We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little MOTEL.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Monterey Downtown to your Saves list
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   850 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #31 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice little MOTEL.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed at this Motel for one night 31st Oct.Very friendly staff,the room was clean & cosy shower hot.Coffee maker,iron & ironing board,plus hair drier.Just a 10 min walk to town with plenty of options for evening meals we had a lovely meal & a couple of good beers in the Britania they were also holding a fancy dress evening as it was Halloween good night out.Walk a little further & you are at Fishermans Wharf plenty of fish eateries here watch out for theSealions! Monterey is a very nice town & Days Inn a good place to stay.Good breaky too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malmfelixstowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent feedback about your stay at our hotel. We were happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our central location and walk to the many sites and sounds that Monterey has to offer. Halloween is fun time to be in Monterey and the Britania is local and tourist favorite. We truly appreciate your recommendation and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This fine hotel was centrally located to all the exciting downtown shops and the Monterey Aquarium. The check-in process was a breeze and the entire staff were very pleasant and service-oriented. Breakfasts were tasty and well balanced. Our room was spacious and had everything needed for a comfortable stay. We enjoyed our wonderful week at Days Inn Monterey Downtown.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are quieter than rooms on the lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CRL1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Monterey Downtown Days Inn. Our staff was so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff works very hard to provide clean comfortable rooms and excellent customer service. As you mentioned our hotel is centrally located, walking distance to downtown Monterey shops and restaraunts. we look forward to your next visit to our hotel and the Monterey area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I'm glad the previous poster had a better experience than we did... there was no attendant at the front desk for at least 20 minutes when we arrived and when someone finally did show up he was very rude to us because we "rang the bell." We were intimidated and didn't ask any questions about the breakfast because of his attitude. The lobby was locked up tight the next morning so we didn't get breakfast... we had no idea where to go. We could not get a copy of our receipt even though we asked it to be e-mailed to us. The room was exceptionally clean - but the front desk ruined the entire experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FunInMidland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

First let me apologize for the experience you had during your stay. There is nothing that I can say or do to correct your recent experience. What I can assure you of is that your comments will be used to improve all areas of our hotel. As you can see from the countless reviews we have had that past customers have complimented the hotel on our level of service, freindly staff and excellent housekeeping. We are are always striving to improve each guest experience and will continue to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monterey hotels

uk
Level Contributor
330 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

check in was very efficient and pleasant staff, room was in second building accross the road.

rooms were very spacious, clean and tidy. lift available to all floors. area was very quite but within walking distance of main street.

breakfast area very spacious and usual breakfast available.

all staff very pleasant and well kept hotel, wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fozzie555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are so pleased to hear about your positive experience during your stay at the Monterey Downtown Days Inn. I will share your thoughts with our staff as they are always eager to hear how each guest experience was during there stay. I am particularly pleased to hear your thoughts as I can see that you are well traveled by the 122 Review contributions and Reviews in 60 cities! As many guests have mentioned we were happy to hear you enjoyed our large guest rooms and central location which is walking distance to downtown Monterey and Fisherman's Wharf. We look forward to you next visit to Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
1.9 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 504 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf/Aquarium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,687 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Monterey Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Address: 850 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#12 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Monterey Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Launch your California getaway from Days Inn Monterey hotel, where value and friendly service come included. You are going to love being just four blocks from historic downtown Monterey, five blocks from Fisherman’s Wharf and only one mile from celebrated Cannery Row when you stay at our Monterey, CA, hotel. Our Monterey, CA, hotel near Monterey Bay Aquarium offers air-conditioned rooms equipped with modern conveniences like a refrigerator and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Start each day with free and delicious Daybreak breakfast then take a dip in our outdoor hot tub. We offer a variety of rooms to suit your needs, including king rooms with an ocean view or fireplace, non-smoking rooms and Jacuzzi suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Wyndham, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Days Inn Monterey Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Monterey Downtown Hotel Monterey
Monterey Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing