We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for....?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Ranked #24 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    377
    188
    57
    53
See reviews for
267
346
57
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Right on the edge of the old historic town, with a Denny’s less than 3 minutes walk away. We stayed in the annex to the motel- which is across a quiet road. Oddly you could walk from the parking lot to the first floor directly (or any of the others), so even though we were on the first floor – we had to get the lift from the car park! The room was a typical old style American motel, huge, loads of space, but slightly dated furnishings. Most importantly the bed was large and comfy. Breakfast was basic but fine – tea/coffee and pasties with some basic cereals. We skipped it on our last day and headed for a massive (and expensive) breakfast in Carmel instead.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tompel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your most recent stay at the Monterey Downtown Days Inn. We appreciate your business and taking the time to share with us your experience. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed our rooms in our Annex building as they provide some added space for our guests. Although the architechture of our hotel is common to our area and all hotels match our design due the simular times they were built we understand it is different than other areas of the US. We feel that Monterey is very unique and the hotels in the area are different than the cookie cutter designs that exist today. We hope you enjoyed your time and Monterey and look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
147 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed in a Kingroom with Ocean view in a separate building across the street. It was a really huge room with 4 big windows facing the ocean. There are some low buildings in front, but you really can see the Ocean!! We had room # 333 at the top of the building, so nobody above you and it was very quit. The interior is'nt that new any more, but very clean. The room has a TV, fridge, coffee/tea, microwave and hairdryer The king bed sleeps very good. The motel is in walking distance from the centre and Fisherman's Wharf. The check-inn was very quick and professional and breakfast was simple. It's a very good deal for the price!

Room Tip: Room 333 is a nice quit room with oceanview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngieV2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest

I am so pleased that you were able to stay with us during your recent trip up the beautiful coast of northern Califnornia. I see that you enjoyed the comforts of our Ocean View rooms which are very popular among travelers who visit our hotel. We appreciate the all the compliments in regard to our guestrooms and I will share your appreciation with our staff as they take much pride in there work to provide each guest with the best possible experience. We are constantly working to improve all aspects of our business and appreciate your all of your suggestions. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Over the years I have found that the Days Inn chain has gone downhill in quality, service, etc. After reading the numerous positive reviews about The Days Inn Monterey Downtown, I decided to give it a chance. I'm glad I did. The location was perfect; near the Wharf, historic Monterey, near the Monterey Trail, 5 minute walk to Peet's Coffee and Trader Joes, etc. I stayed in the Ocean View building and was able to leave the windows open and hear the seals in the morning. Upon my arrival, Sam was most accomodating and friendly. He also let me know about the weekly market held down the street in the evening. This was a perfect location for everything I could want. The room was clean upon arrival and housekeeping did a wonderful job throughout the week. The refrigerator was handy to store yogurt and drinks. I hope to return to Monterey in the next few years, and as long as Sam is still there, I will most definitely be laying my head down at The Days Inn. Thank you for a stress free week!! (inadvertenly check off the swimming pool in rating---I have no idea how it was, didn't use it (if there is one)

Room Tip: I highly recommend the ocean view building. While it's not a full view, you definitely get a tas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank firegal2068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing you experience while on vacation in Monterey. We are so delighted that you chose our hotel and provided us the oppurtunity to take care of your lodging needs. As you mentioned our hotel is very centrally located and walking distance to most of the major attractions in Monterey. I appreciate you pointing out the efforts of our manager, Sam as he works so hard to make each guest stay comfortable and "stress free" as you mentioned. I will make sure to share your comments with Sam as he takes tremendous pride in his customer service. We hope you do return in the next few years and visit Sam and the Days Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 3 days and loved it. The room was very clean, linens on the bed were great, bathroom linens a little rough. The view was beautiful and with the windows open a little at night we could hear the sea lions barking. We will definately go back next year. If the bay window was cleaned a little the whole room would have been perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel for your recent stay at the Monterey Downtown Days Inn. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Ocean View rooms as it is a favorite among many of our guests. I was also pleased to hear your comments about our room cleanliness as our housekeeping staff work very hard in assuring high guest satisfaction and a comfortable stay. We look forward to your next visit to our hotel and the Monterey Peninsula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I am writing this review for the motel part of the hotel not the ocean side view annexe that looks significantly different.

We stayed one night at this hotel on a tour of Western USA. It is a good motel style place that was a little more basic than the other hotels we stayed but still good.

The room was fairly compact for the USA but had a large comfortable bed, table and chairs, fridge, microwave, TV, coffee maker, iron and ironing board. We had a room on the ground floor next to the stairs so did get some noise from outside but I always wear earplugs anyway.

We had a free breakfast that was OK even if the breakfast room was a bit small.

Overall the hotel was basic but fine and we enjoyed a comfortable overnight stop.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the top and away from the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernPasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time posting you review about you stay at the Monterey Downtown Days Inn. We were pleased to hear that your room was comfortable and that you enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast. We look forward to your next visit to Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.6 mi away
Ramada Limited Monterey
Ramada Limited Monterey
#20 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 650 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium
1.9 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Monterey Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Property: Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Address: 850 Abrego St, Monterey, CA 93940-3104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Monterey Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Launch your California getaway from Days Inn Monterey hotel, where value and friendly service come included. You are going to love being just four blocks from historic downtown Monterey, five blocks from Fisherman’s Wharf and only one mile from celebrated Cannery Row when you stay at our Monterey, CA, hotel. Our Monterey, CA, hotel near Monterey Bay Aquarium offers air-conditioned rooms equipped with modern conveniences like a refrigerator and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Start each day with free and delicious Daybreak breakfast then take a dip in our outdoor hot tub. We offer a variety of rooms to suit your needs, including king rooms with an ocean view or fireplace, non-smoking rooms and Jacuzzi suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Days Inn Monterey Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Monterey Downtown Hotel Monterey
Monterey Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing