We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Get What You Pay For”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras
Ranked #44 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We found the rooms to be large and clean. Room amenities include a small refrigerator, microwave and coffee machine. The towels were superior for the qualify of the facility. The continental breakfast was minimal with cereal, muffins and juice/coffee. Don't expect to watch much television since the channel sellection is extremely limited excluding among others ABC and the Golf Channel in this world renoun golfing mecca. The maid service is non-english speaking so despite our best attempts at spanish, our room did not get cleaned one day resulting in having to move to another room.
If you are seeking only an affordable place to sleep, this motel is adequite but don't expect much more for your money.

Room Tip: We recommend a second floor room on the north end for a quieter stay. The rooms with two beds are m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonScottCostaMesa_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate the kind words in regards to the facility. It sounds like the staff found a reasonable solution to your issue. We advise all our guests to share comments, complaints and photos initially with property management via telephone or email. Furthermore it is appropriate behavior to contact the hotel franchise and exhaust internal discussion venues to arrive at an appropriate solution, compliment or improvement. Overall we find your review bullying in nature and creating a hostile environment towards our future guests and staff. As such it will be noted.

The innkeeper reserves the right to maintain the safety and security of the establishment at any time. Disruptive behaviors and threats of online review bullying/blackmail will not be allowed. Detailed records of events may be submitted to credit and law enforcement agencies for fraud and criminal behavior review. If further actions needed you may be escorted from the property by Monterey Police Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 191 of 294 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed two nights here and came home with bed bugs. I had to get my entire home sprayed by pest control because I had already unpacked and didn't realize I had brought them home. I sent my expenses to management and asked for a reimbursement to cover the spraying, as well as a full refund on the room and they refused. Worst customer service experience ever and that hotel stay ended up costing $1500. Truly awful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shawna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are sorry for your experience. Your claim was that you had bed bugs in your home a week after staying at our hotel and due to the fact that you read online that our hotel was on the national bed bug list it must have been our hotel. At the time you showed us no evidence of bed bugs upon inspection by a licensed exterminator but a spray bill for your entire home. You placed this review after the fact we had reasonably and satisfactorily settled in your favor. We not only fully refunded your stay but we awarded partial damages despite their being no strong evidence of any causal link. This is fraudulent behavior and will be noted as such with all details examined and received at the time of the event.

The innkeeper reserves the right to maintain the safety and security of the establishment at any time. Disruptive behaviors and threats of online review bullying/blackmail will not be allowed. Detailed records of events may be submitted to credit and law enforcement agencies for fraud and criminal behavior review. If further actions needed you may be escorted from the property by Monterey Police Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Ok where do I start? First the place is not the best value on the strip; I stay in Monterey a couple of times due to relatives living there. I have stayed at better value places that were at least upgraded. This place looks as if the owners have never put a dime in it…or maybe only a dime. The carpet padding is gone since the carpet is soooo old. The wallpaper trim was from the early 80’s, I swear my grandma had it. The TV was old school big boxey set and both remotes did not work. Oh and they had a VHS machine next to the TV. For those of you to young to remember VHS it was the machine before DVD players and after the “beta-max” machines. I was surprised the place didn’t have the Beta-max.

So the bathroom didn’t have a curtain on the window and was only white smeared glass that you can still see through. The hinges on the door in the bathroom were so rusted I thought they might break. The slider door out to the patio was so rusted that I could hardly open it. The bed was OK but the comforter was scary and dirty. I did give them 2 stars due to it isn’t the worst place I have stayed at but it was close. It was a room, with a TV, a small fridge, and the view to the pool was good, but the owner really needs to upgrade and not be so cheap. It just looked as if someone was just plain skimping on upgrades. There are so many other places on that strip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plnrboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate the kind words in regards to the facility. It sounds like the staff found a reasonable solution to your issue. We advise all our guests to share comments, complaints and photos initially with property management via telephone or email. Furthermore it is appropriate behavior to contact the hotel franchise and exhaust internal discussion venues to arrive at an appropriate solution, compliment or improvement. Overall we find your review bullying in nature and creating a hostile environment towards our future guests and staff. As such it will be noted.

The innkeeper reserves the right to maintain the safety and security of the establishment at any time. Disruptive behaviors and threats of online review bullying/blackmail will not be allowed. Detailed records of events may be submitted to credit and law enforcement agencies for fraud and criminal behavior review. If further actions needed you may be escorted from the property by Monterey Police Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

So.... We where pretty much the only ones at this motel while the two next door where fully booked - that made us feel kind of weird. The people working there where friendly enough, it was cheap and the rooms have definitely seen better days (decades?) Go for it if you are short on cash

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonasInNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate the kind words in regards to the facility. It sounds like the staff found a reasonable solution to your issue. We advise all our guests to share comments, complaints and photos initially with property management via telephone or email. Furthermore it is appropriate behavior to contact the hotel franchise and exhaust internal discussion venues to arrive at an appropriate solution, compliment or improvement. Overall we find your review bullying in nature and creating a hostile environment towards our future guests and staff. As such it will be noted.

The innkeeper reserves the right to maintain the safety and security of the establishment at any time. Disruptive behaviors and threats of online review bullying/blackmail will not be allowed. Detailed records of events may be submitted to credit and law enforcement agencies for fraud and criminal behavior review. If further actions needed you may be escorted from the property by Monterey Police Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We we're during a road trip and it was the last day we could hold on without laundry.
We search all over the road for a motel with a laundry room!
No one had one except for this motel.
BTW - there is a laundry shop around the area but it is close at 9:00PM.
The room was looked clean (if u want to avoid their sheets - bring your own sheets)
Better be safe than sorry!
They had a very good breakfast!

Room Tip: Upper floor only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelOGlazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PresidentsInnMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear Respected Guest it is our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide with hospitality. Thank you for your thoughtful and appreciative thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My teenaged daughter and I spent 4 nights here in July. A friend from out of state also met me here. We booked directly through the America's Best Value Inn website and saved $20 per night by joining their club.

We arrived a bit early for check in but Nick accommodated us nonetheless. He was very pleasant on check in as well as check out. I requested a room on the second floor and he obliged. There is no elevator so we shlepped our bags up a flight of stairs but it was ok.

The room was small and dated with 1980s or older colors, wallpaper, a hanging light fixture and either pink or blue ceramic tile in the tub. It appears the bathroom vanity had been updated with granite countertops and new plumbing fixtures at some point recently. We had a King room and the bed was comfortable, the blackout draperies were appreciated, the balcony was nice and had two chairs although it did face Munras Avenue directly. The road noise was never a problem for us. There was a mini refrigerator and microwave. There was no safe but a wardrobe type piece to hang things in. That was the closet. There was an iron but no ironing board. Not sure if there was ever anyone underneath us but we did hear our neighbors on occasion as well as their toilet flush and shower run. Hot water was plentiful as long as the neighbor wasn't showering simultaneously and the pressure was good.

The room seemed clean enough and housekeeping was consistent with their services. I was really grossed out by the chair seats that went with the table as they were quite dirty and it looked like someone did more than use the seat bottoms as an ironing board. The faux painted wall behind the table was also dirty and for our entire visit, an unknown something or other was stuck to the wall behind the toilet. Not sure if it was an insect or what but it was there the entire time we were which leads me to believe that housekeeping doesn't thoroughly clean that area.

There was an incident late one night (1:00 am) as we were arriving back from a day's activities. A male guest was literally pounding on the door of the room underneath his, yelling his complaints and threatening about the noise they were making. It was quite a frightening confrontation and I do believe the police were called as well as the hotel management. We tiptoed to our room via the opposite staircase to avoid it all.

There is a breakfast buffet but I never tried it. Other people in my party did and said it was fine. The hotel is close enough to walk places which was nice, and there are plenty of restaurants close by. Parking is free and ample. Freeway access is easy and there are two access points very close. There is a pool that was well used by others during our visit but I found the weather to be rather chilly to swim. There is a computer in the lobby where you can check email and probably print out boarding passes if necessary. My smart phone worked fine in the room as far as the cell signal.

All in all it was sufficient for our needs and there wasn't really anything horrible enough to ruin our stay. There is a ton of competition along this stretch of Munras with tons and tons of motels. Management should consider tweaking a few details like getting rid of the faux painting and wallpaper. A fresh coat of nice, neutral paint and any other improvements would go a long way. The Monterey area is so very expensive and for the time we spent there, I appreciated the low rate and comfortable enough bed. We were rarely in our room anyway. I would probably return....at least I know what I'm in for.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank azhaelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Have to admit tho, that just finding a place on a sunny Saturday was challenging. The room is certainly reflective of the ethnicity of the operators..so..it's not quite what one might have expected. TV picture is just poor quality and some light plugs no longer function..and some do. Extension cords run amok and some really odd lighting arrangements.

Having said that.....owners were very friendly at check-in and the room/bathroom and shower/bedding are all clean.

Room Tip: All rooms front the main road ..sooooo.....can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#39 of 56 in Monterey
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Monterey Downtown
Motel 6 Monterey Downtown
#43 of 56 in Monterey
58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#55 of 56 in Monterey
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
0.5 mi away
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
#49 of 56 in Monterey
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Padre Oaks
Padre Oaks
#50 of 56 in Monterey
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Address: 1150 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-4514 (Formerly Cypress Gardens Inn)
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $72 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
America's Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras Avenue is a historic location and played an integral role as a Tree Nursery in early Monterey Community. The current hotel has gone through several renovations since 1965 and is in alignment with industry standards for accommodations that fit the needs of the Mid Scale Consumer. We strive to provide guests with value beyond the room. These features include: Complimentary WIFI over the 1.5 acre grounds, A Very Large Pool with a relaxing Lounge Deck and Hot Tub (approximately 40' x 75') (Closed Winter), A private self serve breakfast suite for guests serving a continental menu (approximately 15' x 20'), A modern business center featuring a large computer screen and printer with internet access, An onsite walkable garden terrace featuring a cast of trees (approximately 40' x 40') , A private Conference Center that can seat 30+ classroom style (approximately 30' x 30'), A fitness center suite in renovation, and a charming guest reception to welcome all of our new and returning guest families and friends. Our approximate guest room dimensions for King Bed Rooms are 12' x 21' (living space) + 5' x 12' (Personal Courtyard or Private Balcony) = ~312 square feet of rental space in Monterey on Munras Avenue. Our Double Queen Bed Rooms 16' x 21' (living space) + 5' x 16' (Personal Courtyard or Private Balcony) = ~416 square feet of rental space in Monterey on Munras Avenue. Furthermore each room has an approximate 8' x 7' glass patio door to experience Monterey's Beauty from Bed or a quick step outside without leaving the comfort's of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Presidents Inn On Munras Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing