We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras
Ranked #42 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay!”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed here to attend an event at the fairgrounds. The hosts are VERY nice and friendly and the breakfast is really good! They have literally perfected the hard boiled egg, delicious!

We were able to walk to and from the fairgrounds without any problem. We did take a cab one night from the fairgrounds, it was approximately 13.00 plus tip. The wharf area is charming although a little pricey. We also walked there.

Worth the price compared to the other hotels for sure! We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Mary,

Thank you for sharing a very good experience on our social review site. We are truly impressed with your gusto to enjoy Monterey on foot: walk to the fairgounds, downtown and wharf. We agree that the Monterey experience on foot is a great experience. Thank you for sharing details with the travelling community and visit us again soon!

Regards,

John
831 373 2761
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    98
    53
    35
    25
See reviews for
65
123
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of days, location convenient, on edge of town but still able to walk to town. Pleasant room, does not have a/c, not a problem for us but maybe in the summer, fridge and microwave were very useful. TV was excellent , 40 inch Sony. Pool and hot tub just outside our room. Breakfast room can get a little crowded but range on offer was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rufus53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Rufus,

It is a pleasure to have you stay with us on your road trip of the state of California. We are happy you enjoyed Monterey and our facility. Thank you for sharing in detail your experience and we look forward to your return!

John
831 373 2761
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Stayed in March with my young daughter. The location was ideal. There is a large shopping area right across the street. We checked in and saw a movie. The room was a great size very clean. We got a good nights sleep.I have stayed here in the past and it just keeps getting better. The new manager is very nice. I really cant wait to stay here again. My daughter cant wait to go in that wonderful pool.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funtimetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Funtimetravels,

It is our goal to impress you. We are all smiles to know you and your younger daughter were able to enjoy beautiful Monterey. It is really a nice compliment and we thank you for your thoughtful comments on our social media site and with the travelling community. We look forward to your next visit to Monterey.

Regards,

John
Presidents Inn Monterey on Munras Avenue
831-373-2761
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

They advertised air conditioning in the room. Not only was there no air conditioning but the heat was on and the balcony door was open. It had been particurlarly warm that week so you needed air. We ended up at the Marriot which had air conditioning.

Room Tip: We refused to stay.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vegasbaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Vegasbaba,

We are truly disappointed that you were mislead to believe we had in room air conditioning. It was not our intention to produce false advertising that placed you in an uncomfortable position. We can understand your frustration and the decision you had to make at check in. We are happy you found a great place to stay and we recommend our downtown hotels for luxury you require anytime of the year. Please return to Monterey again soon.

Regards,

John
Presidents Inn Monterey on 1150 Munras Avenue - Across from Don Dahvee Park
831 373 2761
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
2 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Staff was very friendly, helpful and accommodating. We arrived at 9 AM for check-in after a long drive and they let us check-in instead of 3.00 PM. Old property but kept in a good shape. Had a swimming pool and hot tub with lounge chairs. Very relaxing. The room was nice, big and very clean, have a beautiful balcony had two chairs,coffeemaker in room was pretty handy, no Air Condition but they put fan.King size bed was very comfy. Breakfast was good with boiled eggs, waffles, milk and cereal no fruits!! Location close to mall, very convenient.I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Smith Family,

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We truly are happy that you made the best of your trip and enjoyed the balcony and prepared seating arrangements. I can understand your desire for fresh fruits. It is very nice that you recognized our property as a well kept hospitable hotel even though it is older. Thanks again for enjoying beautiful Monterey and we will see you again soon!

Regards,

John Smith
831 373 2761
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We were travelling from San Francisco and stopped for an affordable stop over. We needed a laundry to wash some cloths. We checked booking.com and walked in and asked for the same rate. It worked well. But they renovated their rooms, painting the bathroom with a very strong paint. They put us in an okay room, the painter were far away. When we came back from dinner we noticed they were next door and our room was very very smelly. We couldn't stay in our room, so we asked for another room far away from the painters. It was done and we were put in a two bed room, which we asked for on arrival. When the hotel is empty and they renovate it, they should look after the guest who come in and want to stay. It was an okay stay but def. wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshinetom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Tom,

We are truly sorry that our activities disturbed your guest experience. It was not our intention to make your stay unpleasant. We will try alternate plans to avoid this situation from occurring again. Thank you for sharing your concern with us and the traveling community.

John Smith
8313732761
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#53 of 55 in Monterey
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#38 of 55 in Monterey
126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
#46 of 55 in Monterey
292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Monterey Downtown
Motel 6 Monterey Downtown
#40 of 55 in Monterey
53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stargazer Inn and Suites
Stargazer Inn and Suites
#52 of 55 in Monterey
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Property: Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras
Address: 1150 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-4514 (Formerly Cypress Gardens Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
America's Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras Avenue is a historic location and played an integral role as a Tree Nursery in early Monterey Community. The current hotel has gone through several renovations since 1965 and is in alignment with industry standards for accommodations that fit the needs of the Mid Scale Consumer. We strive to provide guests with value beyond the room. These features include: Complimentary WIFI over the 1.5 acre grounds, A Very Large Pool with a relaxing Lounge Deck and Hot Tub (approximately 40' x 75') (Closed Winter), A private self serve breakfast suite for guests serving a continental menu (approximately 15' x 20'), A modern business center featuring a large computer screen and printer with internet access, An onsite walkable garden terrace featuring a cast of trees (approximately 40' x 40') , A private Conference Center that can seat 30+ classroom style (approximately 30' x 30'), A fitness center suite in renovation, and a charming guest reception to welcome all of our new and returning guest families and friends. Our approximate guest room dimensions for King Bed Rooms are 12' x 21' (living space) + 5' x 12' (Personal Courtyard or Private Balcony) = ~312 square feet of rental space in Monterey on Munras Avenue. Our Double Queen Bed Rooms 16' x 21' (living space) + 5' x 16' (Personal Courtyard or Private Balcony) = ~416 square feet of rental space in Monterey on Munras Avenue. Furthermore each room has an approximate 8' x 7' glass patio door to experience Monterey's Beauty from Bed or a quick step outside without leaving the comfort's of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Presidents Inn On Munras Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing