We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras
Ranked #44 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This was the least expensive motel I could find in the area, and it turned out to be on a par with places going for a lot more. The discount for signing up was a great perk, plus a discount at the aquarium ($5 per ticket). The staff was really friendly and helpful, and gave us an upgrade without being asked. The room was clean and comfortable, with a gas wall heater. The breakfast was super - good quality items and plentiful, quality condiments (like Mini-Moos instead of fake creamer, and real butter individually packaged, good fresh fruit, and plenty of milk). The computer in the lobby was a great perk as was the microwave in the room. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PresidentsInnMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Respected Guest it is our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide you with hospitality service. Thank you for your thoughtful and appreciative thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 181 of 294 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

Did cannery row during the day, and a bonfire in Carmel at night. As a working college student, I don't have much excess time or money. I had a wonderful stay and I will most definitely stay here multiple times a year. There is much to do in this little area and it was a blast!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjbradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PresidentsInnMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Respected Guest it is our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide you with hospitality service. Thank you for your thoughtful and appreciative thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here four nights at the new year. We come to Monterey area often and want a clean room and comfy bed with a good location. This place is centrally located-nothing on the peninsula is far. We like to spend our time and money outside of the room, so need nothing fancy, but we do want a good comfortable night’s sleep at a good price. This place was perfect! The room at this mid 1960’s motel was clean and in good repair. It came with a small fridge, microwave, coffee maker and a hair dryer in the bathroom. The WiFi here really worked well. We were able to stream movies on an iPad. Every morning they had a continental breakfast (cereals, muffins, toast, juice, coffee hard boiled eggs, coffee, etc.) The owner manager is new at this location. They were very friendly and seemed to genuinely want us to enjoy our stay and made us feel very welcomed. The place showed pride of ownership. I like to travel frequently and can afford to when I stay in places that are this reasonably priced. This place will be my first choice when staying in the Monterey area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PresidentsInnMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Respected Guest it is our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide you with hospitality service. Thank you for your thoughtful and appreciative thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The reason people don't know about this place is that it's not readily seen from Munras, and gets lost in the shuffle. This is on par with the Days Inn. A larger chain lost our reservation, and found us this room 'last minute'. The rooms are clean, comfortable, with properly working thermostats for the cold weather, and there's a nice garden view. There's also a pool. The staff is very gracious and goes above and beyond. Breakfast was good. The bathroom in the room is huge, which is nice. I would stay here again if I were in Monterey, as it's central to everything.

Room Tip: Downstairs room was nice, and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PresidentsInnMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear Respected Guest it is our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide you with hospitality service. Thank you for your thoughtful and appreciative thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My family and I stayed here for 1 night on our journey from Los Angeles to San Francisco. We stayed in 2 rooms which were very clean, comfortable and great value. The beds were comfortable and the rooms included breakfast (fruit, cereal, yoghurt and pastries). The new managers, Sean and his parents were extremely helpful and made our stay comfortable and trouble free. The Inn is well located, and whilst on a busy street, the noise was not noticeable. We had dinner at Chopstix which is a Vietnamese restaurant within walking distance. The food was great value ($5.50 for a bowl of Pho) and authentic. We had a great stay and we would happily stay again when we visit Monterey again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor if you have heavy bags to carry
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsBeachandSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PresidentsInnMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Dear Respected Guest it is our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide you with hospitality service. Thank you for your thoughtful and appreciative thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night. The service was excellent. When we checked out at around 11am which already passed the breakfast time at 10am, the staff asked us if we were hungry and she could reopen the breakfast for us with a warm smile. We were very pleased. As my iPhone was almost out of the battery and I was worrying as it served as my GPS, we asked her husband who also worked in the hotel if he had a charger. He immediately responded to our request with a charger for us. Both couple were so nice to us. We had some chocolate cake for breakfast. She asked us if we wanted to have more. Then we said just a quarter of it. Then she brought us with a full one. We felt her hospitality and asked if she was the owner. Then she said she was just a staff. We were quite surprised. In summary, friendly staff and great customer service. Great price-service value for this hotel.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Wilsontam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PresidentsInnMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Dear Respected Guest it is our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide you with hospitality service. Thank you for your thoughtful and appreciative thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My girlfriend and I were looking for an affordable, comfortable place to stay for the night and luckily we stumbled upon America's Best Value Inn. The service was great and the staff was extremely friendly. I was a few dollars short and the kind man at the front desk said it would be alright and let me stay the night anyway. If it wasn't for his hospitality I wouldn't have been able to afford another room elsewhere. The rooms were very clean as well as the pool. There is a no smoking policy on the premises, but walking 15 feet to the sidewalk to smoke a cigarette is by no means out of the way. You don't have to worry about the rooms smelling of smoke either so it's quite worth it. The location is prime as well. Jack-In-the-Box is a block away, the Del Monte Shopping center is in walking distance, and downtown Monterey with it's wonderful bars is only a few blocks away so driving after a night of drinking on the town won't be an issue. It's a short walk, but a cab ride back to the hotel will only cost you around $4 to $5 from downtown if you aren't feeling up to it. The view of Monterey Bay is great, the location is perfect, and the employees are friendly, helpful, and make you feel right at home. All in all, I had a great experience at America's Best Value Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PresidentsInnMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Dear Respected Guest it is our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide you with hospitality service. Thank you for your thoughtful and appreciative thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#39 of 56 in Monterey
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Monterey Downtown
Motel 6 Monterey Downtown
#43 of 56 in Monterey
58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#55 of 56 in Monterey
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
0.5 mi away
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
#49 of 56 in Monterey
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Padre Oaks
Padre Oaks
#50 of 56 in Monterey
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Address: 1150 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-4514 (Formerly Cypress Gardens Inn)
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $72 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
America's Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras Avenue is a historic location and played an integral role as a Tree Nursery in early Monterey Community. The current hotel has gone through several renovations since 1965 and is in alignment with industry standards for accommodations that fit the needs of the Mid Scale Consumer. We strive to provide guests with value beyond the room. These features include: Complimentary WIFI over the 1.5 acre grounds, A Very Large Pool with a relaxing Lounge Deck and Hot Tub (approximately 40' x 75') (Closed Winter), A private self serve breakfast suite for guests serving a continental menu (approximately 15' x 20'), A modern business center featuring a large computer screen and printer with internet access, An onsite walkable garden terrace featuring a cast of trees (approximately 40' x 40') , A private Conference Center that can seat 30+ classroom style (approximately 30' x 30'), A fitness center suite in renovation, and a charming guest reception to welcome all of our new and returning guest families and friends. Our approximate guest room dimensions for King Bed Rooms are 12' x 21' (living space) + 5' x 12' (Personal Courtyard or Private Balcony) = ~312 square feet of rental space in Monterey on Munras Avenue. Our Double Queen Bed Rooms 16' x 21' (living space) + 5' x 16' (Personal Courtyard or Private Balcony) = ~416 square feet of rental space in Monterey on Munras Avenue. Furthermore each room has an approximate 8' x 7' glass patio door to experience Monterey's Beauty from Bed or a quick step outside without leaving the comfort's of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Presidents Inn On Munras Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing