We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“weekend in monterey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monterey Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Monterey Hotel
Ranked #26 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“weekend in monterey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

stayed at monterey hotel before, booked through expedia this time , I asked if all rooms had living room and bedroom .expedia said they did. but when I got there expedia had booked me in a room with no living room . I told the hotel that I had asked for room with bedroom and living room. the manager was great about the mixup, set us up with a room with bedroom and living room,sent a nice bottle of wine up. Very nice touch ! Nice romantic Hotel, in historic section of downtown Monterey,right in the middle of downtown and About 5 block to fisherman wharf . cannery row is about a mile .would defintely say at THE MONTEREY HOTEL AGAIN ! but would book though the hotel next time phone# 831-375-3184

Room Tip: get one of the rooms with both bedroom and livingroom . the ones without livingroom are very small w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cooks1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    178
    86
    34
    30
See reviews for
71
215
39
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had a wonderful experience staying here. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The hotel atmosphere is historic, charming and intimate. We will stay here again.

We enjoyed the breakfast, especially the coffe.


  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank CYNTHIA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Location of the hotel is just perfect! Located at walking distance to almost all places worth visitng in Monterey. The staff is very friendly, ready to help. No complaints about the size of the rooms, since this is a historic building. Wish there was an operational lift.

Room Tip: Location is just perfect. Walking distance to almost all places worth seeing in Monterey. The rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Candan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I have walked past this hotel on numerous occasions and finally booked a room this visit to Monterey. The location is great, just a couple blocks from Fisherman's wharf and Cannery Row is a leisurely 10 minute stroll on the marked trail on foot. This isn't more than a 2 star or so hotel. No gym, pool, etc. There is a spa there and if you step outside, Pubs, restaurants, theatres, coffee shops...you are IN downtown Monterey!. Room wasn't big at all. I was on 4th floor so even tho my queen suite was on the side, I was high enough to have a water view (standing and looking out) and a view down the other side. If I was drinking (more than I did) I would really dread that 4 flights of stairs as there is no elevator. This hotel was built in 1904 and the oldest around or maybe even in Cali and is charming with furniture and original flavor to match. I never use a gym or crap when visiting Monterey. If you are wanting a large fancy room and to be pampered with amenities, this isn't your place. If you want a quaint room and very friendly staff that stay out of your way unless needed, the location can't be beat.

Room Tip: I booked online and got a deal. Kings are facing front of building. Queens are all on the side (an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShannonLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I didn't have a choice but to stay here to go to a conference nearby, and we were on a budget, so the only place that was doable was this one, but even then I think this place is overpriced (maybe it's the whole town that's overpriced, not sure..), because it's kind of drab. Maybe if you like vintage style without style you might like it (well, the decorations are not to fine taste, it just seems old. I felt it was more like early 90s suburban, rather than fancy 20s).
Everything was quite average, nothing exceptional. The only reason I stayed there was because of availability and price in that immediate area, and it will stay that way.
That said, there was nothing really wrong with the place either, the front desk person was ok, the room and the bathroom were average. I didn't find anything dirty or broken.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noora K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I booked this hotel when I was attending a conference. The conference hotels ran about twice the cost as this one and this hotel is very close to the conference center and within walking distance to the sights. As others have said, this is a very charming, quaint, vintage hotel. Rooms are small but that didn't bother me. The worn carpet and no elevator also did not bother me. The staff are ultra friendly and I thought the complementary breakfast was great (bagels, muffins, juice, coffee, cereal, yogurt - really a nice spread for being complimentary) Also, the free wi-fi was nice as a friend told me that the Portola charges for wi-fi. HOWEVER....the noise is just a joke. The first night there was some hippie-ish peace, love and freedom group with a flute, drum and 3 chanters that were doing a group chant outside on the street for over an hour. Okay, I thought, it's still the weekend and they ended at a reasonable hour, that's probably as bad as it'll get. Not so fast. At 4:18 the next morning a truck was unloading something and left it's radio blaring. It woke me out of a such a sound sleep that at first I thought it was the radio alarm, when hitting snooze didn't work, I thought it must be my cellphone, then realized it was coming from the street! Okay, I thought, noisy radios could happen on occasion, just my bad luck it had to happen on a day I was staying at this hotel. I chuckled about it the next day and even joked to other conference attendees about my little "noise saga." I mistakenly thought the worst was over. It was not. Tonight, a Monday evening, a punk rock band is doing a gig at the Golden State Theatre. NO JOKE, you can read about it in the Monterey Weekly at: http://www.montereycountyweekly.com/news/2012/oct/18/punk-healing/ . The Golden State Theater is almost right across the street from The Monterey Hotel. Their website is http://www.goldenstatetheatre.com/ My suggestion is to check out what events they have scheduled at the Golden State Theater before you book at this hotel because whether or not you are actually going to the concert, you will definitely be hearing the concert! I have one more night that still remains to be heard. What others have said about hearing people in the hotel and in the surrounding rooms, I have not found to be troublesome. It is just the incessant street party that seems to be going on outside that is why I will most likely NOT come here again. I am a light sleeper so maybe others who aren't would not have a problem. But, the hotel provided ear plugs (or any) don't really work to dampen the noise enough to be able to either get to sleep or stay asleep. It really is ashame because everything else about the hotel is great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustLetMeSleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Great Place right in the heart of Old Town Monterey. Walking distance to great bars and restaurants. Very noisy from the street coming from the bars letting out. I would definitely recommend the Monterey Hotel and hope to be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Edward G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.1 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#13 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#19 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
0.4 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Hotel

Property: Monterey Hotel
Address: 406 Alvarado St, Monterey, CA 93940-2711
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Monterey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing