We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel at a nice location”
Review of Monterey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Hotel
Ranked #18 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel at a nice location”
Reviewed September 1, 2014

We walked into the hotel and immediately got the feel of a quaint , classic hotel. the rooms were small and nice.no mini bar,complimentary water etc in the rooms.
The biggest problem we had was the sound of the sea gulls right outside our window. we had a long tiring day and a good night's rest would have been excellent but the ruckus created by them was really annoying.
The breakfast was decent.
We stayed for 2 nights and except for the noise (not the hotel's fault), everything about the hotel was great.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaimalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    203
    104
    39
    34
See reviews for
96
277
42
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
las vegas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2014

This was a nice hotel . The only problem I had was that there was no early check in. I even called a day before to request it . Being that this is small hotel I can see why rooms were not available early. I arrived at 10am and couldn't get a room until 2. The staff gave me information on what to see in Monterey while I waited and they called me when my room was ready.

The room does not have a coffee maker . The morning buffet is ok and I could prepare a plate and hike up the 4 floors back to my room . This is a delightful hotel, just don't expect all of the features do large hotels.

Room Tip: The most important is that the hotel has 4 floors there is no elevator. Make sure you can climb the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ansoninc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This little hotel was for one overnight stay. The hotel is small but adequate for our needs. Feels like an old house , we had several flights of stairs to negotiate but staff brought our cases to the rooms. The room was bright and airy with old, tradititionally styled furniture which suited its features. The bathroom was quaint and well stocked with the usual items. Wi fi was free throughout the hotel. The hotel was central and staff good at advising about area and making recommendations. A basic buffet, self help breakfast was included with the room rate.Juice/tea/coffee, cereal and range of muffins, fruit and yogurt. The room was very quiet and we had a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: if you have mobility issues remember there are lots of stairs and no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank puddleplum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel is charming and different than the others in the area. It is a great choice if you want to be walk out to bars and restaurants or the water, which is what we wanted. I wish it had A/C in the rooms and a working elevator, but if you can deal with those two things then it's a great choice. It really is a great choice for many, but it won't work for everyone (if you can't walk up 3-4 flights of stairs easily it's not for you). Overall, we enjoyed our stay and I would definitely stay here again.

Pros
* Unique and charming, doesn't feel like a typical hotel
* Comfortable beds and very nice decor
* You can walk right out the door to bars/restaurants/shopping
* Close to the water
* Free trolley takes you to Cannery Row
* We could see the ocean from our room

Cons
* No A/C - this means you have to leave the windows open (if it's warm) and listen to a lot of street noise and tons of seagulls. Yes you expect them since it's by the water, but you will hear them all day and all night--and they are loud.

* No elevator. We stayed on the 4th floor and loved our king suite, but the walk up the stairs started to wear on us. This hotel will not work for the elderly or people with certain disabilities.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nataliej925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

This is such a cool little hotel, its old and has so much character, the rooms are small but they are really nice, if you like the victorian style this is for you. Everyone is super nice and the location is perfect. There is tons of restaurants and bars on that same street. This place is very clean, and colorful. I would stay here again for sure. Value is great. (half as much and another hotel in that area)

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor the elevator doesn't work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edinchavez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

PROS: great location--short walking distance to wharf, close to cafes, restaurants, Starbucks, Walgreens..to name a few. Clean & well-maintained, and nicely decorated with old Victorian furniture--especially for a 100+ year old hotel. Decent-sized King room, clean bathroom. Friendly, helpful staff. Complimentary continental breakfast that serves the basics--not a big selection, but decent for someone who doesn't need a big breakfast.
CONS: No working elevator--walking up the 4 floor wasn't all that bad. Water in shower kept on alternating with very hot & very cold water. Wi-Fi not working in later afternoon time each day--but it's free!
OVERALL: Nice clean hotel in a good locations..would return..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlohaSpirit808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#11 of 55 in Monterey
517 reviews
1.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 55 in Monterey
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Hotel

Property: Monterey Hotel
Address: 407 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940-2705
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing