We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambiance for a Vacation / Weekender, not a business hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monterey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monterey Hotel
Ranked #20 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ambiance for a Vacation / Weekender, not a business hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

This is a sweet Victorian hotel with a fireplace in the lobby and antique furniture through out the hotel. It was clean. The staff is nice. In the morning there is a continental breakfast with fruit, yogurt, toast/ bagels, pastries, and cereals,which they tell you about when you check-in. One thing to note: This is a multifloor hotel with NO ELEVATOR. There are no guest rooms on the ground floor. If you have a lot of stuff, you or the bell staff have to bring it to your room. Be aware that you can hear the plumbing when your neighbour uses the shower. I could also hear people talking in the hallway and sitting area. It reminded me of visiting with family. If you are a light sleeper like to go to bed early, this may not be the place for you. There is no parking except for street parking and parking lots near by but the is a block or so away. Valet is not bad, but be aware there is about a 10 minute minimum wait for the valet, so call the desk a little before you need to take-off.

The hotel is located in the heart of the downtown area near the wharf so there are cafes and restaurants close to the hotel. This is not near the Monterey Bay Aquarium.

This is a charming hotel with a small staff. If you are coming to relax and can take your time this is a really nice place to be. This is not a business hotel, no frigerators in the room; a ceiling fan, not air conditioning; no room service or dinner downstairs. Service depends on who is on staff, it is a slower pace, but not a bad place to stay on the whole.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the stairs and major walking areas. If you can get a room with no neighbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaynesAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    186
    90
    34
    32
See reviews for
79
240
40
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
forresters beach nsw
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Monterey Hotel is perfectly located in beautiful Monterey. An easy 10 minute stroll around the waterfront to the Aquarium and pier.The staff,dressed in period costume, were very helpful and add to the charm of the hotel. Rooms were spacious and well maintained. Breakfast was generous and served in the charming old world setting all at a very reasonable price!.Plenty to do and see in the area so spend a couple of nights.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bgcox098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

A very quaint hotel with a lot of character. The room was very comfortable and clean. It had free wifi but no fridge or coffee maker though. Breakfast was included and had a good selection of bagels, muffins, yoghurt, cereal, fruit, coffee, juices etc. There's also a microwave and packets of porridge and a toaster.The location of the hotel is excellent next to bars, restaurants and shops and within 5 mins walk of the pier. We opted for valet parking at $17 which we thought was well worth it (its $10 to park anyway). Be warned though that there is no functioning lift for guests! We were on the fourth floor. The porter took our cases up and down for us. The lady on reception was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: I room on a higher floor is quieter but be aware that there is no functioning lift for guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

I very pleased with this delightful Hotel. It has old Time charm. Very clean, smell good and remodel
beautifully. The staff was very nice. The Location is great within walking distance of Restaurants and shops. We enjoyed staying there very much.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patilu333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appledore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Very nice older hotel with character. True, it doesn't have all the mod cons of a modern hotel but the charm and friendly staff make up for this and our room was very comfortable
Breakfast is good with a good selection of bagels, muffins, yoghurt, fruit, coffee, juices etc.
Very good location with bars, restaurants and shops right outside the door and within 5 mins walk of the pier.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TogComo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We were in Monterey for a convention. Because the host hotel was booked up, we stayed at the Monterey Hotel one night. The hotel is close to restaurants and eateries and tourist destinations. It is a short walk from the beach and short walk from a city park. It is a charming quaint hotel which brings you back to the turn of the century. The downstairs lobby is a great gathering place to talk with friends or other visitors.

We were on the fourth floor in a rather small room with a limited view of the street. The hotel is not modern and up to date. We walked up four flights of stairs as there was no elevator, but we found the hotel to be an interesting excursion into another time period. The hotel was fun to explore. The bath was simply furnished with white granite tile. There was no hair dryer nor was there a coffee maker which would have made the room more inviting and livable. The room could be more favorably furnished and painted.

We were pleasantly surprised by the large breakfast provided in the morning. The breakfast included a wide range of fruit, cereals, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, toast, rolls, juices, coffee and tea.

All in all, the Monterey Hotel was a good value for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the main street if a view is important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank berg2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desert Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 days while he was on a business trip. The Monterey delivers exactly what it promises. Comfortable beds, pleasant helpful staff. We were upgraded to a fireplace suite room on the 3rd floor. True, the elevator doesn't work, but who can't walk up a flight or two of stairs? Help with luggage was offered. Breakfast was nicely presented, great coffee, but simple. Location was perfect - right on Alvarado Street, a block from where his meetings were, 2 blocks from the wharf. I loved feeling like I was in old time Monterey, not in a "big box" hotel that could have been anywhere. Free, high-speed internet is included. As a 110 year old building it has charm. A little walking noise from the room above could be heard, but it was negligible. Valet parking was convenient and timely, we followed their recommendation of giving 15 minutes notice, usually took much less than that. I would go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite and a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamajudy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.3 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#18 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#13 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#33 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Hotel

Property: Monterey Hotel
Address: 407 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940-2705
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Monterey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing