We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't pay a tourist rate”
Review of Otter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Otter Inn
Ranked #5 of 11 Monterey B&B and Inns
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wouldn't pay a tourist rate”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We received a decent rate to stay at the Otter Inn for a wedding in October and were underwhelmed by the property. Fortunately, the hotel was right on the waterfront and close to all the touristy attractions in Monterey. Not my first choice, but was decent.

The decor was incredibly outdated and dark, the bed old and squeaky. However, the property was clean and we felt fairly comfortable staying for three nights. Because of the state of the inn, we weren't inclined to be in our room for long, which prompted us to get out and see everything in the area, including a day trip down to Big Sur.

Probably wouldn't elect to stay here again. But was decent for the price we paid.

Room Tip: The higher floor you choose, the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kctravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    70
    65
    19
    32
See reviews for
62
82
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

My teens and I loved this place! It is not right on the water but it is close. Just a short couple blocks to the water, super easy to walk to cannery row. The Monteray Bay Aquarium is at the end of cannery row and worth a look. This hotel is close enough that at dinner on cannery row I was able to have a couple cocktails and not have to worry about driving anywhere. The rooms are clean and well kept, though maybe a little small. The price is very reasonable compared to the other hotels in the area, and well worth the compromise on the space. They are not tiny but a little small. My Dodge 1 ton fit in the parking garage, and there is an elevator in the garage. We would def. stay here again to save our pennies for shopping. My kids had a good time feeding the Segulls outside our room.

Room Tip: We stayed up on the top floor, and the kids liked feeding the gulls on the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momwith2teens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We returned to Monterey to hit the aquarium and see the great white. We loved the location and the cute outside of the hotel the first time we were there, and we were not disappointed with our stay. We arrived VERY early (about noon) and our room was not ready for check-in yet -- completely understandable. The man at the desk held our luggage for us so we could go kayaking instead of having to lug our belongings down the street. He was professional and courteous - he really could not have been nicer the whole time we were there. Our room was clean and the daily maid service was great too. They gave us a little basket of snacks - like breakfast bars, cereal bars, danishes and even some chex mix. The room had a larger-than-average hotel fridge. The windows open - like REALLY open - even though we were on the third floor. This hotel - like everything in Monterey - is OLD. The decor in our room was a little dated - mirrors that ran the full length/width of the walls, a fake fireplace/heater, and an old box style tv - but we didn't come to Monterey to hang out in the hotel room plus it was just amusing. Our only complaint about the room was the lack of outlets to charge cell phones and digital camera batteries and run the laptop -- but again the hotel was built WAY before the need for so many outlets.

Room Tip: The hotel is two blocks (small blocks) from the ocean, so you still see buildings even in the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darlene l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, NS
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed at the Otter Inn on our way down the Pacific Coast Highway. We had booked online and the price was high, but availability was very limited in and around Monterey as it was car auction/show week when we were there. We also wanted to be close to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. The hotel is within walking distance which was very convenient for us.

Check in was very efficient and the front desk guy was very helpful. There were plenty of information and tourism guides available in reception. Parking was easily accessible and plentiful.

We were in a double room on the second floor. The room was average size and clean. The beds were comfortable. The decor is dated and our room was very damp, but it was cool and foggy outside while we were there. The bathroom is large but there is little to no counter space. A little shelf unit would be a nice addition.

We made use of the basket of snacks for our trip to the aquarium. I had thought there might be some local, fresh pastries in the basket, but they were all packaged, grocery store kind of things. Convenient to have, but not remarkable.

The wifi didn't work in our room. We had to walk over by the hot tub above the reception area to get any signal.

The seagulls are unbelievable large and loud there! We live on the Atlantic coast and have our fair share of seagulls but I have never heard such noisy, rambunctions sea birds ever! They screached from about 4 am onward the first night. Luckily, they were absent the second night.

Overall our stay was pleasant enough. Monterey is beautiful and the aquarium is a remarkable destination, so the hotel suited our needs just fine.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wspears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

It isn't the top of the line as far as hotels go but we were happy with our experience here. The room was clean and inviting. We didn't know about the welcome basket so we were delighted to get the extras. There were some extra prepackaged bath product freebies (they looked like someone put them in the rooms in addition to the usual toiletries). After a day of sightseeing it was nice to have a soak in the hot tub. The desk clerk was totally a straight man...neither particularly engaging nor horribly rude (Just the facts M'am!) but he answered our questions perfectly and without hesitation. The hotel is so close to Cannery Row and that was our main point of interest here so we liked the location. The only thing that was disappointing was that there was no regular coffee in our room, only decaf. When I asked at the desk I was told that the hotel had been out of regular since the day before. I felt that someone should have corrected this problem as soon as they knew about it or at least informed us at check in because coffee is a big part of morning for a lot of people. All in all, I would choose the Otter Inn again.

Room Tip: The hot tub is on the second level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 60795HappyCamper16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

My husband and I had a terrible experience when we booked in this hotel. Not only it looked like a mausoleum but the front desk/manager was way too rude. When we checked-in on September 4, 2011, Sunday, we thought that everything was okay. The manager (which by the way didn’t mention her name) said that our room was ready and we could checked-in already. It was 2:30 p.m. She gave our card keys and complimentary basket and so went our way to our assigned room on the 4th floor using the slowest elevator on earth! We had the shock of lives when we saw our room! It was a total mess……linens, garbage, towels were scattered all over the floor, bathroom was filthy and it looked like it was just vacated a minute ago. In other words it hasn’t been cleaned yet. So I went down and asked the manager if she assigned the room correctly and she said yes. When I told I told her about the room she said that she’s going to send somebody to clean the room. So I went back again and waited and waited and waited. Fifteen minutes past and no one came in even to look at the room. So I went back down again to tell her that no one hasn’t come in yet to clean the room. She rudely replied saying that we actually came in too early (it’s already 2:50) that’s why they haven’t cleaned it yet. So I asked her politely if it’s their policy to clean the room at 3:00 p.m? What was so annoying was that there were about 3 people who checked-in and got their rooms ready while we were there ahead of them. The manager was giving me deadly look and asked me to go with her in the parking lot to give me a “lecture”. Obviously, I didn’t go with her because I didn’t know what else is she capable of doing (she's a huge woman) and told her if she wanted to talk to me then she could do it in the lobby where there were people who can witness her rude attitude. As a manager, you should know what’s going under watch and not just seat behind the counter doing nothing. She was never apologetic and didn’t care to watch her manners infront of other hotel guests. Very uneducated! To the owners of this hotel, if you want to save your business you shouldn’t let that devil manage your business. She doesn’t know anything!!! She had the nerve to cancel our reservation saying that she had the right to refuse service to anyone ….but on the other hand, it worked out just fine that way we didn’t get charge and we never had to stay in that horrible hotel

If you are looking for a hotel in Monterey, OTTER INN is not for you! People running this business will treat you like trash just like the hotel itself.

Btw, we managed to find a very classy hotel called SPINDRIFT INN along Cannery Row.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Aouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dslee, Guest Relations Manager at Otter Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
We are sorry to hear when any of our guests has a less than perfect experience at our establishment. The Guest came in around 2:30PM to check in, and their room was not ready yet. Our manager informed Guest that they were welcome to drop their bags off in the room while we prepare it. Earlier that morning other guests had come in and want to check in early as well. We informed them that their rooms were not ready, but they were welcome to leave their cars in our parking lot and return at 3 PM to check into their rooms. Those were the guests that were seen in the lobby that were being checked in at 3 PM. Guest observed this – and not knowing that they had already come to us in the morning – proceeded to be very voiferous and directly asked those individuals why they were being checked in and not her. Our manager – wanting to explain the situation to Guest discreetly and avoid upsetting the other guests – asked to speak to Guest outside the office. We apologize to Guest if she were offended by our wanting to speak with her outside the office.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed three nights. A good location for Cannert Roe and the Aquarium. It was quite clean and the drapes were sufficient to keep out the light. However, there were night lights in the room that were like a spot light. We had choice of the night lights or the lights turned on. The last were awakened at 2:30 AM by people laughing and making lots of noise next door. The walls are very thin and there is no sound barrier. They kept us awake for an hour. Needs updating. There was no sink stopper.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred1844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
0.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
0.9 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otter Inn

Property: Otter Inn
Address: 571 Wave St, Monterey, CA 93940-1426
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Otter Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel will be closed starting February 26th to undergo a full renovation. We look forward to welcoming you to the property in June 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Otter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Otter Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing