We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monterey Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Stevenson Monterey(Monterey)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$176
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Monterey Marriott(Monterey)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$183
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Spindrift Inn(Monterey)
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Monterey Bay Inn(Monterey)
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$343
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Hotel Abrego(Monterey)
$209
$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa(Monterey)
$198
$179
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (738)
Filter reviews
738 results
Traveler rating
237
269
133
55
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
237
269
133
55
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric roomsgreat locationhistoric sectionfisherman's wharfstreet noisefarmers marketfireplace suiteantique furniturecharming hotelrooms are smallalvarado streetbagelscontinental breakfastwalking distancevalet parkinglight sleeperfree trolley
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
521 - 526 of 738 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Found this one by chance while driving south the Highway One. Nothing special really: rooms weared out, bad sound insulation, you could clearly hear discussions goung on in the neighbouring rooms as well as the street racket. Very modest breakfast. Location however is good, Cannery Row is 15 minutes walk away and worth a visit. Otherwise, probably wouldn´t pick up this one again. I can understand that the retro-feeling that surrounds you the very moment you enter the hotel may be positive but not for us, not for this time arriving tired, thirsty and hungry. The guy in the reception had a good sense of humour, though.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jussi t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We were lucky to have found this hotel. It was centrally located, just a four minute walk to the wharf. Only about 2 miles from cannery row and aquarium. The room was a little cramped but it worked well for our night in Monterey. They had a gentleman at the front desk that was very polite and provided us with excellent service. In fact, everyone at this hotel was very friendly. The only setback was a shortage in one of the lamps and a small television. We reported it and they came up to investigate right away. While we do not have any physical limitations, I should mention that their elevator was not working. This may be a deterrent for those who do. Parking was slightly inconvenient since parking on the street is limited until 10 am the next day and the structure is about two blocks away. I would definitely stay again at this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room away from the street and we did not hear any noise.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M1978_capuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Driving in late on a Friday evening we stopped at the tourist information booth in Monterey. Most hotels were already booked but the counter person suggested the Monterey Hotel downtown close to all things. She said it was an older hotel with no elevators but it was clean and well maintained. We were quoted a very good price, so we decided to take a chance.
What a great experience. Upon pulling up, we found a very helpful bellman, a friendly and knowledgeable front dest person and a wonderful atmosphere. The room was small, but a queen bed and a tv was all one needs along with a large bathroom. The halls were decorated with antique furniture, tables, lounges etc. A very peaceful and quiet night. The included continental breakfast was held in the "breakfast" room with linen and flowers on the tables, and stainless cutlery (not plastic). We enjoyed it so much we booked another night. An excellent well run older hotel.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem the 2nd floor is high enough. Don't be cheap and use the bellman and valet. Its a great service and well worth it. The room rates here are half the rest of Monterey, so one should be able to indulge in extra service.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is an old historic hotel in Downtown Monterey. The interior is nice and clean and when you enter it's as if you have stepped back in time and expect to see John steinbeck in the lobby. All of the interior floors have clean carpets and antiques on all the floor lobbies. The rooms are small and there is no air conditioning. For me, the beds where too soft and the pillows where waffer thin. The staff of the hotel are friendly and helpful. Also be advised that the hotel is doing construction and there are road crews working on the street outside.

NOTE: If you have a disability or cannot walk up stairs, don't stay here as the elevator/lift does not work. Four floors is a long way to lug luggage.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sgtburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights during our Pacific coast holiday in June. The rooms are a little small, but adequate and clean, the staff are friendly and informative and it was the only hotel during our entire trip (5 hotels in total) that offered a complementary continental breakfast and free wi-fi. It is a good 20 minute brisk walk from the famous aquarium. The main drawbacks for us were:
1. If you don't pay for the valet parking, the nearest public car park is about 2 blocks away.
2. There were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room, although there was a coffee shop next door.
3. If you are there on the market day, (which is a Tuesday I think but check first) it is picturesque, but they close the road outside the hotel, which makes access tricky and if you have a room at the front, the noise goes on till the small hours.
4. It's been mentioned by others, but our biggest problem was the NOISE. The hotel provide earplugs, which may work for you, but didn't for us. If you are a heavy sleeper it probably won't matter, but I wouldn't recommend a long stay if you are easily disturbed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews