a good price and itwas near the downtown and the Fisherman's Wharf.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birchbarkcanoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent comments about your stay at the Monterey Downtown Days Inn. We were happy to hear that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable and found great value with the rates that you paid. We look forward to seeing you on your next fishing trip! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in the annex rooms across the road on Munras, 2nd floor nice clean large room with a bay window.
There was an elevator which was good as we had heavy bags and an infant child to cope with.
The beds were comfortable.
The TV didn't work initially, but after calling the front desk a staff member arrived very quickly and fixed the problem which was something to do with the Cable.
The breakfast room was inconvenient as it is in the main building, the food was basic and the bagels seemed a little stale.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shesuwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your recent review of your stay at the Monterey Downtown Days Inn. I see that you stayed in one of our Ocean View rooms which are very popular for there additional size and views of Monterey Bay. We appreciate your suggestions as we are always looking to improve our services. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, CT, USA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I was a solo traveller. I wanted something of a reasonable price since there was only me. This hotel is within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row, the Aquarium etc. There are plenty of restaurants nearby and even a Trader Joe's (which I used). The room is not at all fancy....perhaps even a little 'dated' but the price was very good. Bed comfortable. Breakfast OK for a quick start to the day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you sharing your most recent experience at the Monterey Downtown Days Inn. We are always pleased to hear that a guest finds good value at our location. Our staff works hard so that each guest experience is enjoyable so that they will choose our hotel for future stays. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the great surrounding as we are walking distance to the many shops and dining of Downtown Monterey and Fisherman's Wharf. we look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed here one night while visiting Monterey. Nice clean room with hot shower at very good rate. Breakfast is OK, but if you need more there is Danny's just around the corner. Location is good, walking distance to the warf, Trader Joe's just 2 blocks away. At one point I wanted to ask front desk clerk for directions, but there was no one at the desk, I waited for a bit and then left.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turist123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments about your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit to Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Monterey Inn
0.3 mi away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#34 of 55 in Monterey
530 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#25 of 55 in Monterey
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Monterey Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Property: Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Address: 850 Abrego St, Monterey, CA 93940-3104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Monterey Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Launch your California getaway from Days Inn Monterey hotel, where value and friendly service come included. You are going to love being just four blocks from historic downtown Monterey, five blocks from Fisherman’s Wharf and only one mile from celebrated Cannery Row when you stay at our Monterey, CA, hotel. Our Monterey, CA, hotel near Monterey Bay Aquarium offers air-conditioned rooms equipped with modern conveniences like a refrigerator and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Start each day with free and delicious Daybreak breakfast then take a dip in our outdoor hot tub. We offer a variety of rooms to suit your needs, including king rooms with an ocean view or fireplace, non-smoking rooms and Jacuzzi suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Days Inn Monterey Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Monterey Downtown Hotel Monterey
Monterey Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing