We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, nice old hotel & good continental breakfast.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Monterey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monterey Hotel
Ranked #18 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great location, nice old hotel & good continental breakfast.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

There was a farmers market in the street where the hotel is on the night of our arrival - we had to do a slight detour but no big deal. Local multi storey car park is 200 yards away and only $7 per 24 hours. Nice old traditional hotel, pleasant and accommodating staff. The lack of a lift is no big deal - porter will take your luggage no problem. Would stay next time we visit Monterey.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    192
    95
    35
    32
See reviews for
84
258
41
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here recently for 2 nights when visiting Monterey. We found this hotel to be a perfect fit for out needs. It's location is right downtown within close walking distance to the wharf, cannery row, etc. There is the option for valet parking, but we used a parking garage close by (7$ for 24hr). The staff were very kind and pleasant. The hotel has a beautiful Victorian decor throughout it and make it feel like a fancier hotel. There is a decent complimentary breakfast that at least gets you started for the day. When readings previous reviews about the noise, I was a bit worried going into the trip. But, honestly we didn't have any problems with noise from the street (we were staying during the middle of the week). There were a lot of seagulls in the area that we could hear early in the morning, but it didn't bother us. Thought that the prices are very reasonable given the location and nice feel that the hotel has. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PDXbuckeye8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed here Sunday, March 23rd on a booking from Expedia for $60/night. WOW. The Hotel was built in 1904, the decor is replicas of beautiful carved beveled mirrors, chairs, fainting couches, 8' tall secretaries, side tables, gorgeous headboards. We stayed in room 303. There is no elevator, so it is a little hike up beautiful carpeted steps, you can take a breather on the landing, maybe faint on the couch or sette. Room was small, bed comfortable, marble floor in small bathroom. I think it was considered huge "back in the day". Shower flows like Niagara. Shower wall mount dispenser has shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, but not bar soap. With California drought in full force, this place could use some lo flo shower heads. Breakfast was in a large room with fresh roses on each table, a great selection: Seattle's Best coffee, cold and hot (instant oatmeal) cereal, apples, great selection of teas, big bagels, jelly, honey, cream cheese, assorted delicious muffins, oj, you get the picture. NO PARKING, need to use the all day park for $7 in parking structure. A little considered as we brought our bikes on a rack. It does have charm, you are a walk away from the wharf, shops, restaurants, just enjoy like! Walls are thin if the neighbors are noisy, you can hear a lot of hallway noise, and the light from the hallway lights up your room at night, but there is no elevator noise. Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bella1035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Very pleasant stay. The room was extremely small, just enough space for a bed and 1 person to move around it, very clean and comfortable and conveniently located. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Skip breakfast.


  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Mary Anne A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We weren't sure what to expect after reading the mixed reviews of this hotel. We decided to go for it because they had rooms available for our last minute get-away. We were not disappointed. The hotel was located a few blocks away from Fisherman's Wharf, so we walked everywhere after parking the car a few blocks away (for $7). There is a great walking/biking path nearby which we took to get to most places. No, there is not an elevator, but we knew that ahead of time because we read their website. We stayed on the 4th floor and didn't mind taking the stairs. We were also aware that we would have to park a few blocks away. Upon arrival, we were able to pull up in front of the hotel and park for 1 hour while we unloaded the car and got settled in. The room was clean and we were able to see a little bit of the ocean from our window, which I thought was a nice surprise. The breakfast included fruit, bagels, croissants, muffins, oatmeal, cereal, yogurt, coffee, tea, OJ, etc. So it was plenty for us to eat to start our day. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is located near a bar so there was some noise in the evening. I wore earplugs but my boyfriend didn't - we both slept great. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely return to this classic hotel.

Room Tip: We booked a room on the 4th floor in order to be further away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Ok so it's old which they translated into quaint. What I experienced was no parking, no elevator (I was on the 4th floor), cable kept going out, wifi wouldn't work, lights out in the bathroom and just to top it off, the power wouldn't run my blow dryer. Not my idea of a good experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.4 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#12 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#16 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
1.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Hotel

Property: Monterey Hotel
Address: 407 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940-2705
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing