We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras
Ranked #41 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Monterey, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Good Location”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Located close to the Del Monte Center, downtown and the wharf. Clean Room. It was overall a very good stay. I just needed to get away a bit and it was perfect for that. I have stayed here a couple times now and every time It has been a pleasure. The service is definitely very good, nice staff, helpful people. Merry Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PresidentsInnMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Respected Guest it is our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide you with hospitality service. Thank you for your thoughtful and appreciative thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    98
    53
    34
    24
See reviews for
64
122
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salinas, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I walked in late night in the cold and got a great room with a courtyard view, quick breakfast in a spacious breakfast room and great wifi service. As I walked out to my truck I noticed a view of the ocean, very nice. I will be back and there is no doubt that this is a great value in Monterey.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PresidentsInnMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Respected Guest it is our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide with hospitality. Thank you for your thoughtful and appreciative thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore City, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
171 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

The receptionist was friendly and checked us in promptly. She welcome us and told us everything including the access to free wireless and parking. She said the hotel provide cameras so we needn't worry about parking..

The rooms were bigger than expected for the price. The amenities were there. The rooms smelled weird but once you let the fresh air in, it is fine.

The wireless connectivity is the best among all the motels we've stay for this trip. It is everywhere including the rooms and the fastest.

The location is great too. Very close to shopping and restaurants.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PapaRichWee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PresidentsInnMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Respected Guest it is our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide with hospitality. Thank you for your thoughtful and appreciative thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We found the rooms to be large and clean. Room amenities include a small refrigerator, microwave and coffee machine. The towels were superior for the qualify of the facility. The continental breakfast was minimal with cereal, muffins and juice/coffee. Don't expect to watch much television since the channel sellection is extremely limited excluding among others ABC and the Golf Channel in this world renoun golfing mecca. The maid service is non-english speaking so despite our best attempts at spanish, our room did not get cleaned one day resulting in having to move to another room.
If you are seeking only an affordable place to sleep, this motel is adequite but don't expect much more for your money.

Room Tip: We recommend a second floor room on the north end for a quieter stay. The rooms with two beds are m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonScottCostaMesa_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the kind words in regards to the facility. It sounds like the staff found a reasonable solution to your issue. We advise all our guests to share comments, complaints and photos initially with property management via telephone or email. Furthermore it is appropriate behavior to contact the hotel franchise and exhaust internal discussion venues to arrive at an appropriate solution, compliment or improvement. Overall we find your review bullying in nature and creating a hostile environment towards our future guests and staff. As such it will be noted.

The innkeeper reserves the right to maintain the safety and security of the establishment at any time. Disruptive behaviors and threats of online review bullying/blackmail will not be allowed. Detailed records of events may be submitted to credit and law enforcement agencies for fraud and criminal behavior review. If further actions needed you may be escorted from the property by Monterey Police Department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monterey hotels

San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed two nights here and came home with bed bugs. I had to get my entire home sprayed by pest control because I had already unpacked and didn't realize I had brought them home. I sent my expenses to management and asked for a reimbursement to cover the spraying, as well as a full refund on the room and they refused. Worst customer service experience ever and that hotel stay ended up costing $1500. Truly awful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sorry for your experience. Your claim was that you had bed bugs in your home a week after staying at our hotel and due to the fact that you read online that our hotel was on the national bed bug list it must have been our hotel. At the time you showed us no evidence of bed bugs upon inspection by a licensed exterminator but a spray bill for your entire home. You placed this review after the fact we had reasonably and satisfactorily settled in your favor. We not only fully refunded your stay but we awarded partial damages despite their being no strong evidence of any causal link. This is fraudulent behavior and will be noted as such with all details examined and received at the time of the event.

The innkeeper reserves the right to maintain the safety and security of the establishment at any time. Disruptive behaviors and threats of online review bullying/blackmail will not be allowed. Detailed records of events may be submitted to credit and law enforcement agencies for fraud and criminal behavior review. If further actions needed you may be escorted from the property by Monterey Police Department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Ok where do I start? First the place is not the best value on the strip; I stay in Monterey a couple of times due to relatives living there. I have stayed at better value places that were at least upgraded. This place looks as if the owners have never put a dime in it…or maybe only a dime. The carpet padding is gone since the carpet is soooo old. The wallpaper trim was from the early 80’s, I swear my grandma had it. The TV was old school big boxey set and both remotes did not work. Oh and they had a VHS machine next to the TV. For those of you to young to remember VHS it was the machine before DVD players and after the “beta-max” machines. I was surprised the place didn’t have the Beta-max.

So the bathroom didn’t have a curtain on the window and was only white smeared glass that you can still see through. The hinges on the door in the bathroom were so rusted I thought they might break. The slider door out to the patio was so rusted that I could hardly open it. The bed was OK but the comforter was scary and dirty. I did give them 2 stars due to it isn’t the worst place I have stayed at but it was close. It was a room, with a TV, a small fridge, and the view to the pool was good, but the owner really needs to upgrade and not be so cheap. It just looked as if someone was just plain skimping on upgrades. There are so many other places on that strip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plnrboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the kind words in regards to the facility. It sounds like the staff found a reasonable solution to your issue. We advise all our guests to share comments, complaints and photos initially with property management via telephone or email. Furthermore it is appropriate behavior to contact the hotel franchise and exhaust internal discussion venues to arrive at an appropriate solution, compliment or improvement. Overall we find your review bullying in nature and creating a hostile environment towards our future guests and staff. As such it will be noted.

The innkeeper reserves the right to maintain the safety and security of the establishment at any time. Disruptive behaviors and threats of online review bullying/blackmail will not be allowed. Detailed records of events may be submitted to credit and law enforcement agencies for fraud and criminal behavior review. If further actions needed you may be escorted from the property by Monterey Police Department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

So.... We where pretty much the only ones at this motel while the two next door where fully booked - that made us feel kind of weird. The people working there where friendly enough, it was cheap and the rooms have definitely seen better days (decades?) Go for it if you are short on cash

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonasInNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the kind words in regards to the facility. It sounds like the staff found a reasonable solution to your issue. We advise all our guests to share comments, complaints and photos initially with property management via telephone or email. Furthermore it is appropriate behavior to contact the hotel franchise and exhaust internal discussion venues to arrive at an appropriate solution, compliment or improvement. Overall we find your review bullying in nature and creating a hostile environment towards our future guests and staff. As such it will be noted.

The innkeeper reserves the right to maintain the safety and security of the establishment at any time. Disruptive behaviors and threats of online review bullying/blackmail will not be allowed. Detailed records of events may be submitted to credit and law enforcement agencies for fraud and criminal behavior review. If further actions needed you may be escorted from the property by Monterey Police Department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#53 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#39 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stargazer Inn and Suites
Stargazer Inn and Suites
#52 of 55 in Monterey
3.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Property: Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras
Address: 1150 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-4514 (Formerly Cypress Gardens Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
America's Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras Avenue is a historic location and played an integral role as a Tree Nursery in early Monterey Community. The current hotel has gone through several renovations since 1965 and is in alignment with industry standards for accommodations that fit the needs of the Mid Scale Consumer. We strive to provide guests with value beyond the room. These features include: Complimentary WIFI over the 1.5 acre grounds, A Very Large Pool with a relaxing Lounge Deck and Hot Tub (approximately 40' x 75') (Closed Winter), A private self serve breakfast suite for guests serving a continental menu (approximately 15' x 20'), A modern business center featuring a large computer screen and printer with internet access, An onsite walkable garden terrace featuring a cast of trees (approximately 40' x 40') , A private Conference Center that can seat 30+ classroom style (approximately 30' x 30'), A fitness center suite in renovation, and a charming guest reception to welcome all of our new and returning guest families and friends. Our approximate guest room dimensions for King Bed Rooms are 12' x 21' (living space) + 5' x 12' (Personal Courtyard or Private Balcony) = ~312 square feet of rental space in Monterey on Munras Avenue. Our Double Queen Bed Rooms 16' x 21' (living space) + 5' x 16' (Personal Courtyard or Private Balcony) = ~416 square feet of rental space in Monterey on Munras Avenue. Furthermore each room has an approximate 8' x 7' glass patio door to experience Monterey's Beauty from Bed or a quick step outside without leaving the comfort's of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Presidents Inn On Munras Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing