We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jacuzzi Queen Suite did NOT match website description”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Ranked #21 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed March 20, 2012

According to the Days Inn website, the Jacuzzi Fireplace Queen Suite is supposed to have: "2 Queen beds with 1 Queen sofa bed, separate Living room and Bedroom, 25" television with remote, tea/coffee maker, telephone, air conditioning, hairdryer, alarm clock radio, iron & board, free high-speed internet, free local calls, refrigerator & cable TV".

I had reserved a queen suite online before our trip and was excited to have a separate bedroom, so that our toddler could go to bed before us without problem. Well, when we got to our room, we were disappointed to find that the suite was merely a room with a fireplace (by the front door) and a separate room that was only big enough to fit the jacuzzi and a sink. There was NO separate bedroom. When I approached the front desk about it, he said that they didn't have any rooms that offered a separate bedroom from the living room. Had I known, I would have just booked a normal room. Unless you really want to have a large bathtub, save your money, and go for a normal double queen bed room. The location of the fireplace by the door made it very unappealing. Otherwise, the hotel was fine. I just don't appreciate the false advertising.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 115.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jm_2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

932 - 938 of 1,178 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2012

just stayed here for a spur of the moment weekend getaway. I was pleasantly surprised. the room did need some updating old tv., bed could have been better.but it did have a refrigerator and microwave,( not sure if all rooms did).smelled and looked fairly clean.location was very good. walking distance to down town. and if you want to stretch your legs a little more to fishermans wharf. maybe 2 miles my guess. a lot of restuarants and higher end hotels very close by. which i think says that its in a nice area. staff was nice and very welcoming. all in all a nice hotel

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank res0nshn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

This was the first stop on our coach tour and initial impressions were of a motel style appearance with a double row of rooms. Found it to be a bit basic and that the towels we had didnt appear to be the freshiest. Pleasantly surprised to have a complimentary breakfast included. Well able to walk to Fishersman Wharf from here and to explore that attraction.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marrowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed 8 nights at this motel. The price was great, the service was great and the rooms were very nice. The location is great too - just minutes (about 5 by car) away from all the tourist attractions. We plan to stay here again when we come to Monterrey.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelleene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We planned a last minute trip with friends to Monterey for New Years and I picked an upgraded oceanview room here and my friends picked another place a short block away...So glad we stayed here! Nice, very large room, great view, and good prices....The location is walking distance to downtown shops, restaurants, events at the plaza and the wharf...Looking forward to staying here next visit! By the way, our room was twice the size, nicer, had a cceanview and cheaper than our friends room... Yea!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 498Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed two nights and we werevery happy with spacious and clean rooms, very friendly front desk, great breakfast and quiet and close to town location. The facilities are very well maintained and a well above standard condition. This was the best place we stayed in two weeks of California. I would recommend it to all my friends.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc201333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Traveling for the holidays as a family of 4. Arriving about midnight, Yash, pleasantly greeted us as we drove in from LA. We reserved the jacuzzi suite which was upstairs corner unit (no elevator). Room was large, clean, and quiet. Bed was perfect! Pull out sofa for the children, refrigerator and microwave! Although, during our phone conversation, I requested for a rollaway bed ($10/night), since I was not informed that there is a pull out sofabed. As requested, the rollaway was in the room. Called front desk and Yash immediately removed the rollaway bed and I was not charged for it. Thank you! No complaints of location, as the mall, a wine store, and gas were near walking distance. Short drive to the wharf. I did have to clean the jacuzzi (brown bubbles) prior to enjoying it! I recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask and ye shall receive. Yash met our family needs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpearl_vm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#40 of 56 in Monterey
149 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
1.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
1.6 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#24 of 56 in Monterey
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Monterey Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Address: 850 Abrego St, Monterey, CA 93940-3104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $53 - $989 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Monterey Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Launch your California getaway from Days Inn Monterey hotel, where value and friendly service come included. You are going to love being just four blocks from historic downtown Monterey, five blocks from Fisherman’s Wharf and only one mile from celebrated Cannery Row when you stay at our Monterey, CA, hotel. Our Monterey, CA, hotel near Monterey Bay Aquarium offers air-conditioned rooms equipped with modern conveniences like a refrigerator and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Start each day with free and delicious Daybreak breakfast then take a dip in our outdoor hot tub. We offer a variety of rooms to suit your needs, including king rooms with an ocean view or fireplace, non-smoking rooms and Jacuzzi suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Days Inn Monterey Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Monterey Downtown Hotel Monterey
Monterey Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing